Skip to Main Content
EFSC Library
LibGuides
Primary Sources Research Guide
Primary Source General Online Collections
Search this Guide
Search
Primary Sources Research Guide
This guide gives information about primary sources and how to locate them in the Library Catalog, our databases, and external sites.
Primary Sources - What are They?
Primary versus Secondary Sources
Primary Source Literacy
How to Search for Primary Sources
Primary Source General Online Collections
Where to Locate Primary Sources
Toggle Dropdown
Primary Sources - History
Primary Sources - Fine & Performing Arts
Primary Sources - Literature
Primary Sources - Business
Primary Sources - Education
Primary Sources - Political Science & Government
Primary Sources - Law
Primary Sources - Psychology
Primary Sources - Sciences
Citing Primary Sources
EFSC Archives
Primary Source General Online Collections
Here is a list of some online collections that are useful for general research involving primary sources:
Digital Public Library of America
-- contains over 42 million images, texts, video, and audio from across the US. Of particular interest are its
primary source sets
.
National Archives
-- especially useful for American government records of all kinds
Internet Archive
-- contains digitized materials as well as archived webpages
World Digital Library
-- operated by the Library of Congress
Digital Library Directory
-- searchable database of digital library collections
Europeana
-- online database, operated by the European Union, that gathers cultural heritage material from thousands of European institutions.
Library of Congress
-- contains text, photo, and map resources for many subjects
<<
Previous:
How to Search for Primary Sources
Next:
Where to Locate Primary Sources >>
