LibGuides: Health Sciences &amp; Nursing RN @ Melbourne Campus: * * Research Sources

Research Sources

Find Articles

Health Sciences & Nursing Databases

Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window Developed for two year / community colleges. Features full-text journal and book content for fields such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, travel & tourism, veterinary assisting, and other two-year focused programs.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text content for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world’s best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5) defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. It is used by health professionals to diagnose and classify mental disorders in a variety of clinical settings
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Provides information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
Health Sciences eBooks & eJournals (OVID) This link opens in a new window The database is an aggregate of over 50 of nursing and medical journals and more than 200 health sciences eBooks.
Human Anatomy: Gale Interactive This link opens in a new window Human anatomy comes to life with interactive (zoom! rotate! magnify!) 3D models and related reference articles.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full-text and citations for biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window Online collection of videos for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale) – formerly Testing & Education Reference Center This link opens in a new window It helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school including preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). It also includes a variety of information on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes and preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests
PrepSTEP / Learning Express Test Library This link opens in a new window Provides an interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorials to help users succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. The content is organized in six different areas - Core Math & Science Skills, Core English Skills, College Success Skills, Career Prep, Basic Computer Skills, Grad School Admissions Prep, Placement Test Prep, and Recursos Para Hispanohablantes. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results are part of each test / tutorial.
PubMed - EFSC Portal This link opens in a new window The is the EFSC specific portal to PubMed which includes citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content in EFSC online collections or other free sources, eBooks, and publisher web sites.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window Includes citations and full-text journals in the disciplines of the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.

Search Databases A-Z

1. Enter search terms

database search

Suggested Search Strategies

Limit search by selecting "Subject" ["drug abuse"]

Use "AND" to combine search terms ["drug abuse" AND teen*]

Use "OR" to find either search term [diet OR nutrition]

Use NOT to exclude a search term [diet not nutrition]

Use quotation marks to search a phrase ["drug abuse"]

Limit search results > Peer Reviewed, Date, Subject, etc.

Limit database search

2. From the results list > Click article title to read abstract > Link to Full-text

Article Full Text and Abstract

3. When viewing article full-text > Click "email" envelope

email article

4. Enter Email address > Select citation format > Click send

email address and citation style

5. Review citations for necessary corrections to formatting and punctuation - APA Article Citation Examples

review citation

Search Google Scholar

"Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines."

Set Library Preference > Click Google Scholar ribbon > Click Settings

Google Scholar Settings

Click Library Links > Search Eastern Florida State College > Check boxes by EFSC options > Save

Set library links to EFSC and save

Search Google Scholar > Click Full-Text @ EFSC > Titan Sign in

results list with links to articles

Articles not accessible in Google Scholar may be requested through EFSC Library's Interlibrary Loan process

Search the Library's Catalog for Books, "on the shelf" & "online" and Videos

Type search terms, select "Library Catalog," & click search icon

Search catalog

Limit results by "Availability" "Books," or "Videos"

Limit search results

Access the Books, "on the shelf," "online" and Videos

Access books

Access eBooks

Access Videos

The Human Body Video Clip Collection (Films on Demand)
Animated Anatomy Videos - Medline Plus

Anatomy of body parts, organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
Human Anatomy Dissection Videos
Innerbody

Interactive anatomy models

CDC's Public Health Image Library (PHIL)

NIH Library - links to image collections

EFSC Career Center
Career planning
Explore Health Careers
"ExploreHealthCareers.org is a collaboration between today’s health professionals and
leading health care associations designed to help people like you start down the road
toward a career in health. Here you’ll find the latest health career information and tools to
guide you as you prepare for a future in health care."
Occupational Outlook Handbook
See program "Associations" tab for additional career information

Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale) – formerly Testing & Education Reference Center This link opens in a new window It helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school including preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). It also includes a variety of information on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes and preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests
PrepSTEP / Learning Express Test Library This link opens in a new window Provides an interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorials to help users succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. The content is organized in six different areas - Core Math & Science Skills, Core English Skills, College Success Skills, Career Prep, Basic Computer Skills, Grad School Admissions Prep, Placement Test Prep, and Recursos Para Hispanohablantes. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results are part of each test / tutorial.

Contact Us - Health Sciences @ Melbourne Campus

Marian Smith, Associate Professor, Library Science, 321-433-5601 - Ask-A- Librarian

"Health Sciences & Nursing RN @ Melbourne Campus" by Marian Smith. CC by 4.0.