Albemarle Street : portraits, personalities and presentations at The Royal Institution by John Meurig ThomasThe Royal Institution of Great Britain is renowned the world over, first, because it is a premier arena for the advancement of new scientific and technological knowledge; and second because it highlights the advance of knowledge of all kinds. It bridges the sciences and the humanities, and asmuch publicity is given to advances in the arts, archaeology, architecture, drama and literature as to the pure and applied sciences. More famous scientists have lived and worked in the Royal Institution than in any other laboratory in the world. A roll-call includes Rumford, Davy, Faraday, Tyndall,Dewar, Rayleigh, W. H. Bragg, W. L. Bragg and George Porter. Not is it only the home of continuous electricity, it is also the birthplace of many aspects of molecular biology and viruses and enzymology. Some fifteen scientists who have won the Nobel Prize have, at one time or another, worked orlectured at the RI. And eminent individuals, like Howard Carter and Coleridge, have lectured there.Albemarle Street - Portraits, Personalities and Presentations at The Royal institution is a lively and compelling personal selection of the remarkable personalities and achievements of some of the extraordinary scientists and individuals who, during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, worked orlectured at 21 Albemarle Street in Mayfair, central London. John Meurig Thomas offers a unique and valuable insight into the history of this prestigious address, having himself lived and worked at the Royal Institution for some twenty years.
Call Number: Q127.G4 T46 2021 eBook
Publication Date: 2021-12-05
Making Space for Women : stories from trailblazing women of NASA's Johnson Space Center by Jennifer M. Ross-Nazzal; Barbara MorganFrom the creation of the Manned Spacecraft Center to the launching of the International Space Station and beyond, Making Space for Women explores how careers for women at Johnson Space Center have changed over the past fifty years as the workforce became more diverse and fields once closed to women--the astronaut corps and flight control--began to open. Jennifer M. Ross-Nazzal has selected twenty-one interviews conducted for the NASA Oral History Projects, including those with astronauts, mathematicians, engineers, secretaries, scientists, trainers, managers, and more. The women featured not only discuss leadership, teamwork, and the experiences of being "the first," but reveal how the role of the working woman in a predominantly white, male, technical agency has evolved. The narratives highlight the societal and cultural changes these women witnessed and the lessons they learned as they pursued different career paths. Among those included are Joan E. Higginbotham, mission specialist aboard the Space Shuttle Discovery; Natalie V. Saiz, first female director of the Human Resource Office; Kathryn Sullivan, the first American woman to walk in space; Estella Hernández Gillette, the deputy director of the center's External Relations Office; and Carolyn Huntoon, the first woman director of the Johnson Space Center. Making Space for Women offers a unique view of the history of human spaceflight while also providing a broader understanding of changes in American culture, society, industry, and life for women in the space program. The women featured in this book demonstrate that there are no boundaries or limits to a career at NASA for those who choose to seize the opportunity.
Call Number: Q141 .M242 2022 PB
Publication Date: 2022-01-17
Mentoring scientists and engineers : the essential skills, principles and processes by Arthurs, John.; Graham, Ian M.; Hancock, G. (Gus); Brundle, TimMentoring is very much more than simple one-to-one informal instruction, or what used to be called coaching'. Modern mentoring techniques are modelled on those of executive coaching as well as expert academic tutoring. Mentoring is simple but not necessarily easy. An estimated 40% of all mentoring schemes fail through lack of mentor training and understanding. No great effort is required to study the literature but, for mentoring to be effective, adherence to basic principles and exercising specific skills is absolutely necessary. The book provides an introduction to what we mean by mentoring and its basic skills - skilful questioning, active listening, building trust, self-management and giving advice and feedback. It further covers mentoring principles, how to conduct mentoring sessions and a wide range of practical applications. The final chapter gives the outlines and principles for creating a basic mentoring scheme within an organisational context. This book is written for those practitioners in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, the STEM fields, who have been pitched into the role of mentor without any prior training. Its objective is to alleviate anxiety, frustration and stress caused by not knowing exactly what is expected. In offering an introduction to mentoring it gives practical guidance as a quick and easy read.
Call Number: Q181 .A78 2022 PB
Publication Date: 2022
How to Stay Smart in a Smart World : why human intelligence still beats algorithms by Gerd GigerenzerHow to stay in charge in a world populated by algorithms that beat us in chess, find us romantic partners, and tell us to "turn right in 500 yards." Doomsday prophets of technology predict that robots will take over the world, leaving humans behind in the dust. Tech industry boosters think replacing people with software might make the world a better place--while tech industry critics warn darkly about surveillance capitalism. Despite their differing views of the future, they all agree: machines will soon do everything better than humans. In How to Stay Smart in a Smart World, Gerd Gigerenzer shows why that's not true, and tells us how we can stay in charge in a world populated by algorithms. Machines powered by artificial intelligence are good at some things (playing chess), but not others (life-and-death decisions, or anything involving uncertainty). Gigerenzer explains why algorithms often fail at finding us romantic partners (love is not chess), why self-driving cars fall prey to the Russian Tank Fallacy, and how judges and police rely increasingly on nontransparent "black box" algorithms to predict whether a criminal defendant will reoffend or show up in court. He invokes Black Mirror, considers the privacy paradox (people want privacy, but give their data away), and explains that social media get us hooked by programming intermittent reinforcement in the form of the "like" button. We shouldn't trust smart technology unconditionally, Gigerenzer tells us, but we shouldn't fear it unthinkingly, either.
Call Number: Q334.7 .G54 2022 CO
Publication Date: 2022-08-02
Hacking Artificial Intelligence : a leader's guide from deepfakes to breaking deep learning by Davey GibianSheds light on the ability to hack AI and the technology industry's lack of effort to secure vulnerabilities. We are accelerating towards the automated future. But this new future brings new risks. It is no surprise that after years of development and recent breakthroughs, artificial intelligence is rapidly transforming businesses, consumer electronics, and the national security landscape. But like all digital technologies, AI can fail and be left vulnerable to hacking. The ability to hack AI and the technology industry's lack of effort to secure it is thought by experts to be the biggest unaddressed technology issue of our time. Hacking Artificial Intelligence sheds light on these hacking risks, explaining them to those who can make a difference. Today, very few people--including those in influential business and government positions--are aware of the new risks that accompany automated systems. While society hurdles ahead with AI, we are also rushing towards a security and safety nightmare. This book is the first-ever layman's guide to the new world of hacking AI and introduces the field to thousands of readers who should be aware of these risks. From a security perspective, AI is today where the internet was 30 years ago. It is wide open and can be exploited. Readers from leaders to AI enthusiasts and practitioners alike are shown how AI hacking is a real risk to organizations and are provided with a framework to assess such risks, before problems arise.
Call Number: Q335 .G53 2022 eBook
Publication Date: 2022-05-05
Mathematicians and Statisticians : a practical career guide by Kezia EndsleyWelcome to the mathematics and statistics field If you are interested in a career in mathematics or statistics, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Mathematicians and Statisticians: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Statisticians College Math Professors Actuaries Research Analysts Economists
Call Number: QA10.5 .E53 2021 ME
Publication Date: 2021-03-28
How Things Work : the computer science edition by Charles F. BowmanIt's axiomatic to state that people fear what they do not understand, and this is especially true when it comes to technology. However, despite their prevalence, computers remain shrouded in mystery, and many users feel apprehensive when interacting with them. Smartphones have only exacerbated the issue. Indeed, most users of these devices leverage only a small fraction of the power they hold in their hands. How Things Work: The Computer Science Edition is a roadmap for readers who want to overcome their technophobia and harness the full power of everyday technology. Beginning with the basics, the book demystifies the mysterious world of computer science, explains its fundamental concepts in simple terms, and answers the questions many users feel too intimidated to ask. By the end of the book, readers will understand how computers and smart devices function and, more important, how they can make these devices work for them. To complete the picture, the book also introduces readers to the darker side of modern technology: security and privacy concerns, identity theft, and threats from the Dark Web.
Call Number: QA76 .B686 2022 TV
Publication Date: 2021-08-26
Make something wonderful : Steve Jobs in his own words by Jobs, SteveA curated collection of Steve's speeches, interviews and correspondence, Make Something Wonderful offers an unparalleled window into how one of the world's most creative entrepreneurs approached his life and work. In these pages, Steve shares his perspective on his childhood, on launching and being pushed out of Apple, on his time with Pixar and NeXT, and on his ultimate return to the company that started it all. Featuring an introduction by Laurene Powell Jobs and edited by Leslie Berlin, founding executive director of the Steve Jobs Archive, this beautiful handbook is designed to inspire readers to make their own "wonderful somethings" that move the world
Call Number: QA76.2.J63 OVD
Publication Date: 2023
Visualizing Technology by Debra GeoghanVisualizing Technology provides you with a hands-on, highly visual approach to computer concepts. As you learn new skills, you'll apply them to projects or IT simulations or watch Viz Clip videos to dive deeper. The text’s magazine-style chapters offer consistent instruction and active practice with Digital Literacy, Essential Job Skills projects and engaging videos. The 10th Edition covers a vast range of technological trends affecting modern workplaces, such as Blockchain, digital currency, NFTs, Metaverse, quantum computing, immersive technology and IoT hacks. Images have been updated throughout to better illustrate chapter concepts and each chapter begins with a Tech Challenges box to encourage thinking critically about the way digital elements impact everyday life. -- Amazon.com.
Call Number: QA76.5 .G3765 2024 CO
Publication Date: 2023-01-01
Cybersecurity for Information Professionals : concepts and applications by Hsia-Ching Chang (Editor); Suliman Hawamdeh (Editor)Information professionals have been paying more attention and putting a greater focus on privacy over cybersecurity. However, the number of both cybersecurity and privacy breach incidents are soaring, which indicates that cybersecurity risks are high and growing. Utilizing cybersecurity awareness training in organizations has been an effective tool to promote a cybersecurity-conscious culture, making individuals more cybersecurity-conscious as well. However, it is unknown if employees' security behavior at work can be extended to their security behavior at home and personal life. On the one hand, information professionals need to inherit their role as data and information gatekeepers to safeguard data and information assets. On the other hand, information professionals can aid in enabling effective information access and dissemination of cybersecurity knowledge to make users conscious about the cybersecurity and privacy risks that are often hidden in the cyber universe. Cybersecurity for Information Professionals: Concepts and Applications introduces fundamental concepts in cybersecurity and addresses some of the challenges faced by information professionals, librarians, archivists, record managers, students, and professionals in related disciplines. This book is written especially for educators preparing courses in information security, cybersecurity, and the integration of privacy and cybersecurity. The chapters contained in this book present multiple and diverse perspectives from professionals in the field of cybersecurity. They cover such topics as: Information governance and cybersecurity User privacy and security online and the role of information professionals Cybersecurity and social media Healthcare regulations, threats, and their impact on cybersecurity A socio-technical perspective on mobile cybersecurity Cybersecurity in the software development life cycle Data security and privacy Above all, the book addresses the ongoing challenges of cybersecurity. In particular, it explains how information professionals can contribute to long-term workforce development by designing and leading cybersecurity awareness campaigns or cybersecurity hygiene programs to change people's security behavior.
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 C9344 2020 CO
Publication Date: 2020-06-29
Big Breaches : cybersecurity lessons for everyone by Neil Daswani; Moudy ElbayadiThe cybersecurity industry has seen an investment of over $45 billion in the past 15 years. Hundreds of thousands of jobs in the field remain unfilled amid breach after breach, and the problem has come to a head. It is time for everyone--not just techies--to become informed and empowered on the subject of cybersecurity. In engaging and exciting fashion, Big Breaches covers some of the largest security breaches and the technical topics behind them such as phishing, malware, third-party compromise, software vulnerabilities, unencrypted data, and more. Cybersecurity affects daily life for all of us, and the area has never been more accessible than with this book. You will obtain a confident grasp on industry insider knowledge such as effective prevention and detection countermeasures, the meta-level causes of breaches, the seven crucial habits for optimal security in your organization, and much more. These valuable lessons are applied to real-world cases, helping you deduce just how high-profile mega-breaches at Target, JPMorgan Chase, Equifax, Marriott, and more were able to occur. Whether you are seeking to implement a stronger foundation of cybersecurity within your organization or you are an individual who wants to learn the basics, Big Breaches ensures that everybody comes away with essential knowledge to move forward successfully. Arm yourself with this book's expert insights and be prepared for the future of cybersecurity. Who This Book Is For Those interested in understanding what cybersecurity is all about, the failures have taken place in the field to date, and how they could have been avoided. For existing leadership and management in enterprises and government organizations, existing professionals in the field, and for those who are considering entering the field, this book covers everything from how to create a culture of security to the technologies and processes you can employ to achieve security based on lessons that can be learned from past breaches.
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 D37 2021 ME
Publication Date: 2021-02-25
If It's Smart, It's Vulnerable by Mikko HypponenReimagine the future of the internet All our devices and gadgets--from our refrigerators to our home security systems, vacuum cleaners, and stereos--are going online, just like our computers did. But once we've successfully connected our devices to the internet, do we have any hope of keeping them, and ourselves, safe from the dangers that lurk beneath the digital waters? In If It's Smart, It's Vulnerable, veteran cybersecurity professional Mikko Hypponen delivers an eye-opening exploration of the best--and worst--things the internet has given us. From instant connectivity between any two points on the globe to organized ransomware gangs, the net truly has been a mixed blessing. In this book, the author explores the transformative potential of the future of the internet, as well as those things that threaten its continued existence: government surveillance, censorship, organized crime, and more. Readers will also find: Insightful discussions of how law enforcement and intelligence agencies operate on the internet Fulsome treatments of how money became data and the impact of the widespread use of mobile supercomputing technology Explorations of how the internet has changed the world, for better and for worse Engaging stories from Mikko's 30-year career in infosec Perfect for anyone seeking a thought-provoking presentation of some of the most pressing issues in cybersecurity and technology, If It's Smart, It's Vulnerable will also earn a place in the libraries of anyone interested in the future of the internet.
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 eBook
Publication Date: 2022-06-22
Cryptography : the key to digital security, how it works, and why it matters by Keith MartinDespite its reputation as a language only of spies and hackers, cryptography plays a critical role in our everyday lives. Though often invisible, it underpins the security of our mobile phone calls, credit card payments, web searches, internet messaging, and cryptocurrencies--in short, everything we do online. Increasingly, it also runs in the background of our smart refrigerators, thermostats, electronic car keys, and even the cars themselves. As our daily devices get smarter, cyberspace--home to all the networks that connect them--grows.Broadly defined as a set of tools for establishing security in this expanding cyberspace, cryptography enables us to protect and share our information. Understanding the basics of cryptography is the key to recognizing the significance of the security technologies we encounter every day, which will then help us respond to them.What are the implications of connecting to an unprotected Wi-Fi network? Is it really so important to have different passwords for different accounts? Is it safe to submit sensitive personal information to a given app, or to convert money to bitcoin? In clear, concise writing, information security expert Keith Martin answers all these questions and more, revealing the many crucial ways we all depend on cryptographic technology. He demystifies its controversial applications and the nuances behind alarming headlines about data breaches at banks, credit bureaus, and online retailers. We learn, for example, how cryptography can hamper criminal investigations and obstruct national security efforts, and how increasingly frequent ransomware attacks put personal information at risk. Yet we also learn why responding to these threats by restricting the use of cryptography can itself be problematic.Essential reading for anyone with a password, Cryptography offers a profound perspective on personal security, online and off.
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 M3735 2020 ME
Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Blockchain, Big Data and Machine Learning : trends and applications by Neeraj Kumar (Editor); N. Gayathri (Editor); B. Balamurugan (Editor); Arafatur Rahman (Editor)Present book covers new paradigms in Blockchain, Big Data and Machine Learning concepts including applications and case studies. It explains dead fusion in realizing the privacy and security of blockchain based data analytic environment. Recent research of security based on big data, blockchain and machine learning has been explained through actual work by practitioners and researchers, including their technical evaluation and comparison with existing technologies. The theoretical background and experimental case studies related to real-time environment are covered as well. Aimed at Senior undergraduate students, researchers and professionals in computer science and engineering and electrical engineering, this book: Converges Blockchain, Big Data and Machine learning in one volume. Connects Blockchain technologies with the data centric applications such Big data and E-Health. Easy to understand examples on how to create your own blockchain supported by case studies of blockchain in different industries. Covers big data analytics examples using R. Includes lllustrative examples in python for blockchain creation.
Call Number: QA76.9.B56 B545 2020 ME
Publication Date: 2022-03-30
Rethinking Virtual Places by Erik M. ChampionHow would the humanities change if we grappled with the ways in which digital and virtual places are designed, experienced, and critiqued? In Rethinking Virtual Places, Erik Malcolm Champion draws from the fields of computational sciences and other place-related disciplines to argue for a more central role for virtual space in the humanities. For instance, recent developments in neuroscience could improve our understanding of how people experience, store, and recollect place-related encounters. Similarly, game mechanics using virtual place design might make digital environments more engaging and learning content more powerful and salient. In addition, Champion provides a brief introduction to new and emerging software and devices and explains how they help, hinder, or replace our traditional means of designing and exploring places. Perfect for humanities scholars fascinated by the potential of virtual space, Rethinking Virtual Places challenges both traditional and recent evaluation methods to address the complicated problem of understanding how people evaluate and engage with the notion of place.
Call Number: QA76.9.H85 C43 2021 eBook
Publication Date: 2021-11-30
Touch Screen Theory : digital devices and feelings by Michele WhiteTechnology companies claim to connect people through touchscreens, but by conflating physical contact with emotional sentiments, they displace the constructed aspects of devices and women and other oppressed individuals' critiques of how such technologies function. Technology companies and device designers correlate touchscreens and online sites with physical contact and emotional sentiments, promising unmediated experiences in which the screen falls away in favor of visceral materiality and connections. While touchscreens are key elements of most people's everyday lives, critical frameworks for understanding the embodied experiences of using them are wanting. In Touch Screen Theory, Michele White focuses on the relation between physically touching and emotionally feeling to recenter the bodies and identities that are empowered, produced, and displaced by these digital technologies and settings. Drawing on detailed cases and humanities methods, White shows how and why gender, race, and sexuality should be further analyzed in relation to touchscreen use and design. White delves into such details as how women are informed that their bodies and fingernails are not a fit for iPhones, how cellphone surfaces are correlated with skin and understood as erotic, the ways social networks use heart buttons and icons to seem to physically and emotionally connect with individuals, how online references to feminine and queer feelings are resisted by many men, and how women producers of autonomous sensory meridian response (ASMR) videos use tactile strategies and touch screens to emotionally bond with viewers. Proposing critical methods for studying touchscreens and digital engagement, Touch Screen Theory expands a variety of research areas, including digital and internet cultures, hardware, interfaces, media and screens, and popular culture.
Call Number: QA76.9.H85 W458 2022 TV
Publication Date: 2022-10-25
Statistics and Data Visualization Using R : the art and practice of data analysis by David S. BrownDesigned to introduce students to quantitative methods in a way that can be applied to all kinds of data in all kinds of situations, Statistics and Data Visualization Using R: The Art and Practice of Data Analysis by David S. Brown teaches students statistics through charts, graphs, and displays of data that help students develop intuition around statistics as well as data visualization skills. By focusing on the visual nature of statistics instead of mathematical proofs and derivations, students can see the relationships between variables that are the foundation of quantitative analysis. Using the latest tools in R and R RStudio® for calculations and data visualization, students learn valuable skills they can take with them into a variety of future careers in the public sector, the private sector, or academia. Starting at the most basic introduction to data and going through most crucial statistical methods, this introductory textbook quickly gets students new to statistics up to speed running analyses and interpreting data from social science research.
Call Number: QA76.9.I52 B76 2021 ME
Publication Date: 2021-09-22
A History of Modern Computing, Second Edition by Paul E. CeruzziFrom the first digital computer to the dot-com crash-a story of individuals, institutions, and the forces that led to a series of dramatic transformations.This engaging history covers modern computing from the development of the first electronic digital computer through the dot-com crash. The author concentrates on five key moments of transition- the transformation of the computer in the late 1940s from a specialized scientific instrument to a commercial product; the emergence of small systems in the late 1960s; the beginning of personal computing in the 1970s; the spread of networking after 1985; and, in a chapter written for this edition, the period 1995-2001. The new material focuses on the Microsoft antitrust suit, the rise and fall of the dot-coms, and the advent of open source software, particularly Linux. Within the chronological narrative, the book traces several overlapping threads- the evolution of the computer's internal design; the effect of economic trends and the Cold War; the long-term role of IBM as a player and as a target for upstart entrepreneurs; the growth of software from a hidden element to a major character in the story of computing; and the recurring issue of the place of information and computing in a democratic society. The focus is on the United States (though Europe and Japan enter the story at crucial points), on computing per se rather than on applications such as artificial intelligence, and on systems that were sold commercially and installed in quantities.
Call Number: QA76.17 .C47 2003 ME
Publication Date: 2003-04-08
A New History of Modern Computing by Thomas Haigh; Paul E. CeruzziHow the computer became universal. Over the past fifty years, the computer has been transformed from a hulking scientific supertool and data processing workhorse, remote from the experiences of ordinary people, to a diverse family of devices that billions rely on to play games, shop, stream music and movies, communicate, and count their steps. In A New History of Modern Computing, Thomas Haigh and Paul Ceruzzi trace these changes. A comprehensive reimagining of Ceruzzi's A History of Modern Computing, this new volume uses each chapter to recount one such transformation, describing how a particular community of users and producers remade the computer into something new. Haigh and Ceruzzi ground their accounts of these computing revolutions in the longer and deeper history of computing technology. They begin with the story of the 1945 ENIAC computer, which introduced the vocabulary of "programs" and "programming," and proceed through email, pocket calculators, personal computers, the World Wide Web, videogames, smart phones, and our current world of computers everywhere--in phones, cars, appliances, watches, and more. Finally, they consider the Tesla Model S as an object that simultaneously embodies many strands of computing.
Call Number: QA76.17 .H34 2021 ME
Publication Date: 2021-09-14
Careers in Artificial Intelligence by Salem PressArtificial intelligence (AI) is all around us, from music choices to electronics to healthcare. AI refers to machines that are programmed to think and act like humans. Examples of AI include Pandora personalized song lists, robotic vacuum cleaners and self-driving vehicles. Many industries offer careers in AI, including financial services, technology, marketing, agriculture, gaming, and retail. As the need for technology and its problem-solving abilities continues to grow, so does the need for highly-skilled individuals to work in this sector. Careers in Artificial Intelligence provides detailed information and need-to-know information on various careers in artificial intelligence. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
Call Number: QA76.25 .C27337 2022 PB
Publication Date: 2022-12-30
Cyber Careers : the basics of information technology and deciding on a career path by Pee VulullehThe approach taken in this book emphasizes the basics of information technology and helps students decide whether to pursue an information technology career. Most students fail to pursue an IT career because of their limited knowledge (sometimes no knowledge) about the area. Similarly, most students pursuing a career in IT do not research the field before their pursuit. This book is purposely designed for students in this category. The book may be offered as a required text for an elective or core course to all bachelor's degree students regardless of specialization. Compared to other textbooks, this text guides students pursuing or wanting to pursue an IT degree/career. Most students often begin their study of IT without knowing the outside and inside of the area. Most of these students can change their minds to pursue a different career path after spending several semesters of studies, a waste of their time. If students are taught from the onset about what an IT career entails and what it takes to become successful, it will significantly help students and not waste their time. This book addresses the issue.
Call Number: QA76.25 .V858 2022 ME
Publication Date: 2022-02-17
Dealers of Lightning : Xerox PARC and the dawn of the computer age by Michael A. HiltzikIn the bestselling tradition of The Soul of a New Machine, Dealers of Lightning is a fascinating journey of intellectual creation. In the 1970s and '80s, Xerox Corporation brought together a brain-trust of engineering geniuses, a group of computer eccentrics dubbed PARC. This brilliant group created several monumental innovations that triggered a technological revolution, including the first personal computer, the laser printer, and the graphical interface (one of the main precursors of the Internet), only to see these breakthroughs rejected by the corporation. Yet, instead of giving up, these determined inventors turned their ideas into empires that radically altered contemporary life and changed the world. Based on extensive interviews with the scientists, engineers, administrators, and executives who lived the story, this riveting chronicle details PARC's humble beginnings through its triumph as a hothouse for ideas, and shows why Xerox was never able to grasp, and ultimately exploit, the cutting-edge innovations PARC delivered. Dealers of Lightning offers an unprecedented look at the ideas, the inventions, and the individuals that propelled Xerox PARC to the frontier of technohistoiy--and the corporate machinations that almost prevented it from achieving greatness.
Call Number: QA76.27 .H55 2000 ME
Publication Date: 2000-04-05
Object-Oriented Design Choices by Adair DingleDo modern programming languages, IDEs, and libraries make coding easy? Maybe, but coding is not design. Large-scale or expensive apps clearly require evaluation of design choices. Still, software design directly impacts code reuse and longevity even for small-scale apps with limited overhead. This text evaluates and contrasts common object-oriented designs. A given problem may have many solutions. A developer may employ different design techniques - composition, inheritance, dependency injection, delegation, etc. - to solve a particular problem. A skilled developer can determine the costs and benefits of different design responses, even amid competing concerns. A responsible developer documents design choices as a contract with the client, delineating external and internal responsibilities. To promote effective software design, this book examines contractual, object-oriented designs for immediate and sustained use as well as code reuse. The intent of identifying design variants is to recognize and manage conflicting goals such as short versus long-term utility, stability versus flexibility, and storage versus computation. Many examples are given to evaluate and contrast different solutions and to compare C# and C++ effects. No one has a crystal ball; however, deliberate design promotes software longevity. With the prominence of legacy OO code, a clear understanding of different object-oriented designs is essential. Design questions abound. Is code reuse better with inheritance or composition? Should composition rely on complete encapsulation? Design choices impact flexibility, efficiency, stability, longevity, and reuse, yet compilers do not enforce design and syntax does not necessarily illustrate design. Through deliberate design, or redesign when refactoring, developers construct sustainable, efficient code.
Call Number: QA76.64 .D56 2021 ME
Publication Date: 2021-01-19
The Problem with Software : why smart engineers write bad code by Adam BarrAn industry insider explains why there is so much bad software-and why academia doesn't teach programmers what industry wants them to know.Why is software so prone to bugs? So vulnerable to viruses? Why are software products so often delayed, or even canceled? Is software development really hard, or are software developers just not that good at it? In The Problem with Software, Adam Barr examines the proliferation of bad software, explains what causes it, and offers some suggestions on how to improve the situation. For one thing, Barr points out, academia doesn't teach programmers what they actually need to know to do their jobs how to work in a team to create code that works reliably and can be maintained by somebody other than the original authors. As the size and complexity of commercial software have grown, the gap between academic computer science and industry has widened. It's an open secret that there is little engineering in software engineering, which continues to rely not on codified scientific knowledge but on intuition and experience. Barr, who worked as a programmer for more than twenty years, describes how the industry has evolved, from the era of mainframes and Fortran to today's embrace of the cloud. He explains bugs and why software has so many of them, and why today's interconnected computers offer fertile ground for viruses and worms. The difference between good and bad software can be a single line of code, and Barr includes code to illustrate the consequences of seemingly inconsequential choices by programmers. Looking to the future, Barr writes that the best prospect for improving software engineering is the move to the cloud. When software is a service and not a product, companies will have more incentive to make it good rather than "good enough to ship."
Call Number: QA76.76.D47 B373 2018 ME
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
The Divine Proportion : a study in mathematical beauty by H. E. HuntleyEngaging introduction to that curious feature of mathematics which provides framework for so many structures in biology, chemistry, and the arts. Discussion ranges from theories of biological growth to intervals and tones in music, Pythagorean numerology, conic sections, Pascal's triangle, the Fibonnacci series, and much more.
Call Number: QA466 .H85 1970 ME
Publication Date: 1970-06-01
From Cave Man to Cave Martian : Living in caves on the earth, moon and mars by Manfred "Dutch" von EhrenfriedThis book explores the practicality of using the existing subsurface geology on the Moon and Mars for protection against radiation, thermal extremes, micrometeorites and dust storms rather than building surface habitats at great expense at least for those first few missions. It encourages NASA to plan a precursor mission using this concept and employ a "Short Stay" Opposition Class mission to Mars as the first mission rather than the "Long Stay" concept requiring a mission that is too long, too dangerous and too costly for man's first missions to Mars. Included in these pages is a short history on the uses of caves by early humans over great periods of time. It then describes the ongoing efforts to research caves, pits, tunnels, lava tubes, skylights and the associated technologies that pertain to potential lunar and Mars exploration and habitation. It describes evidence for existing caves and lava tubes on both the Moon and Mars. The work of noted scientists, technologists and roboticists are referenced and described. This ongoing work is more extensive than one would think and is directly applicable to longer term habitation and exploration of the Moon and Mars. Emphasis is also given to the operational aspects of working and living in lunar and Martian caves and lava tubes.
Call Number: QB601 .E37 2019 CO
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Parallel Worlds : a journey through creation, higher dimensions, and the future of the cosmos by Michio KakuThe national bestselling author of The God Equation takes us on a thrilling journey to explore black holes and time machines, multidimensional space and the possibility that parallel universes may lay alongside our own. "A wonderful tour, with an expert guide." --Brian Greene, New York Times bestselling author of The Elegant Universe Kaku skillfully guides us through the latest innovations in string theory and its latest iteration, M-theory, which posits that our universe may be just one in an endless multiverse, a singular bubble floating in a sea of infinite bubble universes. If M-theory is proven correct, we may perhaps finally find answer to the question, "What happened before the big bang?" This is an exciting and unforgettable introduction into the new cutting-edge theories of physics and cosmology from one of the pre-eminent voices in the field.
Call Number: QB981 .K134 2006 ME
Publication Date: 2006-02-14
The Edge of Physics : a journey to Earth's extremes to unlock the secrets of the universe by Anil AnanthaswamyIn this deeply original book, science writer Anil Ananthaswamy sets out in search of the telescopes and detectors that promise to answer the biggest questions in modern cosmology. Why is the universe expanding at an ever faster rate? What is the nature of the "dark matter" that makes up almost a quarter of the universe? Why does the universe appear fine-tuned for life? Are there others besides our own?Ananthaswamy soon finds himself at the ends of the earth--in remote and sometimes dangerous places. Take the Atacama Desert in the Chilean Andes, one of the coldest, driest places on the planet, where not even a blade of grass can survive. Its spectacularly clear skies and dry atmosphere allow astronomers to gather brilliant images of galaxies billions of light-years away. Ananthaswamy takes us inside the European Southern Observatory's Very Large Telescope on Mount Paranal, where four massive domes open to the sky each night "like dragons waking up."He also takes us deep inside an abandoned iron mine in Minnesota, where half-mile-thick rock shields physicists as they hunt for elusive dark matter particles. And to the East Antarctic Ice Sheet, where engineers are drilling 1.5 miles into the clearest ice on the planet. They're building the world's largest neutrino detector, which could finally help reconcile quantum physics with Einstein's theory of general relativity.The stories of the people who work at these and other dramatic research sites--from Lake Baikal in Siberia to the Indian Astronomical Observatory in the Himalayas to the subterranean lair of the Large Hadron Collider--make for a compelling new portrait of the universe and our quest to understand it. An atmospheric, engaging, and illuminating read,The Edge of Physics depicts science as a human process, bringing cosmology back down to earth in the most vivid terms.
Call Number: QC24.5 .A53 2010 ME
Publication Date: 2010-03-02
The Atomic Bomb in Images and Documents : the Manhattan Project and the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki by Samuel S. KlodaSamuel S. Kloda spent more than 40 years meeting with the scientists who built the first atomic bombs, and the crews that delivered them to Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Those conversations encouraged him to search archives throughout the U.S. Newly unearthed documents were brought to former members of the Manhattan Project or the 509th Composite Group, who were always willing to autograph and recount the details of these artifacts. Most of the major books on the Manhattan Project were published before 1973. In the years that followed, newly declassified documents became available and showed that many authors had included huge inaccuracies. Richly illustrated with important documents and photographs, Kloda's chronicle of the dawn of the atomic age sets the record straight on one of the greatest scientific advancements of all time. Readers will see how a single letter from Albert Einstein to President Franklin Roosevelt in 1939 led to the formation of the Advisory Committee on Uranium and, within six years, to the secret Manhattan Project employing more than 100,000 men and women.
Call Number: QC773.A1 K56 2022 PB
Publication Date: 2022-02-09
The Monster's Bones : the discovery of T. Rex and how it shook our world by David K. RandallOne of Smithsonian Magazine's Ten Best Books of 2022 A gripping narrative of a fearless paleontologist, the founding of America's most loved museums, and the race to find the largest dinosaurs on record. In the dust of the Gilded Age Bone Wars, two vastly different men emerge with a mission to fill the empty halls of New York's struggling American Museum of Natural History: Henry Fairfield Osborn, a privileged socialite whose reputation rests on the museum's success, and intrepid Kansas-born fossil hunter Barnum Brown. When Brown unearths the first Tyrannosaurus Rex fossils in the Montana wilderness, forever changing the world of paleontology, Osborn sees a path to save his museum from irrelevancy. With four-foot-long jaws capable of crushing the bones of its prey and hips that powered the animal to run at speeds of 25 miles per hour, the T. Rex suggests a prehistoric ecosystem more complex than anyone imagined. As the public turns out in droves to cower before this bone-chilling giant of the past and wonder at the mysteries of its disappearance, Brown and Osborn together turn dinosaurs from a biological oddity into a beloved part of culture. Vivid and engaging, The Monster's Bones journeys from prehistory to present day, from remote Patagonia to the unforgiving badlands of the American West to the penthouses of Manhattan. With a wide-ranging cast of robber barons, eugenicists, and opportunistic cowboys, New York Times best-selling author David K. Randall reveals how a monster of a bygone era ignited a new understanding of our planet and our place within it.
Call Number: QE862.S3 R36 2022 PB
Publication Date: 2022-06-07
On Life : cells, genes, and the evolution of complexity by Franklin M. HaroldFranklin M. Harold's On Life reveals what science can tell us about the living world. All creatures, from bacteria and redwoods to garden snails and humans, belong to a single biochemical family. We all operate by the same principles and are all made up of cells, either one or many. We flaunt capacities that far exceed those of inanimate matter, yet we stand squarely within the material world. So what is life, anyway? How do living things function, and how did they come into existence? Questions like these have baffled philosophers and scientists since antiquity, but over the past half-century answers have begun to emerge. Offering an inside look, Franklin M. Harold makes life accessible to readers interested in the biological big picture. The book traces how living things operate, focusing on the interplay of biology with physics and chemistry. He asserts that biology stands apart from the physical sciences because life revolves around organization-- that is, purposeful order. On Life aims to make life intelligible by giving readers an understanding of the biological landscape; it sketches the principles as biologists presently understand them and highlights major unresolved issues. What emerges is a biology bracketed by two stubborn mysteries: the nature of the mind and the origin of life. This portrait of biology is comprehensible but inescapably complex, internally consistent, and buttressed by a wealth of factual knowledge.
Call Number: QH309 .H37 2022 eBook
Publication Date: 2021-12-17
Life in Space : NASA life sciences research during the late twentieth century by Maura Phillips MackowskiA little-known yet critical part ofNASA history Life in Space explores the many aspects and outcomes of NASA's research in life sciences, a little-understood endeavor that has often been overlooked in histories of the space agency. Maura Mackowski details NASA's work in this field from spectacular promises made during the Reagan era to the major new directions set by George W. Bush's Vision for Space Exploration in the early twenty-first century. At the first flight of NASA's space shuttle in 1981, hopes ran high for the shuttle program to achieve its potential of regularly transporting humans, cargo, and scientific experiments between Earth and the International Space Station. Mackowski describes different programs, projects, and policies initiated across NASA centers and headquarters in the following decades to advance research into human safety and habitation, plant and animal biology, and commercial biomaterials. Mackowski illuminates these ventures in fascinating detail by drawing on rare archival sources, oral histories, interviews, and site visits. While highlighting significant achievements and innovations such as space radiation research and the Neurolab Spacelab Mission, Mackowski reveals frustrations--lost opportunities, stagnation, and dead ends--stemming from frequent changes in presidential administrations and policies. For today's dreams of lunar outposts or long-term spaceflight to become reality, Mackowski argues, a robust program in space life sciences is essential, and the history in this book offers lessons to help prevent leaving more expectations unfulfilled.
Call Number: QH327 .M33 2022 CO
Publication Date: 2022-05-24
On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection by Charles DarwinDarwin consolidated a lifetime of work in On the Origin of Species, compiling his discoveries from the voyage of the Beagle, his experiments, research and correspondence. He argues for the transmutation of species over time by the process of natural selection. His work laid the foundation of evolutionary biology, though when it was published it caused tremendous religious and philosophical debates. Darwin's work is still seen by many people to oppose Christian beliefs.
Call Number: QH365 OVD
Publication Date: 2012
Plant Systematics by Arun K. Pandey; Shruti KasanaThis book is designed to introduce the fundamentals of systematics in a simple, concise and balanced manner. The book aims to equip the students with the basics of plant taxonomy and at the same time also update them with the most recent advances in the field of plant systematics. The book has been organized into 21 chapters that introduce and explain different concepts in a stimulating manner. The text is supplemented with relevant illustrations and photographs. Relevant literature has been added to provide a better picture of the most recent updates in the field of plant systematics.
Call Number: QK95.4 .P36 2021 ME
Publication Date: 2021-05-31
Chimpanzee Memoirs : stories of studying and saving our closest living relatives by Stephen Ross (Editor); Lydia Hopper (Editor)Chimpanzees fascinate people for many reasons. We are struck by the apes' resemblance to humanity, as seen in their use of tools and their complex social lives, and we are moved by the threats that human activity poses to them. Our awareness of our closest living relatives testifies to the efforts of the remarkable people who study these creatures and work to protect them. What motivates someone to dedicate their lives to chimpanzees? How does that reflect on our own species? This book brings together a range of chimpanzee experts who tell powerful personal stories about their lives and careers. It features some of the world's preeminent primatologists--including Jane Goodall and Frans de Waal--as well as representatives of a new generation from varied backgrounds. In addition to field scientists, the book features anthropologists, biologists, psychologists, veterinarians, conservationists, and the director of a chimpanzee sanctuary. Some grew up in the English countryside, others in villages in Congo; some first encountered chimpanzees in a zoo, others in the forests surrounding their homes. All are united by a common purpose: to study and understand chimpanzees in order to protect them in the wild and care for them in zoos and sanctuaries. Contributors share what inspired them, what shaped their career choices, and what motivates them to strive for solutions to the many challenges that chimpanzees face today.
Call Number: QL26 .C45 2022 ME
Publication Date: 2022-05-10
The Mind of a Bee by Lars ChittkaA rich and surprising exploration of the intelligence of bees Most of us are aware of the hive mind--the power of bees as an amazing collective. But do we know how uniquely intelligent bees are as individuals? In The Mind of a Bee, Lars Chittka draws from decades of research, including his own pioneering work, to argue that bees have remarkable cognitive abilities. He shows that they are profoundly smart, have distinct personalities, can recognize flowers and human faces, exhibit basic emotions, count, use simple tools, solve problems, and learn by observing others. They may even possess consciousness. Taking readers deep into the sensory world of bees, Chittka illustrates how bee brains are unparalleled in the animal kingdom in terms of how much sophisticated material is packed into their tiny nervous systems. He looks at their innate behaviors and the ways their evolution as foragers may have contributed to their keen spatial memory. Chittka also examines the psychological differences between bees and the ethical dilemmas that arise in conservation and laboratory settings because bees feel and think. Throughout, he touches on the fascinating history behind the study of bee behavior. Exploring an insect whose sensory experiences rival those of humans, The Mind of a Bee reveals the singular abilities of some of the world's most incredible creatures.
Call Number: QL563 .C55 2022 ME
Publication Date: 2022-07-26
Endless Forms : the secret world of wasps by Seirian Sumner"A book that draws us in to the strange beauty of what we so often run away from." -- Robin Ince, author of The Importance of Being Interested In this eye-opening and entertaining work of popular science in the spirit of The Mosquito, Entangled Life, and The Book of Eels, a leading behavioural ecologist transforms our understanding of wasps, exploring these much-maligned insects' secret world, their incredible diversity and complex social lives, and revealing how they hold our fragile ecosystem in balance. Everyone worries about the collapse of bee populations. But what about wasps? Deemed the gangsters of the insect world, wasps are winged assassins with formidable stings. Conduits of Biblical punishment, provokers of fear and loathing, inspiration for horror movies: wasps are perhaps the most maligned insect on our planet. But do wasps deserve this reputation? Endless Forms opens our eyes to the highly complex and diverse world of wasps. Wasps are 100 million years older than bees; there are ten times more wasp species than there are bees. There are wasps that spend their entire lives sealed inside a fig; wasps that turn cockroaches into living zombies; wasps that live inside other wasps. There are wasps that build citadels that put our own societies to shame, marked by division of labor, rebellions and policing, monarchies, leadership contests, undertakers, police, negotiators, and social parasites. Wasps are nature's most misunderstood insect: as predators and pollinators, they keep the planet's ecological balance in check. Wasps are nature's pest controllers; a world without wasps would be just as ecologically devastating as losing the bees, or beetles, or butterflies. Wasps are diverse and beautiful by every measure, and they are invaluable to planetary health, Professor Sumner reminds us; we'd do well to appreciate them as much as their cuter cousins, the bees.
Call Number: QL569.4 .S86 2022 CO
Publication Date: 2022-07-12
Bitch : on the female of the species by Lucy CookeA fierce, funny, and revolutionary look at the queens of the animal kingdom Studying zoology made Lucy Cooke feel like a sad freak. Not because she loved spiders or would root around in animal feces: all her friends shared the same curious kinks. The problem was her sex. Being female meant she was, by nature, a loser. Since Charles Darwin, evolutionary biologists have been convinced that the males of the animal kingdom are the interesting ones--dominating and promiscuous, while females are dull, passive, and devoted. In Bitch, Cooke tells a new story. Whether investigating same-sex female albatross couples that raise chicks, murderous mother meerkats, or the titanic battle of the sexes waged by ducks, Cooke shows us a new evolutionary biology, one where females can be as dynamic as any male. This isn't your grandfather's evolutionary biology. It's more inclusive, truer to life, and, simply, more fun.
Call Number: QL775 .C66 2022b ME
Publication Date: 2022-06-14
Wildlife Anatomy : the curious lives & features of wild animals around the world by Julia Rothman (Contribution by); Lisa Hiley (Contribution by)Bestselling author/illustrator Julia Rothman shares a delightfully illustrated guide to all the beasts of the wild, from lions, tigers, and bears to musk oxen, monkeys, elephants, giraffes, foxes, badgers, bats, crocodiles, owls, flying squirrels and much, much more. Julia Rothman's series of Anatomy books are beloved by children and adults alike. In Wildlife Anatomy, Rothman captures the excitement and distinctive attributes of wild animals around the world. The book is packed with hundreds of her charming, original illustrations, detailing the unique features of animals of the rainforest, desert, grasslands, oceans, and much more. From lions, bears, and zebras to monkeys, mongoose, bats, elephants, giraffes, hippos, and much more, Rothman's visual guide covers all the key features, right down to the anatomy of a lion's claw and a wild horse's hoof. All the illustrations are accompanied by labels, intriguing facts, and identifying details, such as: When is a Panther Not a Panther? and What Makes Aardvarks So Odd? Rothman's characteristic combination of curiosity and an artist's eye makes this wildlife treasury rich and full, and promises new discoveries every time it's opened.
Call Number: QL806.5 .R68 2023 CO
Publication Date: 2023-04-04
Life Time : your body clock and its essential roles in good health and sleep by Russell FosterA guide to using the science of the body clock to promote better sleep, better health, and better thinking "Full of surprising and useful facts. . . . Unlike many science books with similar subtitles, it really might 'revolutionise' your life."--James McConnachie, Times (UK) "A comprehensive manifesto for living in harmony with our body clocks, penned by someone who has devoted his career to studying them."--Financial Times Biological clocks are embedded in every aspect of human biology, guiding us toward the prime times of day to sleep, eat, think, and work. Award-winning scientist Russell Foster brings decades of study to this journey through the circadian rhythms that dominate our days and nights. He shows how the realities of 24/7 life--including night-shift work, overbooked calendars, and caring for newborns--disrupt the body clock, taking a toll on sleep and on mental and physical health. By dismantling long-standing myths and citing cutting-edge science, Foster empowers readers to get back into rhythm and live healthier, sharper lives: scheduling meals to prevent obesity and diabetes; timing medications to increase their effectiveness; getting better sleep through exposure to natural light; and much more. "If you want to embrace life," Foster writes, "then embracing biological time will help you do this."
Call Number: QP84.6 .F668 2022 TV
Publication Date: 2022-08-30
Think Like an Ecosystem : an introduction to permaculture, water systems, soil science and landscape design by Amélie des Plantes"Do you want to provide fresh produce for your family through backyard gardening? Do you wish to build an affordable, sustainable, regenerative, resilient, low-maintenance and abundant garden? Permaculture makes the most use of what nature provides for us by using specific designs strategies to maximize nature's gifts such as food, energy, and shelter. A counter to heavy industrial farming, permaculture is all about conscious planning that caters to the human needs while also respecting and healing the natural environment. At its core, it involves drawing inspiration from nature to build an ecosystem that thrives just like a natural forest, grassland, or any other such ecosystem. Think like an ecosystem is a comprehensive 9-step guide to practicing and implementing permaculture (curated for beginners). Permaculture can often feel overwhelming, and while you may plan big for your backyard, you only need to start small--after all, it is an ever-evolving journey. Let nature be your guide to sustainable living." -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: S494.5.P47 P53 2022 PB
Publication Date: 2022-01-27
What Your Food Ate : how to heal our land and reclaim our health by David R. Montgomery; Anne BikléDavid R. Montgomery and Anne Biklé take us far beyond the well-worn adage to deliver a new truth: the roots of good health start on farms. What Your Food Ate marshals evidence from recent and forgotten science to illustrate how the health of the soil ripples through to that of crops, livestock, and ultimately us. The long-running partnerships through which crops and soil life nourish one another suffuse plant and animal foods in the human diet with an array of compounds and nutrients our bodies need to protect us from pathogens and chronic ailments. Unfortunately, conventional agricultural practices unravel these vital partnerships and thereby undercut our well-being. Can farmers and ranchers produce enough nutrient-dense food to feed us all? Can we have quality and quantity? With their trademark thoroughness and knack for integrating information across numerous scientific fields, Montgomery and Biklé chart the way forward. Navigating discoveries and epiphanies about the world beneath our feet, they reveal why regenerative farming practices hold the key to healing sick soil and untapped potential for improving human health. Humanity's hallmark endeavors of agriculture and medicine emerged from our understanding of the natural world--and still depend on it. Montgomery and Biklé eloquently update this fundamental reality and show us why what's good for the land is good for us, too. What Your Food Ate is a must-read for farmers, eaters, chefs, doctors, and anyone concerned with reversing the modern epidemic of chronic diseases and mitigating climate change.
Call Number: S596.7 .M65 2022 ME
Publication Date: 2022-06-21
Shallow-Pit Garden Composting : the easy, no-smell, no-turning way to create organic compost for your garden by Caleb WarnockMany gardeners give up making backyard compost in frustration--the compost pile smells, it requires too much work to turn the heap, and the process requires too many ingredients and too much attention. Gardeners who have used compost barrels or kits know that their experience ends in one way: a smelly barrel that, after months of care, produces only a tiny amount of compost. What to do? Return to the way that compost has been made for centuries--in shallow pits. With this method, the compost never needs to be turned, never smells, and is ready in half the time. Any backyard gardener can make volumes of sustainable compost without any work. Shallow pit composting works with Mother Nature, letting her do the work!
Call Number: S661 .W37 2017 PB
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Forces of Nature : a history of Florida land conservation by Clay HendersonThe activists and victories that made Florida a leader in land preservation Despite Florida's important place at the beginning of the American conservation movement and its notable successes in the fight against environmental damage, the full story of land conservation in the state has not yet been told. In this comprehensive history, Clay Henderson celebrates the individuals and organizations who made the Sunshine State a leader in state-funded conservation and land preservation. Starting with early naturalists like William Bartram and John Muir who inspired the movement to create national parks and protect the country's wilderness, Forces of Nature describes the efforts of familiar heroes like Marjory Stoneman Douglas and May Mann Jennings and introduces lesser-known champions like Frank Chapman, who helped convince Theodore Roosevelt to establish Pelican Island as the first national wildlife refuge in the United States. Henderson details how many of Florida's activists, artists, philanthropists, and politicians have worked to designate threatened land for use as parks, preserves, and other conservation areas. Drawing on historical sources, interviews, and his own long career in environmental law, Henderson recounts the many small victories over time that helped Florida create several units of the national park system, nearly thirty national wildlife refuges, and one of the best state park systems in the country. Forces of Nature will motivate readers to join in defending Florida's natural wonders.
Call Number: S932.F6 H46 2022 PB
Publication Date: 2022-11-22
The Old Farmer's Almanac Vegetable Gardener's Handbook by Old Farmer's Old Farmer's AlmanacThis book is the perfect companion for every vegetable gardener--even those who have never touched a trowel and wouldn't know mulch from mud! The practical advice presented in the Vegetable Gardener's Handbook demystifies gardening by providing the best, most proven methods for sowing, growing, and harvesting. Highlights include ... Step-by-step advice for success with more than 30 vegetables in any zone The dirt on soil: why testing is so important--and how to do it Easy techniques for growing in-ground, plus alternatives to traditional raised beds Seed-starting and -saving methods simplified Gardeners' friends and foes: which plants help (or hinder) vegetables Enlightening (and humorous!) anecdotes from fellow gardeners Space for noting observations and experiences More than 150 full-color photos Essential reference tables and charts Much, much more! Created for new gardeners, green thumbs, and old hands alike, The Old Farmer's Almanac Vegetable Gardener's Handbook is loaded with advice and inspiration to help plants--and growers--thrive. Only The Old Farmer's Almanac has the experience and longevity to offer the very best tried-and-true information, tips, and advice about all things gardening and growing. With the Vegetable Gardener's Handbook, we are a patient master gardener passing down the secrets of growing great food to every gardener.
Call Number: SB320.9 .V43 2019 PB
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Berries by Victoria DickensonWhat is it about the small fruits of field and wood that encourage rapture? These gifts of the earth--flagrant in hedgerows, carpeting the forest floor or coloring tablelands--are so ubiquitous as to be commonplace and yet so extraordinary that we have woven them into our folklore, our fables, and our art. Strawberries were painted in the frescoes of Pompeii, brambles twined into the borders of medieval miniatures, and mulberries have been embroidered on silks and linens. Today, the huge demand for these nutrient-rich fruits is pushing berry cultivation into new territories, from South America to Scandinavia, and changing the nature of our relationship with these much-loved fruits. In this delightful, surprising, and occasionally juicy botanical exploration, Victoria Dickenson traces the humble berry's journey across cultures and through centuries with humor and passion.
Call Number: SB381 .D53 2020 ME
Publication Date: 2020-09-02
The Companion Planting Soil Mates Guide : the complete beginners' guide to growing an organic, healthy and bountiful garden with an effective plant-partners strategy by Christo SullivanLearn the secrets of companion planting to get a vibrant, abundant, and chemical-free vegetable garden. Would you like to grow and harvest healthy vegetables without using dangerous chemicals to repel pests? Have you ever wanted a more science-based approach to growing abundant vegetables in your garden? Would you like to discover a natural formula to gain an unfair advantage to make your garden plot produce healthier food by simply following nature''s own rules? If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, this book will provide you with all the solutions you''re looking for. Companion planting is one of the "best-kept secrets" of gardening. Stemming from the ancient rural tradition, it has been recently backed by scientific studies as a natural way to make your garden''s plants help each other to grow stronger. Exactly like you and I, plants have best friends too. And exactly like all true friends they can help each other grow and thrive: they can support each other and become real "Soil Mates". Companion planting is the strategic organization of your garden by placing plants, vegetables, herbs, and flowers in order to maximize the use of space while taking advantage of the natural abilities of each plant to contribute to one another''s well-being. Ancient Native Americans, for example, have always been aware of the advantages of grouping together beans, corn, and squash: today science realized that beans pump beneficial nitrogen back into the soil, fertilizing the corn and squash; while the squash''s broad, spiny leaves protect the bean plants from predatory animals. But don''t dare to put corn next to tomatoes, as they don''t like each other. In fact, there are also plants that do not get along and should not be placed next to each other. You would be amazed to know how many enemies onions have... But plant quinoa next to bitter melons and you will see them thriving into strong and fruitful plants! In this book, you will also find a very practical and easy-to-read companion planting chart so that you''re going to know right away the perfect Soil Mates for your garden! Companion planting also means understanding how to accommodate guests that will collaborate for the good of your garden, like butterflies, hard-working bees, hummingbirds...and bats! Inside this incredible guide you will learn: The 5 key principles of companion planting The 4 strategic roles of companion plants in a garden The perfect soil composition and how to improve your soil with compost 8 mulch varieties that will help your garden plot Pest management, how to get rid of the most popular pest and some of the least known Good and bad bugs: learn how to make them your best allies How to manage diseases thanks to the power of interplanting How to foster pollination to sustain your crop The 4 seasons of gardening: how to program your garden for every season BONUS 1: The Companion Gardening Chart to have every perfect pairing available at a glance and ALWAYS know what to plant next to what BONUS 2: Garden Planners to draw, organize and visualize your garden in a clear and tidy manner. Planning with these will save you a lot of time and trial and error. Today it is possible to enjoy an unfair advantage just by a deep understanding of nature''s own laws. Expert organic gardener Christo Sullivan will teach you how in a simple and direct manner. So click on "Add to cart" to receive your copy of Companion Planting Soil Mates Guide and start utilizing the science-backed strategy to obtain the most vibrant, productive, and chemical-free organic vegetable gardens!
Call Number: SB453.6 .S85 2022 PB
Publication Date: 2022-05-12
Creating a Forest Garden : working with nature to grow edible crops by Martin Crawford; Joanna Brown (Photographer)Forest Gardening (or agroforestry) is a way of growing edible crops with nature doing most of the work. A forest garden imitates young natural woodland, with a wide range of crops grown in vertical layers. Species are chosen for their beneficial effects on each other, creating a healthy system that maintains its own fertility, with little need for digging, weeding or pest control. The result of this largely perennial planting is a tranquil, beautiful and productive space. This book is a bible for permaculture and forest gardening, with practical advice on how to create a forest garden, from planning and design to planting and maintenance. It explains how a forest garden is designed from the top down: the canopy layer first, then the shrub layer, the perennial ground-cover layer, the annuals & biennials next, the climbers and nitrogen fixers and finally the clearings, living spaces and paths. Whether in a small back garden or in a larger plot, the environmental benefits of growing this way are great. Forest Gardens are a viable solution to the challenge of a changing climate: we can grow food sustainably in them without compromising soil health, food quality or biodiversity. Forest gardens: store carbon dioxide in the soil and in the woody biomass of the trees and shrubs. enable the soil to store more water after heavy rains, minimizing flooding and erosion. boost the health of the ecosystem, ensuring a balance of predators and beneficial insects because mixed planting is crucial to the scheme. allows the soil to thrive because it is covered with plants all year round. Creating a Forest Garden includes a detailed directory of over 500 trees, shrubs, herbaceous perennials, annuals, root crops and climbers. As well as more familiar plants such as fig and apple trees, blackcurrants and rosemary shrubs, you can grow your own chokeberries, goji berries, yams, heartnuts, bamboo shoots and buffalo currants. Forest gardens produce fruits, nuts, vegetables, seeds, salads, herbs, spices, firewood, mushrooms, medicinal herbs, dye plants, soap plants, and honey from bees. This book tells you everything you need to create your own forest garden with beautiful illustrations and helpful tips throughout.
Call Number: SB454.3.E35 C73 2022 ME
Publication Date: 2022-05-01
Lives of Weeds : opportunism, resistance, folly by John CardinaLives of Weeds explores the tangled history of weeds and their relationship to humans. Through eight interwoven stories, John Cardina offers a fresh perspective on how these tenacious plants came about, why they are both inevitable and essential, and how their ecological success is ensured by determined efforts to eradicate them. Linking botany, history, ecology, and evolutionary biology to the social dimensions of humanity's ancient struggle with feral flora, Cardina shows how weeds have shaped?and are shaped by?the way we live in the natural world. Weeds and attempts to control them drove nomads toward settled communities, encouraged social stratification, caused environmental disruptions, and have motivated the development of GMO crops. They have snared us in social inequality and economic instability, infested social norms of suburbia, caused rage in the American heartland, and played a part in perpetuating pesticide use worldwide. Lives of Weeds reveals how the technologies directed against weeds underlie ethical questions about agriculture and the environment, and leaves readers with a deeper understanding of how the weeds around us are entangled in our daily choices.
Call Number: SB611 .C37 2021 ME
Publication Date: 2021-09-15
The Other Family Doctor : a veterinarian explores what animals can teach us about love, life, and mortality by Karen FineNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Calling all animal lovers! A heartwarming memoir about one woman's career as a vet and the unique role pets play in our lives "Filled with compassion and wisdom, Karen Fine is a healer whose own wounds have deepened her gifts for bringing animals and their people comfort and peace."--Sy Montgomery, bestselling author of The Soul of an Octopus A tribute to our furry, feathery, scaley, and wet family members, All Creatures Great and Small meets Being Mortal in this compelling memoir of one woman's dream to become a veterinarian. Karen Fine always knew that she wanted to be a vet and wasn't going to let anything stop her: not her allergy to cats, and not the fact that in the '80s veterinary medicine was still a mostly male profession. Inspired by her grandfather, a compassionate doctor who paid house calls to all his (human) patients, Dr. Fine persevered, and brought her Oupa's principles into her own practice, which emphasizes the need to understand her patients' stories to provide the best possible care. And in The Other Family Doctor, Dr. Fine shares all these touching, joyful, heartbreaking, and life-affirming tales that make up her career as a vet. There's: * The feral cat who becomes a creature out of a fable when he puts his trust in a young vet to heal his injured paw * The pot-bellied pig who grows too big to fit in the car but remains a cherished part of her family * The surprising colony of perfectly behaved ferrets * The beloved aging pet who gives her people the gift of accompanying them on one final family vacation * The dog who saves his owner's life in a most unexpected way Woven into Dr. Fine's story are, of course, also the stories of her own pets: the birds, cats, and dogs who have taught her the most valuable lessons--how caring for the animals in our lives can teach us to better care for ourselves, especially when life seems precarious.