Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Curriculum Builder for EFSC Faculty

Learn the nuts and bolts of Curriculum Builder here.

Steps to add a CB Module to your Course

Adding a new module

(These tips are from a LibGuide by Nancy Cunningham at USF, who kindly allowed us to use them here.)

1. Add a new module in your Canvas course (+Module)

a. Select  + Module.
b. Name module (e.g. Course Readings)
c. Select Add Module

2. Scroll to this new module, and click on the “+” to the right of its title.
3. In the top dropdown, click on Add -- External Tool.  This choice prompts a list of external tools.  Scroll down until you see Curriculum Builder.  Select it and then click on Add item. [Note 2/24/2020: If using Google Chrome, check the box to launch the tool in a new tab.  The tool does not work if that option is not checked.) 
4. When it appears, click on the three vertical dots on the right, select Edit, and change the title to what you want it to say (e.g. First week’s readings). Do not change the URL.  Click Update.

a. You can later organize selected readings into folders or create a new set by “add item” as you did in Step 3.   
b. Click on the new item title.  
c. Be sure to publish the module when you are ready for students to view it. 


Selecting readings from library resources using Curriculum Builder

5. Click on your newly titled item; a search box will appear shortly.  In the “Search Library Resources” box, enter keywords, or author’s name, or a title of a resource.  The results will appear within a Canvas framework for your course.   

6. To refine the results, look to the left and limit results by Peer-Reviewed or Source Type (i.e., Academic Journals), etc.  
7. Click on Add to Reading List for each item you wish to add.  Please note: Add the items with full text links first; for items without full text links see “Tips” section below  

8. To view your selected readings, go to the upper left hand corner and click on See Current Reading List


Organizing your reading list

9. To sort the list of articles, click on one and drag it to the top or indicate the sort order at the upper left of the box for each reading.  Additional features: 

a. To add notes for students, click on Add Notes -  ex: "Students: Be sure to login using your B-number and your birthday for the PIN (MMDDYY)"
b. To add a website link or streaming-video permalink, click on Add Web Resource
c. To organize reading list into folders, click on Add Folder. Place readings in folder by selecting the folder by Move to Folder on the right side of the item in the box

10. To view in Student View:  Click on Settings and select Student View


Tips for selecting Items from Curriculum Builder

This new tool provides the most direct, full-text links to resources provided through the publisher EBSCO. However, you may find articles in journals to which the library has a subscription, but there is no full-text link to the resources in your results list.  This is because the library may not own the item or it may not be directly available through EBSCO. 

Please see below for tips and if you have questions, contact your EFSC librarian for help.   

No visible full-text icon for the item   

We may have full-text access through another database (which is not available through EBSCO):

  • Check to see if there is a DOI in the item record -- if so, you can paste that into a browser to possibly get access to the full text
  • If not, open a new tab and copy and paste the URL to Mango (library catalog):  http://union.discover.flvc.org/be.jsp?
  • Paste the title into the central search box
  • Locate the item in the results list
  • Click on the Full Text Finder link if there is one, or select from the list of full-text options
  • When you locate the full text of the article, copy and paste the DOI link in Add Notes (Step 9a) to the reading item (e.g., “Students: Make sure you are logged with your B-number and your birthday for the PIN (MMDDYY). Use this link to access the full text of this article…”).

You see the icon, “Check holdings in your library”

  • Click on that icon to see a record in your library catalog
  • If there is a link for online access, then click through to the online journal
  • Click the online full-text option
  • Locate the article in the issue and volume
  • Place a note for the item (Add Notes, Step 9a) to tell your students that they need to click through in order to land on the journal’s web site.   They can then find the article by locating it with the issue, year, and page number. 

Please contact your Campus Librarian for assistance