The EFSC Libraries purchase and license physical books, eBooks, DVDs, and streaming videos that complement the content taught in our various AA, AS, and BAS programs.
These resources can be located by searching in the Library Catalog and in our databases, using keywords like "career" and the specific program name / career in which you are interested.
Some examples of how to search:
and
and
and
Subject-Specific Databases
Many of our licensed databases are subject-specific -- meaning, they contain information related to the various classes taught here at EFSC.
Following are a list of some of these subject-specific databases.
Subject-Specific Databases - Here's a Few
Applied Science & Technology SourceThis link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text and indexed content that covers the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Associates Programs Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowDeveloped for two year / community colleges. Features full-text journal and book content for fields such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, travel & tourism, veterinary assisting, and other two-year focused programs.
Business Insights: EssentialsThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text of essential business content as well as detailed information on U.S. and international businesses, industries, and products.
Child Development and Adolescent StudiesThis link opens in a new windowProvides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Coverage includes child rights and welfare issues.
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text content for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.
Criminal JusticeThis link opens in a new windowCovers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.
Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowOffers information from major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for titles in the Eric (Education Resources Information Center) database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to sample business plans, journals, and multimedia content covering all major areas of starting and operating a business: financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowContains up-to-date information on a range of health-care topics for students, consumers, and researchers. Contains more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Health Sciences eBooks & eJournals (OVID)This link opens in a new windowThe database is an aggregate of over 50 of nursing and medical journals and more than 200 health sciences eBooks.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover all areas of the hospitality industry, including the cultural aspects of travel and leisure activities, the economic impact of tourism, and the full-text travel guides from Fodor's
Lexi-Comp Online for DentistryThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to time-sensitive, dentistry-specific pharmacology and clinical reference information, including drugs and natural therapeutics, oral diseases, implants, endodontics, clinical periodontics, oral surgery for the general dentist, treatment of medically compromised patients, in-office medical emergencies, and finances.
Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale) – formerly Testing & Education Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowIt helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school including preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). It also includes a variety of information on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes and preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests
PrepSTEP / Learning Express Test LibraryThis link opens in a new windowProvides an interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorials to help users succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. The content is organized in six different areas - Core Math & Science Skills, Core English Skills, College Success Skills, Career Prep, Basic Computer Skills, Grad School Admissions Prep, Placement Test Prep, and Recursos Para Hispanohablantes. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results are part of each test / tutorial.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the United States contains the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Teacher Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals covering a variety of topics of interest to teachers including: assessment, curriculum development, elementary and higher education, instructional media, language arts, and science & math.
Veterinary Education in VideoThis link opens in a new windowIncludes video-content relevant to veterinarians, vet techs, assistants, and other team members including demonstrations from many of the field’s most respected experts.
