Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

Open Educational Resources

Sources by Type

CC Commons
Duke Digital Repositories - Digitized historic photographs, advertisements, texts & more from Duke's unique library collections
Flikr Creative Commons Collection
Florida Memory - State Library & Archives of Florida
Florida Open Academic Library - statewide searchable database that includes an inventory of digital archives and collections held by public post-secondary education institutions (§ F.S. 1006.73 (2)(a)4.)
Getty Search Gateway 
Internet Archive - millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
Library of Congress - digital collections that are free to use and reuse
The Noun Project - Curated icons
Pexels - Public domain images

Presentation Magazine - PowerPoint templates and backgrounds

Slide Carnival - PPT templates & Google slide themes

Creative Commons Licensed Music - List of websites that offer music published with flexible cc licensing.
Internet Archive - millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
Internet Archive - millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
LibreVox - Free public domain audiobooks. Search by author, title, genre/subject or language.
 
Library Databases
Audiobook Collection  - Search audiobooks, listen to samples, and download. Funded by: College 
Internet Archive - millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
 
Library Databases
Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO) The Digital Collection is a sophisticated research platform comprised of reference, academic and general interest e-books. Texts  are all searchable by keyword, subject, author, title, or any Boolean search method. Funded by: College 
eBook Collection: EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts. Funded by: College and Statewide 
Gale Virtual Reference Library: (Gale) - 85+ reference sources. Search across a single eBook or the collection. Funded by: College and Statewide 
OVID eBooks: Includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. Funded by: College
 
Library Databases with Streaming
Academic Video Online Premium: Multidisciplinary collection of videos covering the subject areas of health sciences, history, literature/language, music/performing arts, psychology/counseling, science/engineering, and social sciences. Funded by: College 
Ambrose Videos: (Ambrose Video) - Ambrose Video creates educational science and history DVDs....plus the BBC Shakespeare Collection and other award winning educational films serving the needs of schools and libraries. Funded by: College 
American History in Video: (Alexander Street Press) - American History videos that present historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries. Funded by: College 
Digital Theatre Plus The best of British theatre. Captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. Includes documentaries and interviews. Funded by: College
Feature Films for Education Collection: Please note: Films are best viewed using Mozilla Firefox or Microsoft Edge.
Feature Films for Education Collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics,  and Academy Award® winners. Funded by: College 
Nursing Education in Video: (Alexander Street Press) -  Nursing Education in Video provides access to Medcom’s library of full-length training programs online in streaming video. Funded by: College (FLVC Group License) 
 
Additional Streaming Sources 
Folkstreams - "a national preserve of American folklore films
Internet Archive - millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
Khan Academy
Moving Images Archive - "download or listen to movies, films and videos" from the Internet Archive
PBS Videos
Open Culture - "the best free cultural & educational media on the web"
Open Video Project - a shared digital video collection
TED
Top  Documentary Films 
Youtube - Search for topic & "creative commons."  Double check licensing and authorization.
BC Campus: OpenEd The goal of the project is to make higher education more accessible by reducing student cost through the use of openly licensed textbooks. Specifically, BCcampus was asked to create a collection of open textbooks aligned with the top 40 highest-enrolled subject areas in the province.
Bookboon Offers a wide range of over 900 textbooks for students and 600 eBooks for business professionals in 7 languages.
Cool4Ed - Open Textbooks & course materials
Open Academics - Open Textbook Catalog All peer-reviewed. Free online, adaptable, download free. This is primarily a collection of texts from other sources already vetted for use at the University of Minnesota.
OER Commons - Provides college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.
Open Textbook Library Created by the University of Minnesota to support development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects.
Open Textbooks SUNY Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
OpenStax Free peer reviewed textbooks; print available; instructor ancillaries available (test banks, power points, solutions manuals, etc.).
Wikibooks Textbooks and modules
JHSPH Open Courseware - Open public health courses and materials 
Lumen Learning  Courses and course materials 
MIT OpenCourseWare
Open Course Library - OCL leverages OER that can be used, adapted and shared for free as well as low-cost publisher materials for community and technical colleges
Open.ED@PSU 
Open Yale - open access to a selection of introductory courses, video, audio, transcripts
The Orange Grove - Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository - Decommissioned August 30, 2020
Skills Commons - Digital library of workforce training materials
 
CUNY installation of Manifold: Project Collections
Florida Open Academic Library - The Florida Open Academic Library provides a statewide searchable database that includes an inventory of digital archives and collections held by public postsecondary education institutions (§ F.S. 1006.73 (2)(a)4.).
Mason OER Metafinder
Merlot - Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools
OASIS - Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records.
Robert Schuwer's Search Engine - Websites with OER - OER, websites, curated open resources, and tools
Textbookgo.com Please note:Terms, Legal Notices and Privacy