Think of each database as a big file cabinet filled with millions of articles from countless journals. Each database is very different from the next:
1) Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) is an excellent “General” subject database to begin with, if you are doing a broad subject, such as “TV violence”.
2) You are searching for keywords that appear in the title or the content of the articles.
Tips:
Use only nouns, verbs and terms that would relate to your topic.
Combine the terms to get better results with “AND”, “OR”, and “NOT”
For example:
“violence” is too broad and produces over 50,000 results –too many
“violence AND tv” is a better search with 600 results
“violence AND tv AND cartoons” is very focused and produces twelve results
If you get zero results for a search, try different keywords. It may be helpful to keep a list of the keywords and phrases that get the best results. Remember, you are pulling up content from professionals in their fields writing about the subject. It is a “conversation” that you are tapping into with these searches.
Academic Search Complete provides access to full text articles from journals, periodicals and popular magazines. This database is so large and diverse that it provides some coverage for every discipline.
Associates Program Source Plus is specifically designed for two-year colleges that prepare students for careers in many disciplines. Included in this list are careers in Forensics, Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice.
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) draws content from 250 titles pertaining to U.S. and international criminal justice. Year coverage starts at 1981 to present and 100 titles are available in full text. For example, Journal of Forensic Sciences.
J-STOR offers access to scholarly journals and requires advanced skills to produce results. This database is maintained by scholars in several fields, especially Science, so articles from this database will be more scientific than technical.
The Learning Express Test Library will interest students who will pursue careers in corrections and law enforcement by providing practice exams to prepare for certification tests.
To access the EFSC databases, you need to be currently enrolled and taking classes.
1) From the EFSC library’s homepage: www.easternflorida.edu/library
2) Log in
3) Select “By Subject”
