New Titles @ EFSC

Ayurveda : How to Cleanse and Rejuvinate Your Body Through (A Guide to Homeopathic & Herbal Ayurvedic Remedies) by Crosby, Michael Ayurveda gets its name from the Sanskrit words "Ayu" and "Veda" which mean age and knowledge respectively. Hence, Ayurveda is the knowledge of a human body at every stage of his existential journey. It is not just an ancient science, but a way of life. It highlights the simple fact that We are from the nature and the nature is from us. For a long time, the word Ayurveda has raised questions in the mind of people regarding its authenticity and manner of practice. Here is a preview of what you'll learn... An introduction to ayurvedic medicine Determining your dosha body type and how it affects health Phases of a panchakarma treatment The process of diagnosing and prescribing treatment in an authentic ayurvedic center Detailed description of each of the five treatments, including health benefits Much, much more! Let's see how Ayurveda cures all your diseases. A healthy person is characterized first of all by his outer appearance. skin and physique. A glowing healthy face attracts all people. It is not god's gift, but you must nurture it with your inner health. In this book we will see what care should be taken for glowing skin.

Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants by Kathy Bonewit-West Master the foundational concepts and skills necessary to become a successful clinical medical assistant! Written using clear and accessible language, Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants, 11th Edition, guides you through essential medical assisting clinical procedures such as taking vital signs; collecting, processing, and testing laboratory specimens; preparing patients for examinations and procedures; administering medications; and assisting with office surgeries. This edition is thoroughly updated throughout to align with 2022 medical assisting competencies and includes a new art program, plus updated coverage of the medical record, nutritional guidelines, OSHA standards for infection control and prevention, emergency preparedness, and the latest medical assisting clinical guidelines. More than 90 procedures help you learn key medical assisting skills, with step-by-step instructions and clear illustrations. Learning features throughout focus on case-based critical thinking, patient education, legal issues, practice tips, and documentation exercises, and a full complement of online resources provides practice for classroom and board exams, EHR documentation exercises, video procedures with evaluation questions, and a variety of interactive exercises to reinforce comprehension and content mastery. This thorough text ensures you have the clinical skills needed to succeed in today's fast-paced medical office. Consistent, meticulous coverage ensures alignment of all content throughout the text, on the Evolve companion website, and in the study guide. More than 90 illustrated procedures offer step-by-step guidance with many featuring accompanying online videos. Learning features focus on case-based critical thinking, patient education, legal issues, practice tips, and documentation examples. Student resources on Evolve include video procedures with evaluation quizzes, case-based quizzes, SimChart® for the Medical Office documentation exercises, sample certification exams, practicum activities, and interactive activities. NEW! 2022 medical assisting competencies throughout represent the latest educational standards approved by CAAHEP and ABHES. NEW! Updated content and skills address electronic prescribing of medications, computer-generated laboratory results and reports, nutritional guidelines, OSHA standards for infection control and prevention, emergency preparedness, and the latest clinical guidelines. NEW! Art program features more than 200 new illustrations for procedures, equipment, and supplies used in the modern medical office.

Medical Assisting : administrative and clinical procedures with anatomy and physiology by Kathryn A. Booth; Leesa Whicker; Terri D. Wyman Medical Assisting: Administrative and Clinical Procedures with Anatomy and Physiology is a leading resource used to educate Medical Assisting students on the key concepts and skills required to be safe and compliant clinicians in the ever-changing healthcare environment. Aligned to the latest industry standards, CAAHEP, ABHES, AAMA, AMT, NHA, NAHP, NCCT, AAMA, AMT, and NHA.

Toxic, 2nd Edition : Heal Your Body from Mold Toxicity, Lyme Disease, Multiple Chemical Sensitivities, and Chronic Environmental Illness by Neil Nathan Millions of people are suffering from chronic illnesses that, unbeknownst to them, are the result of exposure to environmental toxins and infectious agents such as mold and Borrelia, which causes Lyme disease. Millions. Because the symptoms of these illnesses are so varied and unusual, many of these individuals have sought medical care only to be dismissed, as if what they are experiencing is 'in their head.' Many (if not most) have tried to tough it out and continue to function without hope of improvement. Unfortunately, their illnesses are very real. The new edition of Toxic offers renewed hope for patients, their loved ones, and the physicians who care for them. Dr. Neil Nathan delves deeper into the harmful impact of chronic inflammation in driving disease and presents the latest information that can help both doctors and patients achieve faster and more complete healing. He has also expanded the chapter on mold toxicity, as it is increasingly recognized as a leading cause of complex illnesses. Drawing on decades of experience helping thousands of patients regain their health, even when other doctors had lost hope, Dr. Nathan continues to refine his understanding of the common causes of debilitating illnesses, leading to more precise and effective treatments. This updated edition sheds even more light on these complex conditions, offering patients and their families the crucial support they need.

Generative Artificial Intelligence for Biomedical and Smart Health Informatics by Aditya Khamparia (Editor); Deepak Gupta (Editor) Enables readers to understand the future of medical applications with generative AI and related applications Generative Artificial Intelligence for Biomedical and Smart Health Informatics delivers a comprehensive overview of the most recent generative AI-driven medical applications based on deep learning and machine learning in which biomedical data is gathered, processed, and analyzed using data augmentation techniques. This book covers many applications of generative models for medical image data, including volumetric medical image segmentation, data augmentation, MRI reconstruction, and modeling of spatiotemporal medical data. The book explores findings obtained by explainable AI techniques, with coverage of various techniques rarely reported in literature. Throughout, feedback and user experiences from physicians and medical staff, as well as use cases, are included to provide important context. The book discusses topics including privacy and security challenges in AI-enabled health informatics, biosensor-guided AI interventions in personalized medicine, regulatory frameworks and guidelines for AI-based medical devices, education and training for building responsible AI solutions in healthcare, and challenges and opportunities in integrating generative AI with wearable devices. Topics covered include: Treatment of neurological disorders using intelligent techniques and image-guided and tomography interventions for neuromuscular disorders Bio-inspired smart healthcare service frameworks with AI, machine learning, and deep learning, integration of IoT devices, and edge computing in industrial and clinical systems Traffic management and optimization in distributed environments, patient data management, disease surveillance and prediction, and telemedicine and remote monitoring Education-driven, peer-to-peer, and service-oriented architectures and transparency and accountability in medical decision-making Generative Artificial Intelligence for Biomedical and Smart Health Informatics is an essential reference for computer science researchers, medical professionals, healthcare informatics, and medical imaging researchers interested in understanding the potential of artificial intelligence and other related technologies in healthcare.

Healthcare Information Systems: Progress, Challenges and Future Directions by Jingsong Li; Yu Tian; Tianshu Zhou This book comprehensively and systematically introduces the latest research progress, challenges, and future directions of various healthcare information systems. Starting from the formation, development, and typical research achievements of medical informatics, the book provides a detailed overview of the more mature healthcare information systems, including electronic medical record systems, laboratory information systems, picture archiving and communication systems, clinical decision support systems, Internet of medical things systems, telemedicine systems and mobile health systems, etc. Additionally, it delves into the rapid evolution of the Internet hospital, proactive health systems, and intelligent systems for medical and elderly-care combination in the era of big data, focusing on the fundamentals of big data technology and the transformation of medical informatization. This book can serve as a reference for researchers or engineers with a certain professional background engaged in cutting-edge research related to medical and health information systems, as well as a teaching reference for graduate or undergraduate students in related fields.

Generative Artificial Intelligence and Ethics for Healthcare by Loveleen Gaur; Ajith Abraham Generative Artificial Intelligence and Ethics for Healthcare conducts a deep dive into the potential issues and challenges associated with Generative AI applications. The book begins with foundational concepts of generative AI and then explores ethical theories, including specific case studies in healthcare, and concludes with discussions on policy and future implications. Written for healthcare professionals, policymakers, academics and AI developers, by authors who have a thorough understanding of AI and machine learning in the healthcare.- Establishes a basic understanding of the concept of Generative AI, along with various ethical challenges- Focuses on specific issues such as Data Privacy, Patient Data Ownership, Trust, Accountability, and Informed Consent- Explores the latest concepts of Health Equity, Lawfulness, and Empathy in relation to Generative AI and the role of governability

Physical Health, Mental Health, and Human Well-Being in the Age of AI by Kittisak Wongmahesak (Editor); Roy Rillera Marzo (Editor) Amidst the complexities of modern life, the importance of human well-being in its various dimensions is a continual priority. As artificial intelligence (AI) becomes a key influence in nearly every facet of modern life, it raises essential questions about the current and future state of human health and well-being. While AI has the potential to revolutionize healthcare, enhance mental health support, and improve overall quality of life, it also presents challenges regarding privacy, ethical considerations, and the impact of automation on human relationships and mental health. Navigating these opportunities and concerns requires a balanced approach to ensure that technological advancements align with the holistic needs of individuals and communities. Physical Health, Mental Health, and Human Well-Being in the Age of AI explores the evolving landscape of health in a technology-driven world. Beyond healthcare, the book also examines the broader implications of AI on social well-being, environmental health, and the future of work and education. Through expert insights and empirical research from around the globe, this book provides invaluable knowledge for researchers and practitioners alike, and appeals to readers from a broad spectrum of disciplines.

Internet Cures : The Social Lives of Digital Miracles by Dang Nguyen In health care, we come across daily promises of miraculous cures for various ailments. However, in the digital era, the dynamics of experiencing and practicing these remedies have changed. This book explores the intersection of miracle cures and technology, showcasing their transformation into hybrid forms, such as handwritten recipes captured in photos or tutorials streamed through videos. Combining computational social media data with ethnographic insights from Vietnam and the US, the book captures the interconnected lives of these cures in the digital realm with a unique methodology. Unravelling the intricate connections between social, technological, biomedical and non-biomedical spheres, this is a significant contribution to how social scientists study online media.

Clinical Laboratory Management by Lynne Shore Garcia (Editor-In-Chief); Timothy C. Allen (Editor); Vickie S. Baselski (Editor); Deirdre L. Church (Editor); Donald S. Karcher (Editor); Michael R. Lewis (Editor); Andrea J. Linscott (Editor); Melinda D. Poulter (Editor); Gary W. Procop (Editor); Alice S. Weissfeld (Editor); Donna M. Wolk (Editor) Clinical Laboratory Management Apply the principles of management in a clinical setting with this vital guide Clinical Laboratory Management, Third Edition, edited by an esteemed team of professionals under the guidance of editor-in-chief Lynne S. Garcia, is a comprehensive and essential reference for managing the complexities of the modern clinical laboratory. This newly updated and reorganized edition addresses the fast-changing landscape of laboratory management, presenting both foundational insights and innovative strategies. Topics covered include: an introduction to the basics of clinical laboratory management, the regulatory landscape, and evolving practices in the modern healthcare environment the essence of managerial leadership, with insights into employee needs and motivation, effective communication, and personnel management, including the lack of qualified position applicants, burnout, and more financial management, budgeting, and strategic planning, including outreach up-to-date resources for laboratory coding, reimbursement, and compliance, reflecting current requirements, standards, and challenges benchmarking methods to define and measure success the importance of test utilization and clinical relevance future trends in pathology and laboratory science, including developments in test systems, human resources and workforce development, and future directions in laboratory instrumentation and information technology an entirely new section devoted to pandemic planning, collaboration, and response, lessons learned from COVID-19, and a look towards the future of laboratory preparedness This indispensable edition of Clinical Laboratory Management not only meets the needs of today's clinical laboratories but anticipates the future, making it a must-have resource for laboratory professionals, managers, and students. Get your copy today, and equip yourself with the tools, strategies, and insights to excel in the complex and ever-changing world of the clinical laboratory.

Good Intentions in Global Health : medical missions, emotion, and health care across borders by Nicole S. Berry Explores informal global health action and the importance of intentions of those who volunteer In the past two decades, medical missions have gained popularity among medical professionals, who view these excursions as important ethical interventions. Indeed, the notion of giving back by volunteering in rural or impoverished communities is celebrated as an ideal act of selflessness, one whose effects are unquestionably beneficial to those being served. Good Intentions in Global Health is a groundbreaking exploration of the growing realm of informal global health engagement, shedding light on the intricate interplay between intentions, emotions, and ethical considerations. Drawing on fieldwork in Guatemala, Nicole S. Berry investigates those who volunteer for short-term medical missions, revealing how the intent to do good shapes their everyday understandings of their own actions taken in the global health domain. Berry uncovers how the glorification of medical missions can obscure problems that stem from North American clinicians doctoring in places where they typically do not understand the context. The short-term nature of missions also means that volunteers are not privy to the long-term effects of their actions--the potential harms that may arise from a lack of sustained follow-up care or the utter absence of documentation that they were even there. By relying on gut instincts to reassure themselves that they are doing good, volunteers often bypass a comprehensive assessment of the ethical dimensions underlying their global health work. Good Intentions in Global Health shows why desires and emotions are increasingly important to contemporary global health. She makes the case that we must pay attention to volunteers' perceptions of their work, however wrongheaded or naïve, in order to truly influence global health on the ground.

Statistics for Clinicians by Andrew Owen This book provides clinical medicine readers with a detailed explanation of statistical concepts using non-technical terms. This allows clinicians and others without specialist statistical knowledge to understand the medical literature where such concepts are used. Many examples from the medical literature are used to exemplify how these concepts are used in practice.  Current books written for clinicians fall into two broad categories. Simple texts that are not designed to cover many important statistical concepts used in the medical literature. Comprehensive texts which cover many statistical principles in detail, including statistical theory, but which are more challenging to read and do not always cover many important statistical techniques used in the medical literature. This book assists in the understanding of these techniques. Statistics for Clinicians covers such topics in a robust non-technical manner accessible to clinicians and is intended for hospital consultants, junior doctors and general practitioners. Undergraduates in biomedical sciences and medicine may also find some sections valuable.

Health Policy Issues: an Economic Perspective, Eighth Edition by Paul J. Feldstein; Glenn Melnick Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective uses concise, topical chapters to provide a comprehensive overview of the forces influencing healthcare financing and delivery. Concerns over health equity and the rise in healthcare costs are just a few of the timely and vital issues that are discussed through the lens of economics. Each chapter includes a clear explanation of the topic, diagrams, and charts to aid comprehension, and a summary and discussion questions at the end. This eighth edition has been revised to reflect the most recent research and data, as well as changes in laws and government policies. A new chapter compares the US health system to those of five European countries. New and updated content includes coverage of: * Current Medicare proposals * COVID's effect on medical services delivery * Medicaid effectiveness * Strategies for addressing the physician shortage * Affordable Care Act updates Health Policy Issues shows how the economic approach to healthcare policy is important not only for understanding the structural and dynamic forces pressing for change in healthcare but also for explaining why the health system has evolved to its current state.

Critical Conversations in Healthcare, Third Edition : scripts & techniques for effective Interprofessional & patient communication by Cheri Clancy Have you ever wished for help finding the right words when you are midway through another difficult conversation with a colleague, manager, or patient? The third edition of Critical Conversations in Healthcare feature do's and don'ts, reflective questions, and practical tools to help you improve your on-the-job interactions. Whether you are new to the bedside or CEO of a major healthcare facility, this fully revised third edition will show you how to:* Communicate mindfully* Interpret body language* Deal with gossip and harassment* Address workloads and management styles* Overcome conversation traps* Improve the patient experience* Work with frustrated families, angry physicians, and uncooperative colleagues

The Environmental Impact of COVID-19 by Deepak Rawtani (Editor); Chaudhery Mustansar Hussain (Editor) THE ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT OF COVID-19 Discover the wider environmental effects of the COVID-19 pandemic with this up to date resource from leading voices in the field The Environmental Impact of COVID-19 delivers an insightful analysis of various environmental aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic that have caused global concern. The book discusses the transmission of COVID-19 in the environment, the pandemic's environmental impact, risk mitigation and management, management of COVID-related waste, and the environmental implications of the virus. It also considers the socio-economic implications of COVID-19's spread, including the effects of international lockdowns on different strata of society and various industries, including the biomedical industry, the environmental industry, and the pharmaceutical industry. An entire section of the text is devoted to a discussion about the waste generated due to COVID-19 and the effect of that waste on different environmental bodies. Another is dedicated to the impact of COVID-19 on the environment in the short- and long-term, including its effect on climate and climate change. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: A thorough introduction to the transmission of COVID-19 in the environment, including its viability in different environmental media and the effect of environmental factors in its transmission An evaluation and analysis of COVID-19, including traditional analytical techniques and sampling for COVID-19 and modern sensor-based techniques for identification An exploration of the socio-economic implications of COVID-19, including its effect on a variety of industries A treatment of the environmental impact of COVID-19 in the context of risk mitigation and management Perfect for academics and industry professionals whose work requires them to understand the wider environmental implications of the SARS-Cov-2 pandemic, The Environmental Impact of COVID-19 will also earn a place in the libraries of private sector professionals working on products and services that aim to reduce the environmental impact of the coronavirus.

Friis' Epidemiology 101 by Scott Quinlan In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, the MPox epidemic, recent outbreaks of Ebola, and a growing focus on the role of social determinants in health disparities, and more, there is increasing motivation and need to learn about epidemiology.Friis' Epidemiology 101, Third Edition is a clear and accessible resource designed to provide students with a solid foundation in basic epidemiologic concepts while also demonstrating how these concepts can be applied to problems in everyday life. In keeping with the prior editions, this non-technical text is written for students with little or no background in health and biostatistics, and offers numerous case studies, text boxes, vignettes, exhibits, photographs, figures, and illustrations to engage readers. Updated throughout with new data and examples.Coverage of the COVID-19 pandemic, mPox, the drug overdose epidemic, and an enhanced understanding of the social determinants of health.Additional discussion of epidemiology applications including chronic disease epidemiology and epidemiology of aging.A streamlined and reorganized introduction to study designs. Practice problems at the end of each chapter give students the opportunity to apply the skills that they're learning. Undergraduate courses in Epidemiology © 2025 | 360 pages

Statistical Approaches for Epidemiology : from concept to application by Amal K. Mitra (Editor) This textbook provides the basic concepts of epidemiology while preparing readers with the skills of applying statistical tools in real-life situations.  Students, in general, struggle with statistical theories and their practical applications. This book makes statistical concepts easy to understand by focusing on real-life examples, case studies, and exercises. It also provides step-by-step guides for data analysis and interpretation using standard statistical software such as SPSS, SAS, R, Python, and GIS as appropriate, illustrating the concepts. Through the book's 23 chapters, readers primarily learn how to apply statistical methods in epidemiological studies and problem-solving. Among the topics covered: Clinical Trials Epidemic Investigation and Control Geospatial Applications in Epidemiology Survival Analysis and Applications Using SAS and SPSS Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis: Evidence-based Decision-Making in Public Health Missing Data Imputation: A Practical Guide  Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Multivariate Linear Regression and Logistics Regression Analysis Using SAS Each chapter is written by eminent scientists and experts worldwide, including contributors from institutions in the United States, Canada, Bangladesh, India, Hong Kong, Malaysia, and the Middle East.  Statistical Approaches for Epidemiology: From Concept to Application is an all-in-one book that serves as an essential text for graduate students, faculty, instructors, and researchers in public health and other branches of health sciences, as well as a useful resource for health researchers in industry, public health and health department professionals, health practitioners, and health research organizations and non-governmental organizations. The book also will be helpful for graduate students and faculty in related disciplines such as data science, nursing, social work, environmental health, occupational health, computer science, statistics, and biology. 

Your Daily Reset : 366 Practical Exercises to Reduce Anxiety and Manage Stress Using Cognitive Behavioral Therapy by Seth J. Gillihan Reflect, rebalance, and recharge with this essential guide for finding peace and calm when life feels like too much, with practices for every day of the year It can be easy to find yourself in negative spirals of thought and emotions. Feeling stressed or overwhelmed with life's challenges, from work to family to relationships, can put anyone in a bad headspace. For everyday worries, peak-anxiety moments, and everything in between, you need the right tools to help you break free from unhelpful patterns. In Your Daily Reset, you will learn to reverse and rewire your negative thinking patterns with a new exercise every day based in the principles of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy. Designed to be picked up at any time of the year and with room to write and assess your progress, this book offers daily guidance to help you through tough moments and set you up for success. Prepare for a happier, healthier year with this easy-to-use guide that will become a daily companion you can rely on.

Change in Emotion and Mental Health by Andrea C. Samson (Editor); David Sander (Editor); Ueli Kramer (Editor) This book summarizes how awareness of one's emotions, emotion regulation, emotion appraisal, emotionally laden memories, and emotional competencies influence mental health. Each component is discussed with regard to mechanisms, development, and their impact on psychotherapy. The first part of the book discusses theories linking emotional processes, psychopathology, and mental health. The second part of the book discusses the developmental pathways of change in emotional processes over the lifespan. The third part of the book discusses pathways of change in emotional processes during psychotherapy and includes different forms of treatment of psychological disorders.- Reviews how emotion affects mental health and vice versa- Identifies how emotional processing changes during psychotherapy- Examines emotion awareness and understanding, appraisal and reappraisal, regulation, memories, and emotion competencies and transformation- Includes theory and research

Forensic Psychology : the Basics by Sandie Taylor This third edition of Forensic Psychology: The Basics continues to provide an accessible overview of the core topics and theories in this fascinating discipline.

Phlebotomy Essentials by Ruth E. McCall Phlebotomy Essentials, Eighth Edition provides accurate, up-to-date, and practical information and instruction in phlebotomy procedures and techniques, along with a comprehensive background in phlebotomy theory and principles. It is appropriate for use as an instructional text or as a reference for those who wish to update skills or study for national certification. This updated edition details how today's phlebotomists work in an approach optimized for how today's students learn. Combined with an optional Workbook, Exam Review book, and updated digital courseware, the latest edition of Phlebotomy Essentials represents a cornerstone of preparation for a successful career in phlebotomy. Complete program-integration of textbook, workbook and exam review products working together as a complete learning system for optimal student outcomes:Phlebotomy Essentials, Eighth Edition with Navigate Premier AccessStudent Workbook for Phlebotomy Essentials, Eighth EditionPhlebotomy Exam Review, Eighth Edition with Navigate Premier Access Phlebotomy EssentialsUpdated to current CLSI guidelinesTestPrep alerts throughout the textbook share current statistics on which questions students typically get wrong, and why.Map of NAACLS Standards - where each competency is coveredCertification Test Plan Alignment Map, including:American Medical Technologists (AMT) - Registered Phlebotomy TechnicianAmerican Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP) - Phlebotomy TechnicianNational Healthcareer Association (NHA) - Certified Phlebotomy TechnicianNational Center for Competency Testing (NCCT) - National Certified Phlebotomy Technician © 2024 | 516 pages

Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by Stanley F. Malamed Be prepared to prevent, recognize, and manage life-threatening medical emergencies! Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 8th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage health issues in the dental office or clinic. The text describes how to recognize and manage medical emergencies promptly and proactively and details the resources that must be on hand to effectively deal with these situations. Written by noted dentistry educator Dr. Stanley Malamed, this expert text includes the latest guidelines for drug-related emergencies, cardiac arrest, and more. An enhanced eBook is included with each new print purchase, featuring a complete, fully searchable version of the text, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and much more - available on a variety of devices. Logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, allergic reactions, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, sequential instructions for stabilizing and treating patients (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques with realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. An enhanced eBook version is included with each new print purchase, featuring a fully searchable version of the text, an image collection, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and more! UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's algorithm for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym (PCABD): Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.

You Are More Than Your Body : 30+ Evidence-Based Strategies for Living Well with Chronic Illness--By a Clinical Therapist Living with Cerebral Palsy by Jennifer Caspari A gentle, supportive guide to developing coping skills and improving quality of life for disabled and chronically ill people Managing the stresses of everyday life can be exhausting and overwhelming. Dr. Jennifer Caspari knows this struggle well--both through her work as a clinical psychologist and her lived experience as a disabled woman with cerebral palsy. You Are More Than Your Body weaves together clinical expertise, personal stories, and practical, evidence-based tools to help readers with chronic health conditions better cope with pain, fatigue, depression, and the emotional vulnerability that comes with living in a world not designed for our bodies.  The methods in this book synthesize a wide range of emotional regulation skills and coping techniques drawn from cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), and mindfulness practices, all of which Dr. Caspari has successfully used with her own clients. In this book, you'll learn over thirty practical coping skills to help you: tune into internal experience and connect with your body;  shift mental focus; cultivate self-compassion and radical acceptance;  change your relationship with your thoughts;  engage the power of the present to get unstuck;  practice realistic goal-setting; tap into your deepest values as a resource; tolerate discomfort; and give yourselves permission to do things differently. Each chapter includes a personal story or experience; a self-reflection exercise; associated coping skills; and practical guidance on how you can start using these tools in your own life.  Having a disability or chronic illness does not have to mean accepting a lower quality of life. While we can't make our issues and challenges disappear, by practicing the exercises in this book, we can learn to better manage challenges that arise and learn how we can live a meaningful life now--whatever our bodies and abilities might be.

Everything Is Tuberculosis : The history and persistence of our deadliest infection by John Green Instant #1 New York Times bestseller! * #1 Washington Post bestseller! * #1 Indie Bestseller! * USA Today Bestseller! John Green, acclaimed author and passionate advocate for global healthcare reform, tells a deeply human story illuminating the fight against the world's deadliest infectious disease. Signed edition "The real magic of Green's writing is the deeply considerate, human touch that goes into every word." -The Associated Press ″Told with the intelligence, wit, and tragedy that have become hallmarks of the author's work.... This is the story of us." -Slate "Earnest and empathetic." -The New York Times Tuberculosis has been entwined with hu­manity for millennia. Once romanticized as a malady of poets, today tuberculosis is seen as a disease of poverty that walks the trails of injustice and inequity we blazed for it. In 2019, author John Green met Henry Reider, a young tuberculosis patient at Lakka Government Hospital in Sierra Leone. John be­came fast friends with Henry, a boy with spindly legs and a big, goofy smile. In the years since that first visit to Lakka, Green has become a vocal advocate for increased access to treatment and wider awareness of the healthcare inequi­ties that allow this curable, preventable infec­tious disease to also be the deadliest, killing over a million people every year. In Everything Is Tuberculosis, John tells Henry's story, woven through with the scientific and social histories of how tuberculosis has shaped our world--and how our choices will shape the future of tuberculosis.

The Devil's Castle : Nazi Eugenics, Euthanasia, and How Psychiatry's Troubled History Reverberates Today by Susanne Paola Antonetta The Devil's Castle delves into the forgotten history of eugenics and links it to present-day psychiatry to explain how we as a culture continue to get mind care so wrong In The Devil's Castle, Susanne Paola Antonetta weaves a haunting narrative that confronts the darkest chapters of psychiatric history while offering a bold vision for the future of mental health care. In 1939, the eugenics movement growing throughout the West did its worst in Nazi Germany. Through the Aktion T4 euthanasia program, five asylums and an abandoned jail were transformed into gas chambers. Tens of thousands of lives--predominantly adults with neuropsychiatric conditions--were extinguished in those structures, ultimately paving the way for the horrors of the Holocaust. Interlacing her experiences of psychosis with the complex history of psychiatry, Antonetta sheds light on the intersections of madness and societal perceptions of mental difference. She brings to life the stories of Paul Schreber and Dorothea Buck, two historical figures who act as models for mind care and acceptance. This gripping exploration traverses the spectrum of neurodiversity, from the devastating consequences of dehumanization to the transformative potential of understanding and acceptance. With The Devil's Castle, Antonetta not only unearths the failures of our past, but also envisions a more compassionate, enlightened approach to consciousness and mental health care. This is a story of tragedy, resilience, and hope--a rallying cry for change that dares to challenge the limits of how we define and support the human mind.

Invisible ADHD : proven mood and life management for smart yet scattered women by Shanna Pearson; Daniel G. Amen (Introduction by) INSTANT USA TODAY BESTSELLER * NATIONAL BESTSELLER "If you're ready to understand the 'why' behind the struggles that come with ADHD and, more importantly, the 'how' to move forward with confidence, this book is for you, and I encourage you to take this opportunity to learn from one of the best." -- Dr. Daniel Amen An essential and empowering guide for women who struggle--often silently and alone--with the challenges of ADHD. ADHD in women is often misunderstood, misdiagnosed, or entirely overlooked, leaving millions silently fighting an internal, invisible battle. Outwardly, they can be labeled flaky, intense, dramatic, or unreliable, while inwardly they're juggling severe overwhelm, emotional chaos, chronic stress, catastrophic thinking, and the unshakable feeling of being misunderstood--by everyone. In Invisible ADHD, Shanna Pearson--founder and director of the world's largest one-on-one ADHD coaching company, shares what actually works for women in real life. Drawing on insights from hundreds of thousands of coaching sessions, and her own turbulent ADHD journey, Shanna reveals the never-before-published strategies and solutions that have transformed thousands of lives for over two decades! This eye-opening book uncovers the lesser-known causes behind our most difficult ADHD behaviors and shows us how to do things more easily in ways that work with our remarkable brain. With compelling client stories, relatable language, and over one hundred proven tools, Invisible ADHD tackles the many challenges women face while providing a clear, inspirational, easy-to-follow roadmap to get unstuck, finally trust yourself, and improve every area of your life! For every woman who feels overwhelmed, scattered, or unseen--and for those who love and support them--Invisible ADHD is a game-changing must-read.

The Inherited Mind : a story of family, hope, and the genetics of mental illness by James Longman James Longman was a preteen in boarding school when his dad, who was diagnosed with depression and schizophrenia, died by suicide. As he got older, James's own bouts of depression spurred him to examine how his father's mental health might have affected his own. He engaged with experts to uncover the science behind what is inherited, how much environmental factors can impact genetic traits, and how one can overcome a familial history of mental illness and trauma. In The Inherited Mind, James Longman invites readers to reflect on their own stories as he shares his quest to better understand himself and his family. Through speaking to mental health experts, to those who have had similar familial experiences, and about his own life stories, James shows us, with heart and humor, how much our bodies can empower and inform us about our own personal mental health histories.

Crossing zero : the art and science of coming off -- and staying off - psychiatric drugs : withdrawal, tapering, and alternatives by Sørensen, Anders, 1966-; Russell, Rebecca.; Scurry, James.; Johnsson, Erika. "Many people discover that after prolonged use of psychiatric drugs, when they try to stop, their bodies simply won't allow them. Withdrawal symptoms can be intense and confusing, often mistaken for a relapse or take as proof that they still need the medication. What's a relapse? What's withdrawal? What's you -- and what's the drug? And maybe most importantly, how do you manage life without meds? This book offers a clear, compassionate road map in three parts: Part One - Drugs and Diagnoses explores how psychiatric drugs work (and don't work), and introduces a trauma-informed, psychosocial approach to understanding mental health problems and emotional distress -- beyond diagnostic labels. Part Two - The Slow Taper gives you step-by-step methods for a careful, gradual taper to ease withdrawal symptoms from psychiatric drugs, including antidepressants, antipsychotics, benzodiazepines, stimulants, and mood stabilizers ... Part Three - Life Beyond Medication offers practical alternatives to psychiatric drugs, with psychological techniques and exercises to help you navigate emotional pain, overcome trauma reactions, and break free from patterns of overthinking like worry, rumination, and self-criticism." -- Back cover.

Systems Theory and Family Therapy : A Primer by Raphael J. Becvar; Dorothy Stroh Becvar; Lynne V. Reif; Sally St. George (Foreword by); Dan Wulff (Foreword by) A concise, readable introduction to systems theory (and especially second-order cybernetics) with practical applications to family therapy. Systems Theory and Family Therapy: A Primer, Fourth Edition, provides a thorough yet concise explication of systems theory (cybernetics), which is the primary paradigm for the practice of systemic individual, marital, and family therapy. This book provides an overview of the essential concepts of a systems theoretical perspective using families and family therapy in context as examples and illustrations of their application in professional practice. Readers are invited to see themselves as parts of the systems with which they are working, consistent with a second-order cybernetics perspective. This book concludes with more than one hundred examples of how the meta-perspective of systems theory can be used in work with families.

The Science of Family Systems Theory : Foundations for Effective Clinical Practice by Jacob B. Priest This fully updated, accessible text examines how the science of autonomy and adaptation informs all family therapy approaches and discusses how clinicians can use this science to improve their practice. Focusing on how to integrate science as well as theory into clinical practice, the book provides an overview of science from multiple domains and ties it to family systems theory through the key framework of autonomy and adaptation. Drawing on research from genetics, physiology, emotion regulation, attachment, and triangulation, chapters demonstrate how a comprehensive science-informed theory of family systems can be applied to a range of problematic family patterns. The text also explores self-of-the-therapist work and considers how autonomy and attachment are connected to systems of power, privilege, and oppression. New to this edition are two chapters on common presenting problems in family therapy and how they can be understood through a family systems lens, as well as discussion questions and added online instructor materials. Supported throughout by practical case examples, as well as questions for consideration, chapter summaries, and resource lists to further engage the reader, The Science of Family Systems Theory is an essential textbook for marriage and family therapy students as well as mental health professionals working with families.

Discourse of Online Social Support by Jesse W. C. Yip This book sheds light on the communication of social support, language use, and therapeutic effects in the context of online self-help groups for anxiety and depression. The book has two major purposes: the first is to enhance understanding of the phatic communication through a discourse-pragmatic perspective; and the second is to demonstrate the use of discourse analysis to discuss the potential therapeutic effects of the online self-help groups. Key concepts, including genre study, speech act theory, relational work and discourse analysis, are revisited and elucidated to show their applicability in health communication research. This book focuses on the topics of communication patterns, the communicative acts of self-disclosure and advice-giving, and relevant social theories in the communication of social support. This book is a useful reference guide for both undergraduate and postgraduate students who are interested in discourse analysis, pragmatics and health communication. It is also a valuable resource that catches attention of researchers who conduct interdisciplinary research pertaining to communication, clinical linguistics and social work.

10 Minutes to Boost Your Mood : a step-by-step guide for teens using CBT and mindfulness by Lee David; Debbie Brewin; Rebecca Price (Illustrator) What can you really do in 10 minutes? You could call a friend, read the news, eat a bowl of cereal, or doomscroll on social media - and now, with this book, you can improve your mental health. No matter how busy or stressful your day, with 10-minute steps and quick exercises, you can better understand and manage your experiences with depression and low mood. This book includes sections to read, questions to reflect on and things to try out in your everyday life. It covers everything from recognising low mood, dealing with risky thoughts of harm or suicide, working on healthy lifestyle factors like sleep and physical activity, and how to get yourself into the 'zone' where you feel focused and engaged with important and fun activities. Using evidence-based therapies such as CBT and ACT, this book will help you take a problem-solving approach to negative thoughts and feelings, identify activities that bring you joy, treat yourself kindly, and get the best out of life (and not get stuck in the Doom Swamp).

Designing Therapeutic Environments : social and cultural practice for health and well-being by Bruno Marques (Editor); Jacqueline McIntosh (Editor) This book draws on the relationship between culture and the environment and its connection with health and well-being. Therapeutic environments are settings that comprise the physical, ecological, psychological, spiritual and social environments associated with treatment and healing. Throughout the chapters, the understanding of therapeutic environments is broadened through the exploration of specific Indigenous cultural and social dimensions. Case studies comprise a combination of research papers regarding the theoretical and conceptual underpinnings of therapeutic environments and their application following traditional methods. This book contributes to the expanding body of knowledge focusing on the role of therapeutic environments and their role in shaping health and well-being through the development of new research methods. This book is essential for practitioners, scholars and students in architecture, landscape architecture, interior architecture, urban design, planning, geography, building science, public health and environmental engineering.

The Ageless Brain : how to sharpen and protect your mind for a lifetime by Dale E. Bredesen New York Times Bestseller! From the bestselling author of The End of Alzheimer's, Dr. Dale Bredesen, comes a revolutionary new approach to preventing the onset of neurodegenerative disease and creating sustained brain health. In recent decades, advances in medicine have changed the way we think about our health. Chronic diseases like obesity, heart disease, and diabetes can be prevented or reversed. Cancer treatment has become targeted and personalized. Gene editing will allow us to eradicate many inherited disorders. But there is one class of conditions that continues to elude researchers and cause tremendous suffering: neurodegenerative disease. More than six million Americans live with Alzheimer's disease; by 2050, this number is projected to reach thirteen million. An additional one in ten people over the age of sixty-five have dementia, while 22 percent of older adults live with some form of cognitive impairment. And it isn't just the elderly who are afflicted; diagnosis rates are rising in younger adults, with women at a higher risk than men. For many--especially those with a genetic predisposition--this fate has seemed inevitable. Until now. Dr. Dale Bredesen is a pioneer in the field of neurodegenerative research. Lauded for his integrative protocol, he has, in clinical studies, reversed the symptoms of Alzheimer's and dementia. He shared this information in his bestselling book, The End of Alzheimer's. But Dr. Bredesen doesn't want to only treat the symptoms of this devastating illness. He wants to prevent it from developing in the first place. In The Ageless Brain, Dr. Bredesen will share the latest, cutting-edge science on neurodegeneration, including how misunderstandings of the disease have hindered our efforts to treat it, as well as a preventative program that readers of all ages can put into practice to optimize their cognitive health now and sustain it for years to come. This is a book for everyone who cares about their ability to stay sharp and independent for a lifetime, for those who have witnessed family members decline, and for the many readers who are beginning to experience moments of brain fog or fatigue in middle age, and are concerned about what the future may hold. Just as bestselling authors like Dr. Peter Attia and Dr. Michael Greger have offered essential guidance for maintaining overall health and longevity, Dr. Bredesen has written the only book readers need to retain their vibrant minds--and thrive for a lifetime.

Mayo Clinic on Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias, Revised and Updated: A Guide for People with Dementia and Those Who Care for Them by Jonathan Graff-Radford; Angela Lunde Help to prevent, slow, and understand Alzheimer's Disease and other Dementias with this guide from the experts at Mayo Clinic. This essential resource includes key information about the latest advancements in diagnosis and treatment, as well as factors that may affect your cognitive health. Dementia is a serious health challenge with over 55 million people diagnosed worldwide, and some estimates expect that number to more than double by 2050. While Alzheimer's disease is the most common type of dementia, other types also affect adults worldwide, causing loss of cognitive functions such as memory, reasoning and judgment. The diseases that cause dementia have long been considered difficult and unrelenting, but recent advances offer hope. In this fully revised and updated third edition of Mayo Clinic's on Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias leading experts at Mayo Clinic answer patients and caregivers' most pressing questions, including: Are there ways you can lower your risk of Alzheimer's Disease and other dementias? Can they be prevented? Can you live well with dementia? If so, how?  How do sleeplessness, hearing loss, social isolation, and other risk factors contribute to cognitive decline? How can exercise and healthy foods preserve brain function? What are the neurological changes that can occur in the brain, and how is normal aging different from aging with dementia? How are blood and genetic biomarker tests breaking new ground in diagnosing dementia? Why is it increasingly important to identify dementia in its early stages? What are the unique signs and symptoms of Lewy body dementia, frontotemporal degeneration, vascular cognitive impairment, and other dementias? What are the stages of Alzheimer's disease? Can new and emerging medications slow the progression of Alzheimer's disease? What day-to-day coping strategies can help people live well with dementia? How can caregivers care for themselves?

Reversing Alzheimer's : the new toolkit to improve cognition and protect brain health by Heather Sandison AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! A revolutionary and much-needed exploration of Alzheimer's and how patients and their caregivers can take back control from this insidious disease. A significant portion of our population worries about the grip of dementia as we age. With over 6.5 million Americans living with Alzheimer's, the urgency for a solution has never been greater. Dr. Heather Sandison is at the forefront of dementia care and research. The founder of Solcere Health Clinic, San Diego's premier brain optimization clinic, and Marama, the first residential memory care facility to have the goal of returning cognitively declined residents to independent living, Dr. Sandison knows better than most what Alzheimer's does to people--to their brains, their bodies, their families, and their lives. If you're facing the challenge of Alzheimer's, either personally or as a caregiver, there is hope. A growing body of evidence shows that implementing a handful of strategies can improve cognition and quality of life in dementia patients. In Reversing Alzheimer's, Dr. Sandison lays out this customizable and doable approach so that you can start supporting you or your loved one's brain health right away. Within these pages, Dr. Sandison distills complex neurocognitive research into actionable steps, empowering you to: Fortify your brain health against cognitive decline Implement lifestyle changes that can reverse the effects of Alzheimer's Transform your environment to support cognitive wellness Understand options for brain health to fit any budget Dr. Sandison's expertise, derived from her clinical practice, residential care, and peer-reviewed research, charts the course for a future where Alzheimer's is not a terminal diagnosis, but a reversible condition. Reversing Alzheimer's is an essential tool for anyone aspiring to rewrite their story and achieve a future free from the affliction of Alzheimer's.

Treatments for Anxiety : Fact versus Fiction by Myrna Chandler Goldstein This book examines 25 well-known and well-studied options for combating anxiety. These include first-line treatments such as benzodiazepines, SSRIs, and cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), as well as complementary modalities such as animal therapy, exercise, and dietary supplements. Utilizing a standardized structure, each entry discusses a particular treatment's origins and underlying principles, how and in what contexts it's used, and potential side effects and risks. Summaries of key research studies are included to help readers better understand the scientific community's findings. An introductory essay offers a broad overview of anxiety disorders and explains how these conditions are different from the day-to-day worries all individuals experience. The introduction also highlights different assessment tools clinicians use to gauge the presence and severity of various anxiety disorders. A further readings section at the end of each entry points readers toward additional resources to expand and deepen their knowledge.

Eat to Beat Depression and Anxiety : nourish your way to better mental health in six weeks by Drew Ramsey A revolutionary prescription for healing depression and anxiety and optimizing brain health through the foods we eat, including a six-week plan to help you get started eating for better mental health. Depression and anxiety disorders are rising, affecting more than fifty-eight million people in the United States alone. Many rely on therapy and medications to alleviate symptoms, but often this is not enough. The latest scientific advances in neuroscience and nutrition, along with our understanding of the mind-gut connection, have proven that how and what we eat greatly affects how we feel--physically, cognitively, and emotionally. In this groundbreaking book, Dr. Drew Ramsey helps us forge a path toward greater mental health through food. Eat to Beat Depression and Anxiety breaks down the science of nutritional psychiatry and explains what foods positively affect brain health and improve mental wellness. Dr. Ramsey distills the most cutting-edge research on nutrition and the brain into actionable tips you can start using today to improve brain-cell health and growth, reduce inflammation, and cultivate a healthy microbiome, all of which contribute to our mental well-being. He explores the twelve essential vitamins and minerals most critical to your brain and body and outlines which anti-inflammatory foods feed the gut. He helps readers assess barriers to self-nourishment and offers techniques for enhancing motivation. To help us begin, he provides a kick-starter six-week mental health food plan designed to mitigate depression and anxiety, incorporating key food categories like leafy greens and seafood, along with simple, delicious, brain nutrient-rich recipes. By following the methods Dr. Ramsey uses with his patients, you can confidently choose foods to help you on your journey to full mental health.

Eating Disorder Group Therapy : A Collaborative Approach by Carolyn Karoll; Adina Silverman This is the only book that teaches clinicians how to run an effective, evidence-informed, and multi-disciplinary eating disorder group, incorporating psychoeducation, process group dynamics, and experiential elements. Whereas group therapy for eating disorders is widely used across many levels of care, the outpatient setting is uniquely poised to deliver effective, multi-disciplinary group therapy. The first part of this book offers practical guidance for conceiving, organizing, and initiating outpatient groups, equipping clinicians with the necessary tools to foster supportive and transformative environments. The second includes seven chapters that delve into the core themes of eating disorder recovery, featuring 60 activities and discussions empowering participants towards growth and resilience. This book teaches clinicians how to collaboratively lead groups to optimize cohesion and harness the collective strength of the group to facilitate change. It provides thorough rationale and psychoeducation for each group exercise and is complete with sample forms, worksheets, and handouts. Suitable for clinicians and students alike in the eating disorder field, this guide on how to successfully begin and run your own group is a necessary resource.

Treatment of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder in Serious Mental Illness : The Cognitive Restructuring Program by Kim T. Mueser; Jennifer D. Gottlieb This book is a practical guide to the evidence-based Cognitive Restructuring (CR) for PTSD program, which has been specifically designed to meet the unique needs of people with serious mental illness.  Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is very common among persons with serious mental illness (SMI). Unfortunately, it often leads to more severe psychiatric symptoms, greater impairment in psychosocial functioning, poorer physical health, and a higher use of acute care services among people with SMI. Yet despite major advances in the treatment of PTSD in the general population, PTSD has remained underdiagnosed and underaddressed among people with SMI, and treatments for this population have been relatively neglected. This practical, hands-on guide gives clinicians the tools they need for screening, detecting, and treating PTSD in their clients with SMI, including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, major depression, and borderline personality disorder. Chapters summarize research and theory regarding the interaction between PTSD and SMI, provide nuts and bolts strategies for implementing the authors' Cognitive Restructuring for PTSD program, and offer guidance for overcoming clinical challenges to trauma treatment such as psychotic symptoms, low distress tolerance, emotion dysregulation, hopelessness, and cognitive impairment. Chapters also feature in-session dialogues with case vignettes that follow three unique clients as they participate in the CR for PTSD program. Handouts and worksheets for delivering the CR for PTSD program are available in the Appendix of the book as well as in printable versions online (https://www.apa.org/pubs/books/treatment-posttraumatic-stress-disorder-serious-mental-illness) under the Resources tab. These online resources also include the educational handouts and worksheets translated into Spanish, a supplemental chapter on The BREATHE Program: A Brief PTSD Intervention for Persons with SMI in Special Settings, and the BREATHE Treatment Program Manual.

My Friend's Autism : advice from someone who is autistic, his friends, classmates, teammates, mentors, and family from elementary school through the college years by Cindy Montgomery; Pauly's Friends; Pauly Montgomery One day you will meet someone with autism, and you will, whether you are aware of it or not. This book, written by the mother/son team of Pauly and Cindy Montgomery, and 23 of Pauly's friends, will help you to communicate when it happens. If you're well-intentioned but afraid of doing or saying the wrong thing when you first meet someone with autism, or any disability, then this book is for you. Take the potential awkwardness out of any encounter with an autistic person. Helpful hints from the book include: It's okay to feel uncomfortable when you first meet someone. Avoiding them is the worst thing you can do. Have a calm demeanor. Talk slowly and have patience and give them time to respond. In advance and together, decide on a word or phrase to be used if they need a break in the conversation.

Autism in Nursing and Healthcare by Christopher Barber Understand the healthcare needs of autistic patients with this essential volume Autism is a condition that directly affects as many as 2 million people in the United Kingdom, a figure which does not include family members and other loved ones. As most nurses, healthcare assistants, and other healthcare professionals will engage with autistic patients or service users at numerous points in their careers, the Health and Care Act 2022 requires healthcare professionals to be given autism training appropriate to their role. There is an urgent need for a publication which directly addresses this new training requirement and fulfills the learning needs of workers across the healthcare sector and beyond. Autism in Nursing and Healthcare offers a solid grounding in the issues relevant to the care and support of autistic people. Viewing autism as a lifelong condition, this book offers chapters covering the full lifespan of the autistic person, with information on the role of nurses in both community and hospital settings. Appropriate for both formal and informal carers, it's an indispensable resource for anyone with direct or indirect experience of autism. Chapters on welfare benefits, sexuality, and discrimination against autistic people Detailed discussion of the 2009 Autism Act and related strategies Practical intervention strategies throughout Autism in Nursing and Healthcare is ideal for pre-registration nursing students from all four nursing branches, those in post-registration professional development sessions, Nursing Associates and Healthcare Assistants, as well as those who work with autistic people (either as patients or colleagues) looking to better understand autism.

Brittle Joints by Maria Sweeney 2025 Eisner Award Nominee! New York Public Library Top 10 Graphic Novels of 2024 American Library Associate Top 10 Best Graphic Novels for Adults of 2024 Starred Review from Publishers Weekly. "It's a revealing visualization of a rare, 'depersonalizing' condition and how Sweeney finds 'drops of disabled joy whenever I can.' Sweeney's subtle and elegant art reflects the nuance of her moment-to-moment struggle." An evocative and heartfelt graphic memoir about the challenges of living with a progressive disability. When Maria Sweeney was young, she kept count of her broken bones. As she grew older, she stopped. Living with Bruck syndrome, a rare progressive condition that gives her very brittle bones and joint abnormalities, meant that those numbers climbed and climbed. Today, she struggles every day, living in an often-inaccessible world. As an ambulatory wheelchair user, ordinary actions like entering a building, sitting at a café, or holding a cup of tea can be drastically different for her than for others. With lush illustrations, Maria tells the story of her lifelong struggle to obtain care in an increasingly complicated and disinterested US healthcare system. But for every step that presents a struggle, there's also beauty, friendship, art, and growth. She documents the relief she's found in alternative therapies, particularly medical marijuana; in loving community and chosen family; and in nature and her creative practice. A powerfully understated critique of our modern world, Brittle Joints offers a generous, expansive look at how to live and love amidst the challenges of survival.

The Nursing Clio Reader by The Nursing The Nursing Clio Editorial Collective (Editor); Jacqueline D. Antonovich (Contribution by, Preface by); Laura Ansley (As told to, Contribution by); Sarah E. Handley-Cousins (As told to, Contribution by); Emily Beckman (Contribution by); Cassandra Berman (Contribution by); Ciara Breathnach (Contribution by); Scottie Hale Buehler (Contribution by); John A. Carranza (Contribution by); Sara Collini (Contribution by); Kathleen Crowther (Contribution by); Cara Delay (Contribution by); Catherine Denial (Contribution by); Nora Doyle (Contribution by); Michelle Drew (Contribution by); Averill Earls (Contribution by); Lea Eisenstein (Contribution by); Mary Fissell (Contribution by); Gillian Frank (Contribution by); Lara Freidenfelds (Contribution by); Joseph Gamble (Contribution by); Janet Golden (Contribution by); Alicia Gutierrez-Romine (Contribution by); Evan Elizabeth Hart (Contribution by); Sharon Folkenroth Hess (Contribution by); Katrina Kimport (Contribution by); Rebecca M. Kluchin (Contribution by); Elizabeth Zeman Kolkovich (Contribution by); Modupe Labode (Contribution by); Judith Walzer Leavitt (Contribution by); Ian Lekus (Contribution by); Kirsten Leng (Contribution by); Amanda Mahoney (Contribution by); Elizabeth Garner Masarik (Contribution by); Michelle Moravec (Contribution by); Lina-Maria Murillo (Contribution by); Elizabeth Nelson (Contribution by); W. Jake Newsome (Contribution by); P. Mimi Bhatt (Contribution by); Ayah Nuriddin (Contribution by); Kelly S. O'Donnell (Contribution by); Udodiri Okwandu (Contribution by); Sarah Pripas-Kapit (Contribution by); Elizabeth Reis (Contribution by); Susan M. Reverby (Contribution by); Sarah Mellors Rodriguez (Contribution by); J. Nalubega Ross (Contribution by); Kylie Smith (Contribution by); Ronit Stahl (Contribution by); Nina Studer (Contribution by); Sarah Swedberg (Contribution by); Brianna Theobald (Contribution by); Lauren MacIvor Thompson (Contribution by); Stephanie Tillman (Contribution by); Felicity M. Turner (Contribution by); Theresa Ventura (Contribution by); Maggie Vinter (Contribution by); Anna Weerasinghe (Contribution by); Karen Weingarten (Contribution by); Caitlin Reed Wiesner (Contribution by); Samantha M. Williams (Contribution by); Shannon Withycombe (Contribution by); Cookie Woolner (Contribution by); P. Mimi Niles (Contribution by) On June 24, 2022, the Supreme Court's Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization decision overturned Roe v. Wade, stripping federal protection for abortion rights and placing control in the hands of individual states. This monumental shift in policy underscores the need for deeper historical perspectives on reproductive rights. The Nursing Clio Reader answers that call, bringing together essays that examine reproductive health through historical research and personal experience. Featuring both new and classic pieces from the Nursing Clio blog, leading historians of reproductive health provide insights that connect past struggles with today's ongoing battles over bodies, reproductive rights, and health care. This collection offers intimate, urgent scholarship that speaks to the present moment. A powerful resource for classrooms and individual readers alike, The Nursing Clio Reader invites reflection on how the past informs current debates, urging us to engage deeply with the history of reproductive justice in a time of unprecedented change, underscoring that indeed "the personal is historical."

The a-Z Guide to Exposure : Creative ERP Activities for 75 Childhood Fears by Dawn Huebner; Erin Neely The art of exposure lies in perfectly pitched challenges. Get them wrong and nothing changes. Get them right and you set an anxious child free. This practical resource guide contains 75 creative, user-friendly lists of exposure activities appropriate for 5-12-year olds struggling with anxiety. Entries cover a wide range of fears and concerns, such as Clowns, Making Mistakes, Picky Eating, Separation Anxiety, and Vomiting. An essential addition to the therapeutic toolbox of practitioners using Exposure and Response Prevention (ERP), this A-Z guide combines evidence-based guidance with inventive, engaging, actionable activities for an extensive list of childhood fears and concerns.

Infection Control in the Dental Office in the Era of COVID-19 by Robert Windsor (Editor); Nisha Ganesh (Editor); Louis G. DePaola (Editor) This book discusses the treatment of dental patients in the post-COVID pandemic years and the required compliance with recommended infection control practices to ensure the safe delivery of oral health care. The COVID-19 pandemic has had the most dramatic impact on healthcare, inclusive of dentistry, in history. SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, is a very dynamic virus and each new variant appears to be more transmissible than previous variants. More effective infection control strategies had to be developed to prevent transmission of COVID-19 in the dental office. Readers will find guidance on the reduction of aerosol in the dental office, information on vaccines, vaccinations and the re-emergence of vaccine preventable diseases. Infection control during implant placement, oral surgical procedures, N2O administration and IV sedation is explained. In addition to SARS-CoV-2, the book provides information on other emerging respiratory diseases such as Influenza,Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) and the emergence of Vaccine Preventable Diseases (Measles, Mumps, Rubella, Polio, HPV) that present significant risk of transmission if proper infection control practices are not followed. The indirect effects of the COVID-19 pandemic are discussed including a significant increase of STDs (syphilis, gonorrhea, chlamydia, herpes, HPV), new blood- borne infections such as HIV, HBV and HCV infections, as well as a significant increase of healthcare acquired infections and superbugs.

Oral Anatomy, Histology and Embryology by Barry K. B. Berkovitz; G. R. Holland; Bernard J. Moxham **Selected for 2025 Doody's Core Titles® in Dental Hygiene & Auxiliaries** Oral Anatomy, Histology and Embryology, Sixth Edition is unique in offering easy-to-understand explanations of all three of these complex topics in the one book. This popular textbook is designed to help students develop a deep understanding of these subjects to support their study and future clinical careers. Learning is made easy with clear diagrams, photographs and explanations. Now in its sixth edition, the book has been fully updated to incorporate latest developments in the field. It provides full coverage of topics including tooth morphology, functional anatomy, oro-dental histology, craniofacial and oral development and clinical considerations. Over 1,000 images including schematic artworks, radiological images, electron-micrographs, cadaveric and clinical photographs and memory maps - all specially selected to make learning and recall as easy as possible Numerous clinical case histories help relate the basic science to clinical practice Includes comprehensive coverage of the soft tissues of the oral region and skeletal structures of the head, including vasculature and innervation Includes information on mastication, swallowing, speech, radiology and archaeological applications of tooth structure Addresses physical, chemical and structural properties of the tooth (enamel, dentine, pulp and cementum) and of the periodontium and oral mucosa Explores bone structure and remodelling - including potential bone atrophy following tooth extraction, its relevance to orthodontic treatment and implantology, trauma and malignancy Images and text have been considered in terms of human diversity Online self-assessment quizzes supports learning and exam preparation Online bibliography for each topic provides options for further reading An enhanced eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customise your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud New chapter on reparative and regenerative dentistry Memory maps to support learning

From Bodily Knowledge to Intuitive Movement : Where Physical Therapy, Yoga Therapy and Pain Science Meet by Sherry Brourman; Shelly Prosko (Foreword by); Marlysa Sullivan (Foreword by) This book prepares physical therapists, yoga therapists and all movement practitioners to recognize various components of discomfort including the bio, psycho, social and spiritual contributions to posture, movement patterns, and to their pain. This multi-layered approach helps readers utilize the methodology to then share and collaborate with clients to help devise their personalized approach to self awareness and bodily presence. Sherry Brourman masterfully coalesces physical therapy, yoga therapy and pain science to create this valuable resource that ultimately utilizes intuitive movement for better health. The book offers practical advice, real-life examples and case studies as well as deep insight into how individual bodies can move and heal within each body's 'normal'. Twelve key yoga postures, their transitions, and energetic missions are explored in great depth as templates, giving practitioners the insight to choose and share the self-empowered process of inner investigation. This becomes the reasoning for choices including yoga therapy sequencing as response to multi-layered health conditions.

Respiratory Care in Heliox Therapy Physiology and Technology by Antonio M. Esquinas (Editor) In this book, the authors analyze the physical and rationale use of heliox gas mixtures in adult and pediatric patients, with a wide spectrum in acute respiratory (invasive and weaning mechanical ventilation) and chronic respiratory disorders (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, asthma, neuromuscular, cystic fibrosis) where its usefulness has been well evaluated. In the chapters and sections, the authors describe the basic technology for elements in equipment and accessories, monitoring systems, and appropriate tools for safe clinical response evaluations during invasive mechanical ventilation and noninvasive ventilation and nasal high flow. Finally, a global summary and analysis based on clinical evidence and recommendations is provided.

Yoga As a Nursing Intervention by Özüm Erkin (Editor) Yoga, as a holistic mind-body practice, is officially recognized as a nursing intervention by The Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC), a development that opens new pathways for research and significantly enriches the existing body of knowledge. This book aims to integrate a human-centered approach to the practice of yoga with the latest scientific insights, featuring contributions from 46 researchers across 26 chapters. It stands out as a comprehensive academic publication, encompassing a wide range of research topics. In an ever-changing and dynamic healthcare landscape, yoga interventions for individuals, families, and communities, both healthy and ill, hold critical significance for the advancement of nursing science. While many resources provide general overviews of yoga, this book delves deeply into its role as a nursing intervention within specialized domains. It highlights the rapid rise of yoga as a research subject following its recognition as a formal nursing intervention and explores its impacts on health outcomes in diverse populations. What sets this book apart is its focus on evaluating yoga's role in nursing care, extending from bariatric surgery to cancer treatment, and across the life span from childhood to aging. Its chapters present up-to-date international research on the effectiveness of yoga as a nursing intervention in various clinical and community settings. By addressing contemporary issues in healthcare and yoga's integration into nursing, this book is poised to make a significant contribution to both nursing and yoga literature, filling an important gap in the understanding of yoga's impact within nursing practice.

Antimicrobial Resistance: a Looming Public Health Crisis by Maajid Mohi Ud (Editor) This book presents a comprehensive and authoritative examination of one of the most significant global health challenges of the 21st century. This meticulously crafted volume brings together expert perspectives to address the complex and multifaceted nature of antimicrobial resistance (AMR). This book begins by establishing a solid foundation, exploring the history and science of antimicrobial resistance. It details the fundamental mechanisms through which bacteria, viruses, fungi, and parasites develop resistance to antimicrobial agents, providing readers with essential background knowledge. The evolution of resistance from a biological perspective is thoroughly examined, highlighting how microorganisms adapt and survive despite our medical interventions. Moving beyond scientific explanations, this book provides a global perspective on AMR prevalence, showcasing regional variations and trends. It offers an in-depth analysis of the primary drivers behind resistance development, including antibiotic misuse in human medicine, agricultural practices, environmental factors, and societal behaviors. The economic repercussions of AMR are comprehensively assessed, demonstrating its substantial impact on healthcare systems, national economies, and global development. A key strength of this volume is its adoption of the One Health approach, recognizing that human health is inextricably linked with animal health and environmental conditions. This integrated perspective highlights the interconnected nature of AMR and emphasizes the need for coordinated responses across sectors. This book dedicates significant attention to practical aspects of AMR management, including surveillance and monitoring systems, stewardship programs, and intervention strategies. It examines the current state of research and development for new antimicrobials, analyzing challenges in drug discovery and exploring innovative approaches to combat resistant infections. Policy dimensions receive thorough coverage through analysis of global action plans, national policies, and regulatory frameworks aimed at addressing AMR. Ethical considerations surrounding antimicrobial use, access disparities, and resource allocation are thoughtfully explored, providing a nuanced view of the moral dimensions of AMR management. Looking to the future, the volume presents potential scenarios and preparedness strategies, offering insights into how healthcare systems might adapt to increasing resistance. The book concludes with a powerful call to action, outlining specific roles and responsibilities for various stakeholders--from policymakers and healthcare professionals to pharmaceutical companies, agricultural sectors, and the general public.

Digital Nursing : Shaping Practice and Identity in the Age of Informatics by Matthew Wynn (Editor) Investigating the ways in which digital technology is transforming the roles of nurses and how they deliver care, this book explores how nurses can optimise patient care, enhance clinical decision-making, and improve healthcare outcomes in the information age.

Professional Nursing Concepts: Competencies for Quality Leadership : competencies for quality leadership by Anita Finkelman Professional Nursing Concepts: Competencies for Quality Leadership continues its patient-centered, traditional approach to nursing education in an updated sixth edition. Anita Finkelman provides the foundation for pre-licensure nursing students to successfully transition from the classroom into practice. Grounded in the Institute of Medicine/National Academy of Medicine (IOM/NAM) five core competencies for healthcare professionals and the related Quality and Safety for Nursing Education (QSEN) competencies, the content progresses from the basics of the nursing profession and the dynamics of patient care into critical healthcare delivery discussions, ranging from health policy and political action to community health and leadership in nursing practice.Throughout the updated Sixth Edition students will remain engaged with discussion questions, critical thinking activities, and "Stop and Consider" sections that encourage readers to reflect on important chapter topics and concepts. Students can further interact with the content in "Working Backwards to Develop a Case", an in-text feature that allows them to creatively apply what they have learned to their own unique case scenarios, bringing these foundational concepts to life. Above all, Professional Nursing Concepts: Competencies for Quality Leadership, Sixth Edition reminds students that quality patient care is at the heart of the nursing profession. Includes a NEW chapter feature titled "Relevant Nursing Education Standards and Concepts to the Chapter Content" - these sections highlight relevant standards, concepts, and competencies on a chapter-by-chapter basis.Features updated content and discussions on relevant and timely topics, including diversity and inclusion, nursing staffing shortages, approaches to teaching students for the NCLEX Next-Gen exam, simulations in learning, social determinants of health, how the COVID-19 pandemic changed nursing education, and much more.Each chapter starts with learning objectives and a chapter outline to guide nursing educators and students through the key concepts and concludes with Discussion Questions, Connect to Information for EBP, Electronic Reflection Journal, Collaborative Learning, and Case Studies.Content covers all of the updated AACN Essentials domains.Every new print copy includes Navigate Premier Access to unlock an interactive eBook, Interactive Case Studies, and learning analytics reporting tools.Instructor resources include an Instructor's Manual, Slides in PowerPoint Format, and Test Bank. Introduction to Nursing, Introduction to Professional Nursing, Professional Nursing Concepts, Issues and Trends in Nursing, Transition to Professional Nursing, and Introduction to Nursing Leadership. © 2026 | 600 pages

Applied Clinical Informatics for Nurses by Susan Alexander; Karen Frith; Heather Carter-Templeton Show Students How Data Supports Safe, Patient-Centered Care Nurses need to be aware of the latest information, technologies, and research available to provide safe, patient-centered, evidence-based care. Applied Clinical Informatics for Nurses continues its' student-centered approach to nursing informatics in a modern new edition full of illustrations, tables, figures, and boxes that enhance the readers' experience and assists in comprehension. In the updated Third Edition, the authors emphasize the importance of understanding principles and applications of informatics and apply a context-based teaching approach to enhance clinical decision-making, promote ethical conduct, and improve problem-solving skills.The Third Edition features extensive updates on telehealth, mobile health, and clinical decision support. It also includes expanded information related to software used for data mining and additional case studies to help illustrate creative informatics projects developed by nurses. With Applied Clinical Informatics for Nurses, Third Edition, students will develop a deeper understanding of how clinical data can be made useful in healthcare and nursing practice. Assists educators in creating significant and practical learning experiences for nursing students.Includes topics identified as strategic priorities by agencies such as the National Institute for Nursing Research and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.Contains expanded information on data science concepts, including an overview of AI and its use in healthcare.Objectives, Case Studies, Key Points, Chapter Summaries, Review Questions, and a Glossary of key terms ensure students fully understand the concepts and application of informatics.Every new print copy includes access to Navigate Advantage with robust resources to support self-paced learning, including the interactive eBook with Quizzes and Knowledge Checks.Instructor resources include Slides in PowerPoint format, an Instructor's Manual, Assignable Practice Activities, Competency Mapping, a Sample Syllabus, and Test Bank. Nursing InformaticsHealthcare InformaticsClinical InformaticsHealth Information SystemsInformatics and TechnologySurvey of Health Science InformationIntroduction to Health Informatics © 2026 | 400 pages

Nursing School, NCLEX and Career Transition Success : Think, Learn, Succeed by Cheryl Thompson This unique textbook is designed as a comprehensive resource to empower nursing students through their educational journey and transition to nursing practice. It bridges theory and practice, offering strategies to master critical thinking, adopt brain-based learning, and develop a growth mindset--essential skills for thinking like a nurse and applying classroom knowledge to clinical practice. Critical thinking and brain-based learning concepts are integrated with real-world nursing education scenarios, providing students with actionable strategies to support success.  The book includes foundational concepts in critical thinking and brain-based learning applied to learning; self-assessment tools to identify strengths and areas for improvement; case studies to foster critical thinking and application of concepts; and practical strategies for applying concepts to support academic and nursing practice success. The book addresses contemporary challenges faced by nursing students, including time management, stress management and test anxiety. It goes beyond typical nursing school guides by providing in-depth coverage of: Choosing your first nursing job and navigating early career decisions Understanding the NCLEX: its structure, purpose, and how to prepare effectively Applying brain-based learning, critical thinking, and growth mindset principles to excel in nursing school, on the NCLEX, in clinical experiences, and in professional practice Whether you're just starting your nursing education or preparing for the NCLEX and your first job, this textbook provides the tools and strategies needed to excel. It's an indispensable companion for any nursing student aiming to thrive in their studies and launch a successful nursing career.

Nursing Our Healer's Heart : A Recovery Guide for Nurse Trauma and Burnout by Lorre Laws '...radically revealing and beautifully unfolding in its healing message to all nurses. The straightforward writing and illustrations, combined with depth of scholarship, bring the work and world of nursing to a new global community of wisdom for heart-centered caring-healing. Every nurse can heal from just reading this book, being mentored back to one's healing heart.' Jean Watson, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN, LL (AAN) Founder Watson Caring Science Institute The nursing profession is in crisis. Within a decade, the world will have just over half the number of nurses it needs. The global nursing workforce has experienced mass, complex trauma secondary to healthcare system inadequacies and a global pandemic.  Traumatized and burned out nurses are leaving their roles or the profession in unprecedented numbers. Those who remain are stretched to or beyond their capacity. While system-level strategies aim to address this crisis, none of them consider nurse traumatization and its impact upon patient safety, outcomes, and quality of care. We cannot wait for health systems to prioritize nurse safety. Nurses can and must come together as a global community to heal through avoidable and unavoidable nurse-specific traumatization while partnering with healthcare leaders to usher in a new era of nursing. This book, through an actionable framework, guides nurses in healing the traumas and hardships they've endured as individuals and nursing communities. Grounded in the sciences of unitary caring, integrative nursing, neurophysiology, and transpersonal neurobiology, this book supports nurses in restoring their healers' heart as they come together to address the deep trauma, burnout, attrition, and presenteeism that are central to the nursing crisis. Nurses will learn the language of their nervous system and how to navigate it as a foundational practice to support professional wellbeing. Each nurse will discover their unique innate care plan, which will guide their healing and co-healing with other nurses. By embracing the healing and practices offered in this book, nurses will learn how to support their nervous system regulation so they can thrive instead of survive in practice. Working from their healed scars instead of their open wounds, nurses can effectively lead sustainable organizational change and health care reforms that prioritize nurse safety and professional wellbeing.  

Nurse Manager's Guide to Innovative Staffing, Third Edition by Jennifer Mensik Kennedy; Brienne Sandow The safe staffing crisis now facing the nursing profession is further amplified by the nurse shortage and continuing fallout from the COVID-19 pandemic. There are no easy answers, but there are resources that can help. In this book, readers will find: * Detailed staffing plan, policy, and delivery model examples* Turnkey calculation worksheets for full-time equivalencies (FTEs), PTO, and productive vs. nonproductive time* Sound strategies for introducing new processes and technology* Real-world staffing experiences from frontline managers* Staffing and scheduling plans optimized for rural and critical access hospitals

Homeopathy at Home : Everyday Treatments for Common Complaints by Marcus Fernandez Your health is in your hands with this easy guide to homeopathy, offering expert, actionable wisdom to help you take control of your wellbeing. Discover how to treat everyday acute issues confidently and safely using homeopathic remedies at home. By matching the characteristic symptoms of common complaints with the correct homeopathic treatment, you can unlock your body's incredible natural ability to heal. Homeopathy at Home offers a comprehensive A-Z of homeopathic remedies for a wide range of complaints - from common colds, coughs, allergies and infections, to cuts, bruises, acne and PMS. It also provides useful substitutions that can easily be found in your kitchen or garden - so you'll always have a natural remedy to hand. With this book, you'll have everything you need to address everyday health issues naturally and effectively.