LibGuides: !EFSC LibGuides Repository: Health/Medicine Databases

Accessibility Statement Michelle Rezeau

Eastern Florida State College does not own or manage the content linked from this research guide. These materials are for general reference and supplemental information only. Please contact your campus Library if you experience any barriers to accessing these materials.

Are you looking for...Disease or Symptom Information?

Try searching...

Log in using your Titan User Name and Password.

Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Provides information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Provides access to full-text consumer health magazines, pamphlets, and reference books. Covers a variety of subjects, including fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, and children's health.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text content for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.

CINAHL contains Quick Lessons which are nursing overviews for a variety of diseases and conditions detailing description/etiology, signs and symptoms, assessment, treatment goals, red flags, and what to tell the patient/patient’s family

Pathophysiology Information | Nursing Skills Videos

Looking for...Pathophysiology Information?
Looking for...Nursing Skills Videos?

-Browse the Library shelves under the call number RB113

-Find books or eBooks by searching the Library Search for: physiology, pathological

TIP: Pathophysiology books are usually arranged by system of the body.

For example, COPD would be under the respiratory system.

-Find articles by searching the following databases. Log in using your Titan User Name and Password.

TIP: Try searching with one or more of these keywords combined with your disease or condition:

pathological physiology

pathophysiology

physiopathology

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text content for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full-text and citations for biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window Online collection of videos for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.

Log in using your Titan User Name and Password.

Sources for Practice Tests

Are you graduating and preparing for certification? If so, there are library resources that can help!

Go to the Help Sheet to learn about setting up a user account.

Log in using your Titan User Name and Password.

PrepSTEP / Learning Express Test Library This link opens in a new window Provides an interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorials to help users succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. The content is organized in six different areas - Core Math & Science Skills, Core English Skills, College Success Skills, Career Prep, Basic Computer Skills, Grad School Admissions Prep, Placement Test Prep, and Recursos Para Hispanohablantes. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results are part of each test / tutorial.
Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale) – formerly Testing & Education Reference Center This link opens in a new window It helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school including preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). It also includes a variety of information on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes and preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests

Practice Test Databases Help Sheet

NCLEX-RN Practice Tests Databases

The EFSC Libraries have two databases with pratice tests for the NCLEX-RN.

Go to the Help Sheet to learn about setting up a user account.

PrepSTEP / Learning Express Test Library This link opens in a new window Provides an interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorials to help users succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. The content is organized in six different areas - Core Math & Science Skills, Core English Skills, College Success Skills, Career Prep, Basic Computer Skills, Grad School Admissions Prep, Placement Test Prep, and Recursos Para Hispanohablantes. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results are part of each test / tutorial.
Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale) – formerly Testing & Education Reference Center This link opens in a new window It helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school including preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). It also includes a variety of information on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes and preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests

My EBSCOhost Folder

Before you start searching you may want to create an account in EBSCOhost. This will allow you to save results to your folder and view/print/save them at another time.

To create an account, click Sign In at the top of the screen.

You can organize your saved items into custom folders to keep track of assignments for different classes.

When reviewing search results, click the folder icon to save the item to your My EBSCOhost folder.

EBSCOhost Folder Tutorial

This tutorial demonstrates the features of the MyEBSCO Personalization folder (3:43 minutes). https://vimeo.com/355558968

Permalinks

Permalinks are permanent links to an article which allow you or another EFSC faculty, staff or student to retrieve the same article without having to redo the search. You may have to log in to view the article. Log in with your Titan User Name and Password.

Permalinks can also be called persistent links.

Click Permalink on the tool bar and then copy and paste the Permalink that displays above the citation.

Persistent Links Tutorial

This tutorial demonstrates the difference between expiring session URLs and Persistent Links, which can be saved to bookmark and share search results and articles in EBSCOhost. Standard YouTube License (time 1:13) https://youtu.be/QMfEs_q4WoQ

CINAHL example search hand sanitizers

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text content for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.

Use the Advanced Search screen in CINAHL. Log in using your Titan User Name and Password.

Example search strategy:

CINAHL example search HPV

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text content for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.

Use the Advanced Search screen in CINAHL. Log in with your Titan User Name and Password.

Example search strategy:

CINAHL Tutorials

This tutorial from the Seminole State College of Florida Library covers using Advanced Search, search limiters such as full text, peer review, and author is a nurse, and searching by the title, author, or subject fields. Creative Commons Attribution license (reuse allowed) (time 2:06) https://youtu.be/QD96TzVz8vo

This tutorial from the Seminole State College of Florida Library covers refining search results by date, publication type, or subject heading, the abstract and citation information, printing/emailing/saving, and full-text options.. Creative Commons Attribution license (reuse allowed) (time 2:08) https://youtu.be/8nAQbZtckEU

MEDLINE

MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full-text and citations for biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Use the Advanced Search screen in MEDLINE. Log in with your Titan User Name and Password.

Example search strategy:

MEDLINE Tutorial

Watch this detailed MEDLINE Ultimate tutorial from EbscoHealth. Standard YouTube License (time 3:04) https://youtu.be/FA0ruT3T19A. NOTE: EFSC has the Medline Complete version of this database.

How to Search Multiple Databases at Once

Searching multiple databases at one time works with our Ebscohost resources.

To do this, select one of these resources and log in with your Titan user name and password.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text content for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full-text and citations for biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to peer-reviewed articles in psychology, published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Provides access to e-books in the topics of Biographies & Memoirs, Business & Economics, Computer Science, Education, Health & Medicine, History, Law, Literature & Criticism, Psychology, Religion, Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Above the search boxes, click on Choose Databases to bring up a list of Ebscohost databases.

Next, select the other databases to search and click OK:

Now you can do one search in all selected databases.

The results list can be filtered by the specific database if needed, see Database under the Refine Results options on the left side at the very bottom.

Search TIP: each database has its own subject headings which can differ significantly. When searching try a variety of keywords. A keyword that works well in one database may not in another.