Skip to Main Content

!EFSC LibGuides Repository

Contains common information boxes for linking.

Topic Development

Listed below are selected resources for help in choosing a research topic:   

  • U/CL Pathfinders - research topics compiled by the Broward College/FAU Libraries

Library Databases for topic suggestions (must log in with Titan Username & Password)

Reference Materials give you a general overview of a subject. 

Books give a broad, thorough treatment of a subject.

Periodicals provide information that is focused, usually from a contemporary point of view.

Web Pages can include all information types. Since web publication is fast, use it for very current information. 

Media Resources provide visual and auditory details which can not be captured in written text. 

Once you have selected a topic and before you start searching for resources, it is helpful to perform these steps:

Topic: What is the relationship between teenage eating habits and health problems?  

Step 1: Break the topic into main concepts:
teenage
eating habits
health problems

Step 2: Brainstorm keywords for each concept:
Try thinking of synonyms and related terms. A thesaurus may be helpful. 

teenage

eating habits

health problems

teenager(s)
teen(s)
adolescent(s)
adolescence
youth

eating
eating habits
food
food habits
diet(s)
nutrition
nutritional habits

health
health problems
disease(s)
well being
sickness
disorders
obesity

Step 3: Combine your terms in a search  

For additional information on combining terms in a Boolean search, refer to the Search Strategies module in BILT.

 

Where do I look?

Reference Materials give you a general overview of a subject.

Helpful Tip:
For Reference eBooks try Virtual Reference Library (Gale eBooks).

Books give a broad, thorough treatment of a subject.

Helpful Tip:
To find books use the Library Search or eBook Collection (EBSCO).

Periodicals provide information that is focused, usually from a contemporary point of view.

Helpful Tips:

Web Pages can include all information types. Since web publication is fast, use it for very current information.

Helpful Tips:

Media Resources provide visual and auditory details which can not be captured in written text.

Helpful Tips:

How do I look?

Once you have selected a topic and before you start searching for resources, it is helpful to perform these steps:

Topic: What is the relationship of teenage eating habits to health problems?  

Step 1: Break the topic into main concepts:

teenage
eating habits
health problems


Step 2: Brainstorm keywords for each concept:

Try thinking of synonyms and related terms. A thesaurus may be helpful. 

teenage

eating habits

health problems
teenager(s)
teen(s)
adolescent(s)
adolescence
youth
eating
eating habits
food
food habits
diet(s)
nutrition
nutritional habits
health
health problems
disease(s)
well being
sickness
disorders
obesity


Step 3: Combine your terms in a search

Topic Ideas

 Listed below are selected resources for help in choosing a research topic: 

  • U/CL Pathfinders    
 http://libguides.broward.edu/pathfinders
  • Informative Speech Topic Suggestions
 http://libguides.easternflorida.edu/loader.php?type=d&id=1445455

Library Databases for topic suggestions:

To access the Library Databases log in with your B Number.

(example: B00999999) and PIN, birthdate MMDDYY 
(last two digits of birthdate for YY).
10,000 Ideas for Term Papers, Projects, Reports and Speeches Book - Request at the Library Reference Desk

    Topic Ideas

Topic Suggestions

Selected resources for choosing a research topic:    

Selected library databases to search for topic suggestions.  If not logged in through MyEFSC, you must log in to databases with your EFSC username & password (the one you use to log in to Canvas). 

Topic Ideas 2

 

Topic Suggestions

Selected resources for choosing a research topic:    

Selected library databases to search for topic suggestions.  If not logged in through MyEFSC, you must log in to databases with B Number & birthdate PIN (mmddyy) 

  Step 1 - Choose a topic

Developing a viable research topic requires thought

 

Save yourself time by using Module 2 in the Basic Information Literacy Tutorial (BILT).  It explains the basics of brainstorming a research topic and creating a research question.

 

In addition, Purdue's Online Writing Lab provides a good introduction on understanding your assignment and choosing a topic.

  Step 2 - What kinds (formats) of sources to use for my research?

Using the keywords and concepts identified in Step 1, choose the best kinds of resources to begin your research. Review Module 3 in BILT to learn more about information types.  

  • Do you need background information on your topic?  Do you need statistics or historical data?  Specialized encyclopedias and handbooks can help frame your subject.

Reference Materials give you a general overview of a subject.  
For eReference books try Virtual Reference Library (Gale).   

  • If you need a broad, thorough analysis of your subject, books may expand upon what you learned from the Reference Materials. 

Books give a broad, thorough treatment of a subject.
To find books use Library Search or eBook Collection (EBSCO).

  • Once you have the background and broad understanding of your subject, use articles from databases to get concise, factual information written by other experts.  You will use the keywords from Step 1 in the database search boxes.

Periodicals provide information that is focused, usually from a contemporary point of view.
1) For scholarly peer reviewed journal articles, search Academic Search Complete.
2) For current issues, try Opposing Viewpoints or Issues & Controversies.
3) For local issues, search Florida Today.

  • Google Scholar can provide access to a wide variety of information from government and educational agencies.  Use your keywords from Step 1.

Web Pages can include all information types. Since web publication is fast, use it for very current information. 
1) Use Advanced Search in Google to limit search results to .edu or .gov. 
2) Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly content on the web.  

 

Informative Speech Topic Ideas