Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Speech - Melbourne - SPC 2608

A guide for the Speech class students on Melbourne Campus.

The Wonderful World of Databases

Academic Search Complete features abstracts and full-text articles from journals, popular magazines, etc. This is a large and powerful database that includes sources from all disciplines.  

America's News, courtesy of NewsBank, provides access to electronic versions of 600+ major U.S. newspapers, searchable by geographic region and by keyword.  Historical coverage goes back to the 2000s.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides comprehensive and historical coverage of issues, from social controversies to medical, environmental, educational, and scientific "hot topics." Articles are thoroughly researched, documented, and usually very long. They often include photos, charts, and graphs to help illustrate a viewpoint.

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of research information and places an emphasis on pro and con discussions of hot issues. It contains editorials, photos, graphics, and selected historical source documents on current topics.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context explores modern social issues in depth, exploring both pros and cons of each topic and adding scholarly journal content, news articles, reference material, websites, and some multimedia items to provide students with a total understanding of a recent controversial issue.

J-STOR displays articles that are highly "academic" in nature, covering many disciplines. This database is best used by experienced researchers. See the video tutorial on using J-STOR.

THESE ARE JUST A SMALL SAMPLING OF THE HUNDREDS OF DATABASES AVAILABLE AT EFSC!!!

*Some of the content of this box was adapted from the "Suggested Databases" portion of the Pathfinders Libguides at Broward College.