Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

College-wide Composition 1 Research Guide

Research guide for ENC 1101 - Composition 1

Database Search Techniques

Database Search Techniques

Limit search by selecting "Subject" ["drug abuse"]
Use "AND" to combine search terms ["drug abuse" AND teen*]
Use "OR" to find either search term [diet OR nutrition]
Use NOT to exclude a search term [diet not nutrition]
Use quotation marks to search a phrase ["drug abuse"]

Find Articles in Databases

The Libraries provide access to thousands of full-text magazine, journal and newpaper articles, electronic books and digitally streamed video and music content.  Use the scholarly/peer reviewed limit feature in a database if needed. 

Databases A-Z         Databases by Subject

Three good starting points for research: 

searching for articles

These databases are great for persuasive speeches as they provide both pro and con viewpoints:

Database Articles

Finding articles is easy in databases. Follow the steps below

 

 

The link will take you to a page with an A-Z listing of databases. 

 

Arrow pointing to the Academic Search Complete Database

 

Academic Search Complete is a very general databases that covers a wide-variety of topics.  

 

Arrows pointing to the search boxes in Academic Search Complete

 

This search has returned 28 articles. 

Arrow pointing to the title of the article

 

The full-text of the article will be on the left. Use the tool box to print, email, or save the database article. The cite button will get you started on a citation. 

Arrows showing the full text of the article and the tool box

Finding articles in Mango

Articles, eBooks, and other resources can be found within the library catalog, just like books.

 

Arrows pointing to the Everything tab in Mango

 

Your search results will look like this

 

Arrows showing how to view the eBook and article