Humanities Eastern Florida Online (EFO) Research Guide

Librarian Sarah Paige is working to re-record these videos using the Library's new website; please be patient!

Here are some videos to help you learn what the library has to offer to you and how to use the library's resources.

• The Library Homepage - Describes the services and resources available to you on the library's homepage.

• How to Log in to the Library - Describes the three ways to log in / authenticate into the library's resources.

• Accessing Research Guides - Describes the three ways to log in / authenticate into the library's resources.

• Databases vs. Search Engines - Describes the differences, and why you would use one over the other.

• Scholarly vs. Popular Sources - Describes the differences so you understand what your professor is asking for.

• What Does Peer-Reviewed Mean? - Defines this phrase and demonstrates how to search for this kind of article in one particular database.

• Citation Help - Defines what a citation is, what a citation list looks like, why it's important to cite your sources, and points students to the Citation LibGuides.

• Print Books - Demonstrates how to search for print books within the EFSC Library Catalog.

• eBooks - Demonstrates how to locate eBooks within the EFSC Library catalog.

• eJournals - Demonstrates how to locate eJournals on EFSC's website and how to search for specific titles.

• Database-searching - Demonstrates how to search in several databases to find articles.

• Boolean operators - Demonstrates how to use Boolean operators for efficient, effective searching.

• Evaluating Resources - Describes the process of Lateral Reading and what questions to ask of online resources that students may want to use for their papers, speeches, and projects. Reminds students they already do resource-evaluation every day.

• Short Stories & Literary Lens - Demonstrates a search (using two variables) for articles for Comp II research papers.

• Annotated Bibliography - Describes what an annotated bibliography is and how to create one.

• Brainstorming a Research Question - Demonstrates how to think about a broad topic and narrow it down to a research question (this demo is for HUM1020 and its Thematic Essay assignment).

• Searching for Creative-Expression Examples - Demonstrates how to use EFSC's databases to find 3-5 examples of creative expressions for a big subject (like "war"), to use in the writing of the HUM1020 Thematic Essay assignment.

• SPC2608 Library Instruction - (old interface) Demonstrates how to develop keywords and topics, how to search in two databases often used in SPC classes, and how to evaluate Internet resources.

• "Business Source - Complete" Database Demo - An EBSCO-created video about its Business Source Complete database and how to locate company information, SWOT analyses, and other business information from it.

• "Gale eBooks - Getting to Know Them / How to Use Them" - A Gale-created video designed to help users (both faculty and students) learn how to best use eBooks in classes and for research.  Approx. 15 min. long.

• "Searching Databases" Video from Yavapai College - Demonstrates database-searching techniques using paper note cards on a whiteboard.  (Video from YouTube; permission to use it for educational purposed given on that site.)

• "Book Review vs. Literary Criticism" from the University of Massachusetts Lowell - Discusses differences between what a book review is and how a literary-criticism paper differs from a book review.  (Video from YouTube.)

• "Plagiarism" from Carteret Community College - Defines plagiarism and how to avoid it.  (Video from YouTube.)

• "How to Avoid Plagiarism: In Five Easy Steps" from the Steelman Library, Southeastern University (FL) - Defines plagiarism and offers five clear steps to avoid it in your writing.  (Video from YouTube)

• "How to Edit an Academic Paper" from Nutshell Brainery, via YouTube - Ten steps to follow to effectively edit your final draft of an academic paper.

This PowerPoint was created with sound, to be used in any class where students need to learn to overcome anxiety about using their own ideas and words when writing papers and projects for EFSC classes. 

It mentions plagiarism as well, to teach students what that means and that one way to avoid it, is to use their own ideas and words when writing.

When you click on the link and the PowerPoint opens for you, make sure to click on "Slide Show" on the tool bar and then click on "From the Beginning" on the far left -- these steps will start playing the PowerPoint with its sound.

This PowerPoint walks students through the use of the PsycArticles database, in order to locate articles to use in scholarly research papers.

The PowerPoint has notes for each slide, to help explain what the slide is showing, and steps to follow along with.

The presenter also touches on searching within the library catalog and using a Research Guide to find how-to videos for various library tasks.