LibGuides: Organizational Management Research Guide : MAN 3240 Organizational Behavior

MAN 3240 Organizational Behavior

Welcome! The goal of this section of the Organizational Management LibGuide is to provide a variety of specific sources for the MAN 3240 Organizational Behavior course. Resources include journals, databases, books, and more. Need assistance from a librarian? Contact Ask-A-Librarian or visit a campus library: Locations and hours.

Keywords and Terms

These are some commonly used Organizational Behavior keywords and terms you may encounter in this course. Using keywords effectively will help produce the best results when searching for articles in the databases.

Organizational management
Organizational design and structure
Culture and diversity
Motivation
Team and group dynamics
Problem-solving and decision-making sciences
Employee performance and commitment
Conflict resolution and negotiation
Stress management
Business and personal ethics

For a tutorial on how to use keywords effectively, refer to the Search Strategies module in BILT.

Recommended Organizational Behavior Journals

Below are a few select professional journals to help you with your Organizational Behavior research. Visit Journals A-Z to search for additional journals. You will need to log in using your myEFSC credentials to view the articles.

Administrative Science Quarterly
- SAGE Premier has the most recent publications
Journal of Applied Psychology
Journal of Business and Psychology
Journal of Business Ethics
Journal of Management
- SAGE Journal has the most recent publications
Journal of Organizational Behavior
- Most recent 1 year(s) not available
Journal of Organizational Behavior Management
- Most recent 1 year(s) 3 month(s) not available
Management Communication
Personnel Psychology

Recommended Databases

Below is a list of recommended databases for Organizational Behavior. If you'd like to see a complete list of databases, visit Databases A-Z. For a tutorial on how to log in and search the database, click here: Find Database Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Collection of multi-disciplinary full-text journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and publications including periodicals, reports, and books. Access to video content from the Associated Press is provided.
Business: Demographics Now This link opens in a new window Provides access to robust and highly detailed U.S. demographic data. It is appropriate for gaining consumer and market insight when opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products/services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population,
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Includes full-text content and peer-reviewed journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance. Offers detailed company information of the world’s largest public and private companies including financials, subsidiaries, products, employees, and industry information. Video content from is also included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers access to approximately 40 Management and Organizational Behavior related journals. Click on Browse by Subject then scroll down to Business & Economics, then select Management & Organizational Behavior.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Delivers a streamlined search experience for vetted, comprehensive content including news, company, and legal (case law and law-review-journal) information. Features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to peer-reviewed articles in psychology, published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Provides full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada, covering presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, and political participation

America's News
- Features a comprehensive collection of local, regional, and national news from reliable and credible sources. Topics include Business and Economics, Criminal Justice, Science, and more. Formats include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
Florida News Sources
- provides current and archived news, history, events, and people from Florida news sources.
Florida Today
- Newspaper covering local news throughout Brevard County, Florida. Includes full-text coverage from 1999 to current.
New York Times-Current
- Full-text coverage from 1985 to current dates.
New York Times-Historical
- Full-text and full-image articles from 1851 to 2013
Orlando Sentinel
- Full-text articles covering local and state news. Coverage from 1985 to current dates.
U.S. Southeast Newsstream
- Southeast Newsstream features full-text of newspapers, newswires, and websites, some dating back to the 1980s. Includes news sources from South Carolina, Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

EFSC recently added digital magazines to the OverDrive Database. This comprehensive collection features a variety of topics, including Business and Finance. If you'd like to see the entire list of magazines available, visit the OverDrive Database. You will need to log in with your myEFSC credentials to view the digital magazine.

The following magazines may be useful in your studies. Keep in mind that magazines are not peer reviewed and not considered a scholarly resource. Be sure to check with your instructor before citing a magazine in your research papers.

Entrepreneur Magazine
- Entrepreneur magazine is the trusted source for growing your business and offers surefire strategies for success. Whether you are just thinking of starting a business, have taken the first steps, or already own a business, Entrepreneur offers the best advice on running your own company
Fast Company
- "Fast Company takes you inside the minds of the most progressive business leaders. Meet the real innovators of our age and see the latest in design, sustainability, marketing, and social responsibility."
Inc. Magazine
- "Inc. Magazine is the only major business magazine written for the journey from startup to a fully managed company. Every issue of Inc. delivers real solutions for today's innovative company creators."
MIT Sloan Management Review
- "MIT Sloan Management Review leads the discourse among academic researchers, business executives and other influential thought leaders about advances in management practice, particularly those shaped by technology, that are transforming how people lead and innovate. MIT SMR disseminates new management research and innovative ideas so that thoughtful executives can capitalize on the opportunities generated by rapid organizational, technological and societal change."

To see a full list of databases the feature streaming content, visit A-Z Databases: Streaming Videos

American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
- For best results, type your keyword into the search bar and select All Videos from the drop down menu.
Films on Demand
- This database features thousands of videos on a variety of subjects and categories produced by companies such as PBS, Cambridge Education, and Click View.

The video below is an example of what is available in the Films on Demand database.

Organizational Behavior Books and eBooks

Below are some examples of books relating to Organizational Behavior topics located in the EFSC collection. Sign in with your user name and password to place the book on hold. If needed, use the the keywords in the Welcome box to guide your search. Not sure how to search the catalog for books? Click here: Find Books or Find eBooks. Don't hesitate to contact a librarian if you need assistance!

Business Psychology and Organizational Behaviour by Eugene McKenna
Call Number: HF5548.8 .M384 2020
ISBN: 9781138182646
Publication Date: 2020-05-29
Business Psychology and Organizational Behaviourintroduces principles and concepts in psychology and organizational behaviour with emphasis on relevance and applications. Well organised and clearly written, it draws on a sound theoretical and applied base, and utilizes real-life examples, theories, and research findings of relevance to the world of business and work. The new edition of this best-selling textbook has been revised and updated with expanded and new material, including: proactive personality and situational theory in personality; theory of purposeful work behaviour; emotional and social anxiety in communication; decision biases and errors; and right brain activity and creativity, to name a few. There are numerous helpful features such as learning outcomes, chapter summaries, review questions, a glossary, and a comprehensive bibliography. Illustrations of practice and relevant theory and research also take the reader through individual, group, and organizational perspectives. This is an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates studying psychology and organizational behaviour. What is more, it can be profitably used on degree, diploma, professional, and short courses. It's also likely to be of interest to the reflective practitioner in work organizations.
Navigating Human Service Organizations by Rich Furman; Margaret Gibelman; Ren Winnett
Call Number: HD30.23 .H396 2020
ISBN: 9780197531044
Publication Date: 2020-08-15
Since its very inception, social work has been considered an organizationally based profession, with the majority of its workforce employed within formal organizations. Whether in nonprofit, for-profit, or governmental agencies, the practical realities of human service organizations are acentral element of professional social work. This book explores the climate and culture of these agencies and provides essential information for surviving and thriving in this setting. It prepares students for their future careers so that they will feel empowered in their work and be able to fulfilltheir responsibilities toward organizational, community, and social change. Using real-life examples, the authors examine the internal structures of management, financing, and supervision and discuss common conflicts between agencies and professionals. The book's straightforward tone and practicaladvice make it an asset to anyone entering human service organizations.
The Culture Code by Daniel Coyle
Call Number: HD66 .C675 2018
ISBN: 9780804176989
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Where does great culture come from? How do you build and sustain it in your group, or strengthen a culture that needs fixing? In The Culture Code, Daniel Coyle goes inside some of the world's most successful organizations--including the U.S. Navy's SEAL Team Six, IDEO, and the San Antonio Spurs--and reveals what makes them tick. He demystifies the culture-building process by identifying three key skills that generate cohesion and cooperation, and explains how diverse groups learn to function with a single mind. Drawing on examples that range from Internet retailer Zappos to the comedy troupe Upright Citizens Brigade to a daring gang of jewel thieves, Coyle offers specific strategies that trigger learning, spark collaboration, build trust, and drive positive change. Coyle unearths helpful stories of failure that illustrate what not to do, troubleshoots common pitfalls, and shares advice about reforming a toxic culture. Combining leading-edge science, on-the-ground insights from world-class leaders, and practical ideas for action, The Culture Code offers a roadmap for creating an environment where innovation flourishes, problems get solved, and expectations are exceeded. Culture is not something you are--it's something you do. The Culture Code puts the power in your hands. No matter the size of your group or your goal, this book can teach you the principles of cultural chemistry that transform individuals into teams that can accomplish amazing things together. Praise for The Culture Code "I've been waiting years for someone to write this book--I've built it up in my mind into something extraordinary. But it is even better than I imagined. Daniel Coyle has produced a truly brilliant, mesmerizing read that demystifies the magic of great groups. It blows all other books on culture right out of the water."--Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Option B, Originals, and Give and Take "If you want to understand how successful groups work--the signals they transmit, the language they speak, the cues that foster creativity--you won't find a more essential guide than The Culture Code."--Charles Duhigg, New York Times bestselling author of The Power of Habit and Smarter Faster Better
Recent Advances in the Roles of Cultural and Personal Values in Organizational Behavior by Zlatko Nedelko; Maciej Brzozowski
ISBN: 1799810151
Publication Date: 2019-09-06
The complete understanding of organizational culture and personal values is fundamental for running and improving modern organizations. By identifying the underlying building blocks for behavior, strategy, and actions of organizations and their members, companies and researchers may discover innovative techniques to encourage productive and satisfying working environments. Recent Advances in the Roles of Cultural and Personal Values in Organizational Behavior is a collection of innovative research on how culture and personal values shape and influence leadership styles, decision-making processes, innovativeness, and other management practices. While highlighting topics including employee motivation, leadership style, and organizational culture, this book is ideally designed for managers, executives, human resources professionals, recruiters, researchers, academics, educators, and students seeking current research on cultural backgrounds and personal values for organizations.

Organizational Management Research Guide

Organizations and Associations

Internet Resources

Ask A Librarian