Skip to Main Content

Eastern Florida Online (EFO) Students' Library Guide

Information for students who take classes online

Find Articles in Databases

The Libraries provide access to thousands of full-text magazine, journal and newspaper articles, electronic books and digitally streamed video and music content.  Use the scholarly/peer reviewed limit feature in a database if needed. 

Databases A-Z

Suggested databases for ENC 1101

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) contains articles from more than 5,000 full-text periodicals, including over 4,000 peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study.

  • Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, literature, etc.

  • Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) covers current social issues presenting pro/con viewpoints. Includes full-text of peer-reviewed journals from multiple perspectives.

searching for articles

newspaper articles

Use these databases to find newspaper articles:

These databases are great for persuasive speeches as they provide both pro and con viewpoints:

You also can check out this online website, The Conversation, for its credible, authoritative articles on many of today's current events.

Find Streaming Videos and eBooks

The EFSC libraries offer access to several streaming video collections available online 24/7.

  • Academic Video Online: Premium - includes over 20,000 streaming video titles from all disciplines.

  • American History in Video - streaming video clips on American history. Transcripts are provided along the side of the videos for easy reference.

  • Feature Films for Education - streaming collection includes over 600 popular films, award winners, documentaries, and foreign films. Films best viewed in Mozilla Firefox or Microsoft Edge. 

  • Films on Demand - over 20,000 streaming films on the humanities, social sciences, and consumer sciences.

  • Veterinary Education in Video - training videos relevant for veterinarians, vet techs, assistants and other team members.

The EFSC Libraries offer one database specifically containing music items:

Music Online: Listening

This is a streaming music and audio collection to support the teaching and research of music. The database contains 10 million tracks and is growing monthly. It features all key music genres (classical, jazz, world, American, popular, and historical recordings) as well as unique recordings that are rare or exclusive in nature (e.g., from EMI, Universal, Smithsonian, and traditional folk and archival recordings, too).

The following database also contains music items within it, along with other theatre- and drama-related items:

Theatre & Drama Premium

This is a streaming-video/music database providing everything needed to bring the spectacle of theatre and drama to students. It contains drama texts from diverse playwrights, high-definition performance videos, documentaries, interviews, audio plays, contextual reference material, and production-design archival content.

·         eBook Collection (EBSCO) - EFSC's largest eBook collection with 70,000+ titles in all subjects areas.

·         Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO) - a research collection of approximately 7000 books and reference works from all disciplines.

·         Literature Criticism Online (Gale) - digital versions of Gale literature criticism reference sets including: Contemporary Literary Criticism,Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, & Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

·         Nursing eBooks @ Ovid - a small collection of nursing and allied health eBooks.

·         Virtual Reference Library (Gale) - includes hundreds of titles and is useful for locating reliable background information to begin a research project. The GVRL includes the literary criticism sets Poetry for Students and Short Stories for Students.