Books | eBooks | eVideos - Student Life Skills (SLS) Research Guide - LibGuides at Eastern Florida State College

Beginning your search on the library webpage for materials to use

When you are ready to start your research, go to the EFSC Library homepage to do so:

Once you're on the homepage, there are many resources to help you.

You can look for a Book by first clicking on the "Click to Search the Library" button:

and then clicking on the "Advanced Search" link to the right of the main search box:

Now you can enter search term(s) on the search lines and choose "Books" from the "Material Types" dropdown on the right side.

Once you have a list of results, you can limit for Print Books ("Available on Shelf") or for eBooks ("Available Online") by choosing one of those limiters on the left side:

You can choose to search for just Articles, too.

From the Library Catalog "Advanced Search" page, you can limit to Articles in two places:

You also can choose to search for articles from our Databases.

You can get to those Databases by using the link from the middle of the Library Homepage OR from the top of the Library Catalog main page:

Search the EFSC Library Collections

Click the image to open a search. Be sure to Sign in to get complete results and to request items.

Sign in to myEFSC using your Titan Username and Password

EFSC eBooks

This research guide is intended to help you understand the various e-book platforms available at Eastern Florida State College Library to have 24/7 access to over 90,000 titles in the collection.

There are 16 databases for eBooks. Click on next to each database name to learn about the features of each.

Popular eBook collections include:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - EFSC's largest multidisciplinary collection of titles from all disciplines
eBook Central (ProQuest) is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It includes business, education, health & medicine, history, literature & language, science & technology, and the social sciences.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale) - provides full-text access to multidisciplinary reference eBooks.
OverDrive is an ebook and audiobook platform providing access to popular fiction and non-fiction using a web browser or mobile device with the Libby app. Check out the OverDrive info page to help get you started.

Streaming-Video Databases

If you are looking for full-length videos or video clips to enhance or explain a topic, the EFSC Libraries have some physical DVDs on various topics that you can check out.

In addition to DVDs, the EFSC Libraries offer access to several streaming-video collections available online 24/7. The full list of video-streaming databases can be found on our Databases A-Z List.

Academic Video Online: PBS Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos providing a range of documentary and series content from PBS. Includes videos focusing on science, history, art, Shakespeare, diversity topics, business, economics, and more.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary collection of videos covering the subject areas of health sciences, history, literature/language, music/performing arts, psychology/counseling, science/engineering, and social sciences.
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window Over 600 feature films, including classics, blockbusters, foreign films, animated films and more. Trouble streaming? Reset your browser. Google Chrome 1.Open Chrome. 2.In the top right, click the Chrome menu . 3.Click Settings. 4.At the bottom, click Show advanced settings. 5.Under the section "Reset settings,” click Reset settings. 6.In the box that appears, click Reset. Mozilla Firefox 1. Click the icon that looks like three stacked lines at the top right of the browser window. 2. Select the question-mark icon at the bottom of the drop-down menu. 3. Select 'Troubleshooting information' in the slide-out menu. 4. Select the 'Reset Firefox' button at the top right of the new Web page. Internet Explorer 1.Close all Internet Explorer windows. Select the Tools  button, and then select Internet options. 2.Select the Advanced tab, and then select Reset. 3.In the Reset Internet Explorer Settings dialog box, select Reset. 4.When Internet Explorer finishes applying default settings, select Close, and then select OK. Restart your PC to apply changes.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Provides access to streaming videos covering a wide range of subjects including: allied health, biology, business, communication, criminal justice, education , literature psychology , history, math, religion, cosmetology, automotive technology, and technology.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window Online collection of videos for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
Veterinary Education in Video This link opens in a new window Includes video-content relevant to veterinarians, vet techs, assistants, and other team members including demonstrations from many of the field’s most respected experts.