Skip to main content
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

PubMed @ EFSC

What is PubMed? PubMed Central?

PubMed

PubMed is a free resource developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The PubMed database inlcudes over 26 million citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, citations to articles published by NIH funded researchers, and citations to books, including some book chapters. Content dates back to 1946 and is updated 6 days a week.

Most PubMed records are MEDLINE citations. MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database containing citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and in other countries.

Watch the video What is PubMed? (time 0:58)

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free archive of full text articles from biomedical and life sciences journals. It includes articles from publicly funded research, including NIH, AHRQ, CDC, FDA, NASA, and the VA. A requirement of publicly funded research is to provide full text articles for free to the public.

See the Fact Sheet: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

Ask-A-Librarian

-

 

 


Email an EFSC librarian and receive a response within 24 hours.

Chat live with an EFSC/Florida librarian:

  Sun-Thu   10 am - Midnight
  Fri-Sat     10 am - 5 pm

Text Message - 321-732-6378

  1 pm - 2 pm, Tuesday
  2 pm - 3 pm, Wednesday
 

Accessibility Statement

Eastern Florida State College does not own or manage the content linked from this research guide. These materials are for general reference and supplemental information only. Please contact Michelle Rezeau if you experience any barriers to accessing these materials.