Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image EFSC Catalog Databases Library HomeAsk a Librarian

eBooks @ the EFSC Libraries

eBooks Introduction

                    

This research guide is intended to introduce you to the various e-book platforms available with 24/7 access to over 90,000 titles in the Eastern Florida State College Libraries collection. 

There are 16 databases for eBooks. Click on next to each database name to learn about the features of each.

Popular eBook collections include:

  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - EFSC's largest multidisciplinary collection of titles from all disciplines
  • eBook Central (ProQuest) is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It includes the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, literature & language, science & technology, and the social sciences.
  • Virtual Reference Library (Gale) - provides full-text access to multidisciplinary reference eBooks. 
  • OverDrive is an ebook and audiobook platform providing access to popular fiction and non-fiction using a web browser or mobile device with the Libby app. Check out the OverDrive info page to help you get started. 

Finding eBooks using Primo

You can access e-books using the Primo Library Catalog after you log-in to MyEFSC

From the home page, select 'Advanced Search' located on the right-hand side of the search bar. 


Click on ‘Library Catalog’ & type your search terms, keyword, title, author, etc. (Sample Search: "space travel")

               Select ‘Books’ under ‘Material Type’ and click Search

Searching Ptimo eBooks\

The search results will include print books and electronic books 


Use filters to limit results to books available online

Use the filters under ‘Tweak your results’

Select ‘Available online’ & click on ‘Apply Filters’.


Search results may include books available in both formats:


Many eBooks provide options to download, listen to the audio, read online & search within the PDF 

There are helpful tools to save pages to Google Drive, email a permalink, & copy the citation.

If you don't find good results from a Primo Search, try one of the many library databases featuring digital books. 

Contact your librarian if you need help finding eBooks!

Finding eBooks using Databases

 

Find eBooks using the "A-Z Databases" list 

 

There are 16 databases that feature eBooks 

Best bets for general topics include: EBSCO eBook Collection & Proquest eBook Central 

Contact an EFSC librarian to get help finding eBooks!