Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Technical Writing - ENC 3241

A composition course focusing on writing for science, technology and healthcare.

Call Numbers - What are They?

The EFSC Libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System to arrange print books and DVDs on our bookshelves. 

This classification system arranges items by Subject Area (e.g., books about Nursing are grouped together on the shelves).

LC Call Numbers begin with a letter of the alphabet or a combination of two letters - for example, for the title "Essentials of Pediatric Nursing," the Call Number looks like this: RJ245 .K95 2017.

The Call Number is preceded by the campus-library location of the book.  In the above-example, this Nursing book's spine label shows the book's campus location and its Call Number:  Palm Bay Circulation RJ245 .K95 2017.

Student holding books

Items whose spine labels have prefixes (i.e., Ref, CLC, etc.) before the Campus Location and Call Number, are located in specific places in the libraries; ask a Librarian or the Circulation Staff where to find these.

Book Search

Find books and DVDs by first logging in to your MyEFSC account.

Then, click on the "Library Resources" icon on your MyEFSC webpage. 

Doing this brings you to the Library Catalog homepage, to start your search.

These two links (below) will bring you directly to either the Library Catalog's Advanced Search webpage  OR  to the Databases A-Z List:

Advanced Search       Databases A-Z     

eBooks through Databases

When you find eBooks with a Library Search you are searching the indexing of eBook titles, selected keywords, and tables of contents.  If you want to search cover to cover through every word on every page in every eBook, you need to log into a specific eBook collection through the library databases.

The most popular eBook collections are:

  • Virtual Reference Library (Gale) - includes hundreds of titles and is useful for locating reliable background information to begin a research project. The GVRL includes the literary criticism sets Poetry for Students and Short Stories for Students.
  • eBook Collection (EBSCO) - EFSC's largest eBook collection with 50,000+ titles in all subjects areas.

 Other EFSC collections include: 

  • Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO) - a research collection of approximately 7000 books and reference works from all disciplines.
  • Literature Criticism Online (Gale) - digital versions of Gale literature criticism reference sets including: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, & Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
     
  •    Ovid eBooks - a small collection of nursing and allied health eBooks.

Free eBook collections include: Bartleby Great Books OnlineNational Academies Press, Online Books, Project Gutenberg  

Not Finding What You Want? Here are some Additional Searching Tips

Helpful Tips if you get too-few or no results in a Search:  

  • Think of other words (synonyms or related-terms) for your topic
  • Type in just one or two words for keywords, not an entire phrase or sentence
  • Explore the Suggested New Searches option at the bottom of your results screen.

Renew Materials

Log in to MyAccount to renew materials online. Use your EFSC username and password to log in (as if you were logging in to Canvas).

Request Materials

The Request Materials link (on the left side of the Library Homepage) allows students to request materials held at other EFSC campuses and from other Florida colleges.

Interlibrary Loan

Have you found a good book or article but it is not available at EFSC or any other Florida public colleges or universities? ILLiad is an interlibrary loan (ILL) service provided to currently enrolled EFSC students, faculty and staff to obtain access to materials available from other libraries in and out of state.