Skip to Main Content

Crime Scene Technology

This guide will help students in EFSC/Melbourne campus' Crime Scene Technology program and related fields of Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement.

Crime Scene Evidence

Fingerprints are key evidence at a crime scene

Search terminology

The following terms are suggested for searching in the catalog as well as the databases:
blood bloodstains
crime scene searches criminal investigations
DNA evidence
forensic sciences    forensics
human remains          law enforcement
murders & murder attempts science

 

eBooks through Library Search

  • Go to the EFSC Library Homepage http://www.easternflorida.edu/library
  • Click on the Advanced Search link
  • Type in your search terms
  • If you want to limit to books that you can view online, change the Material Type to eBook.

 

  • To access eBooks online, Borrower ID is your B number. PIN is your birthdate in mmddyy format.   

eBooks through Databases

When you find eBooks with a Library Search you are searching the indexing of eBook titles, selected keywords, and tables of contents.  If you want to search cover to cover through every word on every page in every eBook, you need to log into a specific eBook collection through the library databases.

The most popular eBook collections are:

  • Virtual Reference Library (Gale) - includes more than 350 titles and is useful for locating reliable background information to begin a research project. The GVRL also includes the literary criticism sets Poetry for Students and Short Stories for Students.
  • eBooks (Netlibrary) - EFSC's largest eBook collection with 40,000+ titles in all subjects areas.
  • Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO) - a research collection of approximately 4500 books and reference works from all disciplines.

Other EFSC collections include: 

  • Literature Criticism Online (Gale) - digital versions of Gale literature criticism reference sets including: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, & Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium - over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press
  • Safari Tech Books - 4,000+ eBooks on computers, technology and business from publishers such as Microsoft, O’Reilly, and Sams. 

Other free eBook collections available via the Internet: Bartleby Great Books Online, Literature Project, National Academies Press, Online Books, Project Gutenberg