Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Composition 1 - Cocoa - ENC 1101

Research guide for ENC 1101 - Composition 1. Access this guide directly at https://libguides.easternflorida.edu/CommICocoa

Database Search Techniques

Check out these recommended search strategy techniques to use when researching in the library's databases.

Find Articles in Databases

The Libraries provide access to thousands of full-text magazine, journal and newpaper articles, electronic books and digitally streamed video and music content.  Use the scholarly/peer reviewed limit feature in a database if needed. 

Databases A-Z         Databases by Subject

Suggested databases for ENC 1101

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) contains articles from more than 5,000 full-text periodicals, including over 4,000 peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study.

  • Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, literature, etc.

  • Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) covers current social issues presenting pro/con viewpoints. Includes full-text of peer-reviewed journals from multiple perspectives.

searching for articles

These databases are great for persuasive speeches as they provide both pro and con viewpoints:

You also can check out this online website, The Conversation, for its credible, authoritative articles on many of today's current events.