Unlike the open Internet, the databases are paid content accessible via the EFSC Libraries. These are credible resources that you use for your research. Each database covers a specific subject or field of study, and articles come from various publications within a database.
(click on the image for the log-in page)
For general articles: try selecting the "Alphabetical" tab and then choose one of these: Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete, or Omnifile Full Text.
For newspapers: try selecting the "By Subject" tab and then choose "News and Current Events."
Did you know the New York Times Historical allows you to access news articles that go back to 1851? Yes! It can be found under "News and Current Events" or alphabetically by name.
Need an idea for a paper? Try Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center or CQ Researcher.
For reference resources: try selecting the "By Subject" tab and then choose "Reference, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias." There is also the Virtual Reference Shelf.
Occupational Outlook Handbook(career statistics and descriptions compiled by the U.S. government)
A Word to the Wise:
Most instructors agree: Database articles are preferable to internet content found on search engines such as Google, Bing, or Yahoo.
Your instructor may require you to use scholarly sources for an assignment as they are considered more authoritative than popular magazines. For this reason it's important to recognize the differences between the two types of publications.
View an article from each magazine below. Login with your Titan User Name and Password.
View an article from each journal below. Login with your Titan User Name and Password.
I'll get the newspaper. What's your password?
From: Interlibrary Loan Sharks and Seedy Roms: Cartoons from Libraryland
© 1998 Benita L. Epstein by permission of McFarland & Company, Inc., Box 611, Jefferson NC 28640. www.mcfarlandpub.com.