LibGuides: Sciences: Articles

Find Articles

Use one of the many Sciences databases available to EFSC faculty, staff and students to search for journal articles on your topic. Log in with your Titan User Name and Password.

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Includes full-text and indexed content that covers the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Includes full-text, indexing and abstracts to scholarly, government, and general-interest sources. It covers the connections between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
PubMed - EFSC Portal This link opens in a new window Also see our PubMed Research Guide: https://libguides.easternflorida.edu/pubmed
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window Includes citations and full-text journals in the disciplines of the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Science provides contextual information on today's significant science topics, showcasing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. It integrates millions of full-text articles from national and global publications, along with 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, in the areas of biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics and more.
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to citations and full-text journals in a variety of subjects areas including: behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics and statistics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.

Other helpful databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Collection of multi-disciplinary full-text journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and publications including periodicals, reports, and books. Access to video content from the Associated Press is provided.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources database includes 2,800+ academic journals that span 60+ disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.

Article Search Tips

Use AND to refine your search and narrow the number of results. Example: alternative energy AND hydrogen
To search a phrase, enclose the term in quotation marks. Example: "alternative energy"
To find all possible word endings add an asterisk* Example: infect* would find infects, infected, infection, infecting, etc.
Too many results? search the terms in the subject field, rather than all fields.
Still can't find what you need? Email Ask-A-Librarian.

Interlibrary Loan

Have you found a good book or article but it is not available at EFSC or any other Florida public colleges or universities? ILLiad is an interlibrary loan (ILL) service provided to currently enrolled EFSC students, faculty and staff to obtain access to materials available from other libraries in and out of state.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be used to locate free online scholarly publications such as peer-reviewed papers, books, abstracts and articles from a variety of academic sources.

Under Settings, if you set library links, Google Scholar will link to documents with the full text content in select EFSC subscription databases.

Google Scholar Settings

Google Scholar Settings Library Links

Google Scholar Help Sheet
Read the Help Sheet to learn how to set your Google Scholar preferences before searching.

Sciences

Ask-A-Librarian

Find Articles

Use one of the many Sciences databases available to EFSC faculty, staff and students to search for journal articles on your topic. Log in with your Titan User Name and Password.

Other helpful databases:

Article Search Tips

Use AND to refine your search and narrow the number of results. Example: alternative energy AND hydrogen

To search a phrase, enclose the term in quotation marks. Example: "alternative energy"

To find all possible word endings add an asterisk* Example: infect* would find infects, infected, infection, infecting, etc.

Too many results? search the terms in the subject field, rather than all fields.

Still can't find what you need? Email Ask-A-Librarian.

Interlibrary Loan

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be used to locate free online scholarly publications such as peer-reviewed papers, books, abstracts and articles from a variety of academic sources.

Under Settings, if you set library links, Google Scholar will link to documents with the full text content in select EFSC subscription databases.