Skip to Main Content

!EFSC LibGuides Repository

Contains common information boxes for linking.

Find Articles in Databases

The Libraries provide access to thousands of full-text magazine, journal and newpaper articles, electronic books and digitally streamed video and music content.  Use the scholarly/peer reviewed limit feature in a database if needed. 

Databases A-Z

Three good starting points for research: 

searching for articles

newspaper articles

Use these databases to find newspaper articles:

These databases are great for persuasive speeches as they provide both pro and con viewpoints:

Academic Search Complete (Widget) template

Academic Search Complete is a recommended database for researching full-text magazines and peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
Limit Your Results

Research Tips

Check out this tutorial...

This table shows recommended search strategies to use in the library databases.
Symbol Explanation Example
AND Logical operator combines all search terms teenagers AND diet
OR Logical operator finds either search term diet OR nutrition
NOT Logical operator excludes specified search term diet NOT nutrition
() Nesting indicates order of search; items in () are found first teenagers AND (diet OR nutrition)
* Truncation finds root word and various endings teen*
?, # Wildcard searches for a character(s) within a word wom?n theat###
"" Phrase searching searches for words as a phrase in the order entered "drug abuse"

 

  • Use AND to refine your search and narrow the number of results.  Example: alternative energy AND hydrogen
     
  • To search a phrase, enclose the term in quotation marks. Example: "alternative energy"
     
  • To find all possible word endings add an asterisk*  Example: infect* would find infects, infected, infection, infecting, etc.
     
  • Too many results? search the terms in the subject field, rather than all text or smart search fields.
     
  • Still can't find what you need? Email AAL.