Skip to main content
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

CITING BOOKS

  • Note: Invert the author's first and last names in the Bibliography but not in the Notes.
  • Note: The pages used are only listed in the Notes.

Basic Book (14.101)

Note

#. First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication), page-page.

3. Doug Smith, The Art of Writing: Crafting Good Fiction (New York: Printing Press Publications, 2017),

318-336.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication.

Smith, Doug. The Art of Writing: Crafting Good Fiction. New York: Printing Press Publications, 2017.

 

Book with two authors

Note

14. Betty Bundy and Joe Franks, Camping: How to Survive Bear Attacks (Hollywood, CA: 

Warner Publications, 2010), 219-222.

Bibliography

Bundy, Betty, and Joe Franks. Camping: How to Survive Bear Attacks. Hollywood, CA: 

Warner Publications, 2010.

 

Book with three authors

Note

22. Ken H., Jones, Will Patterson, and Trisha Beverly. The Synthesis of Amino Acids in Large Rats

(San Juan, Costa Rica: C & R Press, 1990), 118-119.

Bibliography

Jones, Ken H., Will Patterson, and Trisha Beverly. The Synthesis of Amino Acids in Large Rats. San Juan,

Costa Rica: C & R Press, 1990.

 

e-Book consulted online (14.161)

Note

#. First name Last name, Title of Work (Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication), page-page,

URL. 

4. David Banner, Applying for Grants (London: Penguin Press, 2017), 245-248,

http://www.ebscobooks.com/388d.html. 

Bibliography

Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication. URL.

Banner, David. Applying for Grants. London: Penguin Press, 2017. http://www.ebscobooks.com/388d.html.

 

Book with unknown author

Note

#. Title (Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication), pages used.

8. The Superhero Powers Manual (New York, 1968), 398-399.

Bibliography

Title. Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication.

The Superhero Powers Manual. New York: Penquin, 1968.

 

Reference Books (dictionaries and encyclopedias) (14.232)

  • Note: Dictionary and encyclopedia entries are normally cited in the notes rather than bibliographies.

Note

#. Title of reference book, edition (year), s.v. “word used.”

10. Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, 11th ed.(2003), s.v. “success.”

11. Oxford English Dictionary, 10th ed. (online version), s.v. “happiness.”

 

Editor in place of author (14.103)

Note

#. First name Last name, ed. Title of Work (Location: Publisher, year), pages used.

11. Henry Simons, ed., Essays on Success (Kansas City: C&C Printing, 2017), 216-219.

Bibliography

Last name, First name, ed. Title of Work. City: Publisher, year. 

Simons, Henry, ed. Essays on Success. Kansas City: C&C Printing, 2017.

 

Edited work in addition to an author (14.104)

Note

#. First name Last name, Title of Work, ed. First name Last name (City: Publisher, year).

21. Linda Smith, Essays on Happiness, ed. Jack Simpson (Kansas City: C&C Printing, 2017).

Bibliography

Last name, First name. Title of Work. Edited by First name Last name. City: Publisher, year. 

Smith, Linda. Essays on Happiness. Edited by Jack Simpson. Kansas City: C&C Printing, 2017.

 

Chapter in an edited book (14.106-14.107)

Note

#. First name Last name, “Title of Chapter,” In Title of Book, ed. First name last name (City: Publisher,

year), page. 

12. Albert Stevens, “The Science of Percentages,” In Mathematics for Everyday Life, ed. Sue

Anderson (Chicago: Barnes & Son Press, 2017), 115.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. “Title of Chapter.” In Title of Book, edited by First name Last name, page-page. City:

Publisher, year. 

Stevens, Albert. “The Science of Percentages.” In Mathematics for Everyday Life, edited by Sue Anderson,

35-47. Chicago: Barnes & Son Press, 2017.