Skip to Main Content

PubMed @ EFSC

A guide for using the PubMed database.

What is PubMed? PubMed Central?

PubMed

PubMed - EFSC Portal This link opens in a new window The is the EFSC specific portal to PubMed which includes citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content in EFSC online collections or other free sources, eBooks, and publisher web sites.

PubMed is a free resource developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The PubMed database inlcudes over 35 million citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, citations to articles published by NIH funded researchers, and citations to books, including some book chapters. Content dates back to 1946 and is updated 7 days a week.

Most PubMed records are MEDLINE citations. MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database containing citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and in other countries.

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free archive of full text articles from biomedical and life sciences journals. It includes articles from publicly funded research, including NIH, AHRQ, CDC, FDA, NASA, and the VA. A requirement of publicly funded research is to provide full text articles for free to the public.

See the Fact Sheet: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

Ask-A-Librarian

EFSC Librarians available:

8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Monday - Thursday

10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Friday

Service available from Other Florida Librarians:

10:00 a.m. - midnight, Sunday - Thursday

10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Friday - Saturday

An EFSC Librarian will respond within 24 hours.

Accessibility Statement

Eastern Florida State College does not own or manage the content linked from this research guide. These materials are for general reference and supplemental information only. Please contact your campus Library if you experience any barriers to accessing these materials.