Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Faculty Library Guide

Library Databases

The Libraries provide access to thousands of full-text magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, electronic books and digitally streamed video and music content.  Use the scholarly/peer reviewed limit feature in a database if needed. 

Databases A-Z         Databases by Subject

Listed below are three recommended databases for students in ENC1101.  The topic of your research and type of information you are seeking will determine which databases will work best for you.

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  contains articles from more than 5,000 full-text periodicals, including over 4,000 peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study.
  • Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, literature, etc. 
  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, and science. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Includes complete archive dating back to 1923. 

eBook Collections

 

 

eBook CollectionThe EFSC Libraries have access to thousands of eBooks through eBook Collection (EBSCO).
This collection includes reference works and scholarly books from all disciplines.  All titles are indexed in Mango, the online catalog, by author, subject, and title, as well as searchable cover to cover through the EBSCO interface.
 


 

The Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) includes hundreds of full-text reference eBooks. Selected titles in GVRL include Business Plans Handbook, Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior, Major Acts of Congress, Poetry for Students, etc.

 
 

 

   Ovid eBooks offers a small collection of nursing and allied health eBooks.

 
 

Digital Collection ABC-CLIOThe Digital Collection ABC-CLIO is a research collection of approximately 7,000 eBooks in all disciplines. ABC-CLIO titles are searchable by keyword when you log into the database and are also indexed by subject and title through Mango. 
 

 

Other free eBook collections available via the Internet: Bartleby Great Books Online, Literature Project, National Academies Press, Online Books, Project Gutenberg.