Skip to main content
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

BILT: Basic Information Literacy Tutorial

Faculty Introduction

BILT: Basic Information Literacy Tutorial
Introduction for Faculty

What is BILT?
BILT is the Basic Information Literacy Tutorial designed by EFSC Librarians to help students learn basic information literacy skills necessary to effectively find, retrieve and evaluate information. BILT is a set of 8 web based modules designed to be self-paced. These modules will help familiarize students with the research process and introduce them to some of the online resources available at EFSC. After completing BILT, students will have the skills necessary to find quality resources for their research papers or speeches.

BILT includes information on:

o    the EFSC Libraries and services offered
o    the process of choosing a topic
o    the different types of information resources
o    how to identify types of resources appropriate for your topic
o    the development of a research strategy
o    the types of online resources
o    the various ways to search online resources
o    how to select the appropriate online resource to search
o    how to find information using specific EFSC online resources
o    how to evaluate information found
o    how to cite information for a works cited page

What is Information Literacy?
Information literacy is the ability to identify an information need, and then locate, evaluate and effectively use the information found. In today's fast paced technology oriented society it is easy to become overwhelmed with all the information available. We receive information not just from the usual library resources, such as books and periodicals, but also from media and the Internet. We are bombarded with information graphically, aurally and textually. Many sources of information are not credible. It can be a challenge to filter credible sources from unreliable information. With information literacy skills students can become self-sufficient in our information society and will benefit not just academically but professionally and personally. Information literacy is the basis for life-long learning. 

Information literacy is not just a priority for the EFSC Libraries. National standards for information literacy have been identified by the Association of College and Research Libraries. Colleges and Universities across the United States have adopted these standards as part of their curriculum.

(see Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education at http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/standards/standards.pdf).

Information Literacy at EFSC
BILT is just one component of the EFSC Libraries Information Literacy Initiative. Information Literacy at EFSC is comprised of:

o    For Credit Courses:
LIS 1023 Information Technology Literacy, 2 credit
LIS 2004 Introduction to Internet Research, 1 credit, online

o   Library Instruction Classes:
Each campus library offers library instruction classes tailored to specific course needs. Although all instructors are welcome to schedule library instruction classes, the Libraries are especially focused on providing library instruction to our identified core courses: ENC1101 Communications I and SPC2608 Fundamentals of Speech Communication.

o    BILT – Online tutorial

What are the desired learning outcomes for BILT?
Each module of BILT has a set of outcomes. These outcomes are based on the Association of College and Research Libraries Objectives for Information Literacy Instruction: A Model Statement for Academic Librarians.
(see http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/standards/objectivesinformation.cfm)
 

Outcomes:
Module 1 EFSC Library Orientation
At the end of this module you will:
 ·         be familiar with your campus Library
 ·         be able to identify types of resources available from the Library’s homepage
 ·         have knowledge of basic library services
 ·         obtain a library card

Module 2 Topic Development 
At the end of this module you will be able to: 
 ·         articulate the purpose and scope of a research assignment
 ·         explore general information sources on research topics 
 ·         formulate and state a research question that is forcused
 ·         identify concepts and keywords that describe a topic

Module 3 Information Types
At the end of this module you will be able to: 
 ·         identify a variety of information sources
 ·         recognize that the types of resources will vary depending on the information need

Module 4 Search Strategies
At the end of this module you will be able to:
·         understand search logic, nesting, truncation, wildcards, and phrase searching
·         understand how to construct a search strategy using logical operators, nesting, truncation, wildcards, and phrase searching

Module 5 Database Searching
At the end of this module you will be able to:
·         define the terms: database, records, fields, citation, abstract, keywords, subject headings, descriptors, thesaurus
·         describe basic database structure
·         distinguish between types of databases
·         select the appropriate database for your research
·         understand the different methods of searching
·         explain what subject headings are and why they are used
·         understand the differences between keywords and subject headings searching

Module 6 Using EFSC Library's Resources
At the end of this module you will:
·         understand that there are both free resources available over the Internet and subscription based databases available to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff 
·         be familiar with the online library catalog, LINCCWeb 
·         become familiar with several frequently used periodical and reference subscription databases
·         understand there are several ways to search for information on the Internet

Module 7 Evaluating Resources
At the end of this module you will be able to:
·         critically examine information sources for their reliability and authority 
·         evaluate information in terms of relevancy and timeliness
·         determine the difference between fact, opinion and propaganda
·         recognize bias in information sources

Module 8 Citing Materials
At the end of this module you will:
·         be able to define plagiarism
·         know when you should document or cite your sources
·         understand the basic MLA citation format
·         be familiar with citing various types of online and print resource materials

 

Who should use BILT?
BILT is designed for students new to EFSC or for anyone unfamiliar with the research process in today's fast paced online environment. 

How to use BILT?

Instructors:

o    as a suggested reading for students to introduce concepts prior to a library instruction class.
o    as a suggested reading for students to reinforce concepts after a library instruction class.
o    as an assigned reading to prepare for an assignment.
o    to design an assignment that incorporates and reinforces information literacy skills

Contact your campus Library to collaborate with a Librarian to develop an effective information literacy assignment. See Guidelines for Developing Information Literacy Assignments and Example Information Literacy Assignments on Library Faculty Services web pages.

Librarians:

o  while providing one-on-one research assistance at the Reference Desk
o  as a teaching tool for library instruction classes.

The Libraries have identified these BILT Modules for the core courses:  

ENC1101
Module 1 EFSC Libraries Orientation
Module 3 Information Types
Module 4 Search Strategies
Module 6 EFSC Resources, specifically LINCCWeb (online catalog) and Academic Search Complete (journal articles)

SPC2608
Module 4 Search Strategies
Module 6 EFSC Resources, databases specific to the instructor's assignment and the Internet
Module 7 Evaluating Resources

Is help available?
You may get help with BILT by contacting your campus Reference Desk or by emailing Ask-A-Librarian

Provide feedback
The EFSC Libraries welcome your feedback and suggestions for improving BILT. Please let us know how helpful you found the tutorial and how we can make BILT more relevant to your needs. Email comments to: Library

Credits
The Brevard Information Literacy Tutorial (BILT) was created in 2002 by the Brevard Community College Libraries Instruction Committee.  BILT has been revised several times by members of the EFSC Library Faculty. Latest revision, Fall 2013.