Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Composition 1 - Melbourne - ENC 1101

A guide for Composition I Students at Eastern Florida State College- Melbourne campus.

Melbourne Campus Writing Center

Melbourne Campus provides an excellent resource for assistance with writing a research paper: 

The Melbourne Campus Writing Center

The Center is located in building 2 room 125 and is free of charge for all EFSC and UCF students past and present! The Writing Center opens into the Library.  Check out their helpful LibGuide below:

MLA

The MLA Handbook is the rulebook for MLA format.  You may need to refer back to it as you write your Communications ENC 1101 research paper.  This book is available in Reference LB 2369 .G53 2016. 

Here's another good book on writing from Melbourne Campus Library.

MLA style and database citation help

WARNING!  Use EXTREME CAUTION when citation information is provided FOR you by the databases!  Citations are NEVER GUARANTEED to be 100% correct!   Many of the databases will display citation help.   In EBSCO databases, access the citation help using the "Cite" button on the toolbar.database article Nest Guarding in the Gopher Tortoise

Nest Guarding in the Gopher Tortoise article authors Andrew Grosse, Kurt Burlmann, Bess Harrin, Brett DeGregorio, Brett Moule, Robert Horan, and Tracey Turberville

click on citation then MLA to access the format you need

 

The MLA citation above pulled directly from the database's cite button lists the author's name in all caps.  This is not correct MLA format. This example citation also puts an ampersand "&" in the title of the journal.  The proper name of the journal uses the word "and."  The CORRECT citation is as follows:

Grosse, Andrew M., et al. "Nest Guarding in the Gopher Tortoise (Gopherus Polyphemus)." Chelonian 

          Conservation and Biology,  vol. 11, no. 1, June 2012, pp. 148-51. Academic Search Complete

           db02.linccweb.org/login url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx? direct=true&db=a9h&AN=84521884&site=ehost-

           live.