!EFSC LibGuides Repository

Films on Demand Streaming Videos

Creating Playlists

EFSC Library's Films on Demand streaming video collection includes more than 15,000 titles. Faculty can create streaming video links for use in Canvas by logging in to Films on Demand through the library databases and then creating a login within Films on Demand to create playlists.

To create a playlist:

• Go  to: Films on Demand
• Log in with your B number and PIN (your birthdate in MMDDYY format)

Create an account within Films on Demand by clicking on Create Account at the top of the screen.

After you have created your account with in Films on Demand, you can search for videos and then add them to playlists. When you find a video that you want to use, click on the plus symbol (+) under the video.

You can add a title to an existing playlist or create a new playlist. Playlists can be named with a topic, the title of the video, your course number, etc.

In the example below the playlist is named Emotional Intelligence.

After you have named your playlist, click on the Go button and you should see the confirmation that Item has been added successfully at the bottom of the screen.

To access the playlist URLs, click on the Playlist link at the top of the page and find your named playlist. A playlist URL can be added to courseware or any open access webpage.  The link created will require students to log on to access the streaming video.

If you want videos to play in courseware without an additional log on, you can remove the beginning part of a playlist URL.

Example of Playlist URL which will require a log in: http://db02.linccweb.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/play/7V7U22

Additional Information:

• Make  sure you copy a playlist URL exactly and do not leave a space at the end. An extra space at the end of the URL is sometimes created when links are pasted in and this causes the link to fail.
• Since  Films on Demand is licensed content, shortened playlist URLs should only be pasted on webpages that are password protected. Playlists on open  access webpages should include the additional log in URL code.
• It is a highly recommended for faculty to provide students with alternative instructions for finding Films on Demand titles through the library databases or myEFSC in case the playlist links fail    (see below for Alternative instructions).

Alternative instructions for students to access Films on Demand titles:

• Log      in to My EFSC (http://my.easternflorida.edu) with      your B number and PIN (your birthdate in MMDDYY format)
• Click      on Library Electronic Resources (middle left on the screen)
• Click      on Alphabetical tab at the top of the page
• Click      on Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)

To locate a film by title:

• Type in the film name EXACTLY as listed and change the field searched to By Titles (instead of By Segments)
  
• On the results list, click on the thumbnail image or the title of the film to play the video.  

What is a permalink? 

It's a direct URL that remains stable over time and allows users to get to the item at a future time. 

What are some other names for permanlinks? 

Permanent links, persistent links, stable links, durable links, or direct URL. 

So what? How can I use permalinks in teaching?

You can use permalinks to share articles, eBook chapters, images, or video with your students. 

Use them in your Canvas classroom, in Powerpoints, syllabi, email, or web pages. 

Why can't I just copy the web address or URL that appears in the address bar of my web browser? 

It may contain session-based information that may cause the URL to fail later on. 

Articles from the library databases can be a great resource to supplement textbook readings.  Follow the simple steps below to add articles to your Canvas classroom. Need help? Contact your Librarian Liaison.

• Select Library Resources from the course menu and click 'Launch Library Resources'
• Enter keywords in the search box and click Search
• From the search results look for the Article icon and click ‘Read article’ link
• Alternatively, find articles directly in a Library database 
• For example, locate an article in Academic Search Complete 
• View the full-text of the article 
• On the right panel click Permalink and copy the link shown 

Note: Other databases may refer to this is as a "Persistent URL/link"  or  "Get Link"  or  "Stable URL."

Another way to add an article's thumbnail and link into your Canvas modules:

• Open an assignment, page, discussion or quiz in Editing mode
• On the Rich Content Editor toolbar, you will see ‘Apps’ button (plug icon); when you click it, you'll then see "View all."

• Click on the "View All" link and you will see a dropdown list of "All Apps" that are enabled in Canvas.  Scroll down to find the database you want to use to locate a video or article, and click on it.  Once you find a resource you want to embed, there will be an option to do so, like this: