The EFSC Libraries offer access to several streaming-video collections available online, 24/7:
-
Academic Video Online: Premium - includes over 20,000 streaming video titles from all disciplines.
-
American History in Video - streaming video clips on American history. Transcripts are provided along the side of the videos for easy reference.
-
Feature Films for Education - streaming collection includes over 600 popular films, award winners, documentaries, and foreign films. Films best viewed in Mozilla Firefox or Microsoft Edge.
-
Films on Demand - over 20,000 streaming films on the humanities, social sciences, and consumer sciences.
Here is a great EFSC theatre / performances database:
-
Digital Theatre Plus -- streaming collection of over 400 classic and contemporary theatre productions, from the likes of the BBC, the Lincoln Center Theater, and Shakespeare's Globe. Also includes 280+ practitioner resources (interviews, etc.) and over 230 textual resources (essays, documentaries, and lectures).
Here are some EFSC streaming-music resources
The EFSC Libraries offer one database specifically containing music items:
Music Online: Listening
This is a streaming music and audio collection to support the teaching and research of music. The database contains 10 million tracks and is growing monthly. It features all key music genres (classical, jazz, world, American, popular, and historical recordings) as well as unique recordings that are rare or exclusive in nature (e.g., from EMI, Universal, Smithsonian, and traditional folk and archival recordings, too).
The following database also contains music items within it, along with other theatre- and drama-related items:
Theatre & Drama Premium
This is a streaming-video/music database providing everything needed to bring the spectacle of theatre and drama to students. It contains drama texts from diverse playwrights, high-definition performance videos, documentaries, interviews, audio plays, contextual reference material, and production-design archival content.
Here are some EFSC eBook collections available 24/7 too:
· Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO) - a research collection of approximately 7000 books and reference works from all disciplines.
· Literature Criticism Online (Gale) - digital versions of Gale literature criticism reference sets including: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, & Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Ovid eBooks & Nursing Journals - Nursing eBooks and journals interface from Wolters Kluwer.
· Virtual Reference Library (Gale) - includes hundreds of titles and is useful for locating reliable background information to begin a research project. The GVRL includes the literary criticism sets Poetry for Students and Short Stories for Students.
