LibGuides: College-wide Speech Research Guide: Articles

Video: What are Databases and Why do you need them [2:34]

Articles

Step 1. Search Databases A- Z

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Collection of multi-disciplinary full-text journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and publications including periodicals, reports, and books. Access to video content from the Associated Press is provided.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of videos covering the subject areas of health sciences, history, literature/language, music/performing arts, psychology/counseling, science/engineering, and social sciences.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science, and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional, and national news sources. Includes printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text and indexed content that covers the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical reference content from magazines, journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text content and peer-reviewed journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance. Offers detailed company information of the world’s largest public and private companies including financials, subsidiaries, products, employees, and industry information. Video content from is also included.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text education journals. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming videos covering a wide range of subjects including: allied health, biology, business, communication, criminal justice, education , literature psychology , history, math, religion, cosmetology, automotive technology, and technology.
Florida Today This link opens in a new window
FLORIDA TODAY is the Space Coast's daily newspaper covering local news in Brevard County from our headquarter office in Melbourne and bureau offices in Titusville, Palm Bay, Merritt Island and Sebastian.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, indexing and abstracts of scholarly sources in the humanities including studies in art, history, communications, culture, literature, and philosophy.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Covers current social issues presenting pro/con viewpoints. Includes full-text newspapers and periodicals from multiple perspectives, infographics, images, videos, and audio files.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to peer-reviewed articles in psychology, published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Science provides contextual information on today's significant science topics, showcasing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. It integrates millions of full-text articles from national and global publications, along with 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, in the areas of biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics and more.
U.S. Southeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Database enabling users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. U.S. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.