Skip to main content
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Open Educational Resources

Resources

YouTube Background Music and Sound Effects

In your YouTube Channel:

> Go to "Creator Studio"

> Click on "Create"

> Choose "Audio Library"

> Select "Free Music" or "Sound Effects"

> Listen and download tracks

SoundCloud

> Listen to, create, and share sounds.  Download and use music tracks royalty free.

> Create a free account

> Search the type of music

> Filter search results with "Listen to" and "To use commercially"

> From results, click "More" to discover choices with a "download" option

> Double check the copyright permission by reviewing the "Creative Commons License" link

 

 

EFSC Library Database Videos [Login: Borrower ID = B-number PIN = MMDDYY (birthday)]

Academic Video Online: Premium
Videos cover health sciences, history, literature/language, music/performing arts, psychology/counseling, science/engineering, and social sciences

Ambrose Video
U.S. history, ancient history, world history, and  the BBC Shakespeare Collection 

American History in Video
Includes coverage of historical events, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries

Feature Films for Education
Over 600 feature films, including classics, blockbusters, foreign films, animated films, and more - best viewed using Mozilla Firefox or Microsoft Edge

Films on Demand
Subjects include allied health, biology, business, communication, criminal justice, education , literature psychology , history, math, religion, cosmetology, automotive technology, and technology.

Music and Performing Arts
Audio and video of classical music, including some jazz, world, and pop/rock music

Nursing Education in Video
Videos for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers

Veterinary Education in Video
Content relevant to veterinarians, vet techs, assistants, and other team members



Open Resources

Flickr

 

Video Lectures on OER Commons

 

Wikimedia Commons

 

Yale Open Courses

Interactive simulations in Biology from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Biology

EFSC eBook Collections [Login: Borrower ID = B-number PIN = MMDDYY (birthday)]

Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO) - eBooks from all disciplines. Use the eBook search tab to locate specific titles/subjects.

eBook Collection (EBSCO) - Largest and most popular collection. 50,000+ titles in all subjects areas. Some titles are licensed for unlimited users. 

Literature Criticism Online (Gale) - Sets include: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, & Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Unlimited users

Ovid eBooks - A small collection of nursing and allied health eBooks. Unlimited users

Safari Business & Tech Books Online (Proquest) - eBooks on computers, technology and business. Unlimited users 

Virtual Reference Library (Gale) - eBook reference titles provide background info on a variety of subjects. A great alternative to Wikipedia. Unlimited users

 

Open Resources 

Open Library Over 1,000,000 books

Project Gutenberg Free Access) Thousands of free e-books from the original e-book project

Southwestern Classics Online (Free Access) A few Texas and Southwestern classics

University of Virginia Hypertexts (Free Access) Books, maps, exhibits, and more

Wright American Fiction 1851-1875 A collection of more than 2,000 works of American fiction published between 1851 and 1875

Wikibooks (Free Access, Open Access, OER) Free textbook library

LibriVox Making books in the public domain available, for free, in audio format on the internet.

 

 

Academic Earth

 

Carnegie Mellon Online Learning Initiative

 

Coursera

 

MIT OpenCourseWare

 

Open Course Library

 

Open CourseWare Consortium

 

Saylor Academy

 

Yale Open Courses

AMSER Applied Math and Science Educational Repository

AMSER is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation as part of the National Science Digital Library.

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) 

The Mason (George Mason University) OER Metafinder performs a real time simultaneous search across eighteen different sources of open educational materials.  [American Memory Project (Library of Congress), AMSER – Applied Math and Science Education Repository, BC Campus:Open Ed, College Open Textbooks, Digital Public Library of America, Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB), HathiTrust – Full View Available, Merlot.Org, MIT OpenCourseware, New York Public Library Digital Collections, OAOpen.org, OASIS, OER Commons, OERs at Internet Archive, Open Textbook Library, OpenStax CNX, Project Gutenberg, World Digital Library]

MERLOT

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. 

MIT OpenCourseWare

(OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

 

 

 

OASIS 

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 73 different sources and contains 171,366 records.

OER Commons

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

Open Course Library

The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less).

Open Education Consortium

OEC works with its members to build capacity to find, reuse, create and share Open Educational Resources (OER)

OpenMichigan

Open Michigan enables the University of Michigan community to make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus.

Open Educational Resources

Florida Department of Library and Information Services Resources

OpenStax

OpenStax CNX is a dynamic non-profit digital ecosystem serving millions of users per month in the delivery of educational content to improve learning outcomes. There are tens of thousands of learning objects that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.

The Orange Grove

Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository

Open Educational Resources

Florida Department of Library and Information Services Resources

 

Loading ...