LibGuides: Faculty Library Guide: Content-Rich Websites

Featured Websites

African American Experience in Florida Portal

African American Experience in Florida Portal page with its Welcome text

Charity Navigator website homepage

Digital Public Library of America_DPLA_Homepage

Furious Flower Poetry Center_James Madison University

Furious Flower Poetry Center, James Madison University and its About page

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health_NCCIH_Homepage

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health_NCCIH_homepage

Opioid Industry Documents homepage

Opioid Industry Documents homepage, onthe Drug Industry Documents website

Our World in Data website

Our World in Data website homepage

Slave Voyages website

Slave Voyages website's homepage

Split This Rock Poetry website

Split This Rock Poetry website's homepage

Museum of Vertebrates 3D Images, University of Wyoming

Museum of Vertebrates 3D Images, from the University of Wyoming

Library of Congress To Soon Acquire Playwright Neil Simon's papers

Neil Simon papers to be housed at Library of Congress

Discography of American Historical Recordings homepage

Discography of Amer Historical Recordings homepage

Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project homepage

Websites rich with content, for use in your classes

Listed here are some content-rich, multidisciplinary and subject-specific websites culled from the College & Research Libraries News monthly newsletter and other online sources. These may contain interesting and diverse content that you can link to in your classes.

"Girlhood, It's Complicated" - Smithsonian Exhibit Virtual exhibit from the Smithsonian commemorating the anniversary of woman suffrage by exploring the concept of girlhood in the United States. It also covers how girls have changed history in five areas: politics, education, work, health, and fashion.
"My Body is my Own" - State of World Population eBook from United Nations' iLibrary Report discusses social, institutional, economic, and legal forces determining how much power a woman has over her body and to make her own choices, the extent to which she has access to quality, non-discriminatory information and services, and how gender inequality underpins all of these. Also contains analyses of retrospective data to measure bodily autonomy for girls. Draws on case studies on bodily autonomy among marginalized groups: LGBTIQ+, indigenous, and disability communities.
African American Experience in Florida Digital portal showcasing archival pieces that highlight the African American experience in Florida. These pieces are curated from the Special Collections departments at the University of South Florida’s Tampa and St. Petersburg libraries. Pieces were chosen to show the range of narratives about slavery, protests, the history of injustice, and the daily lives of people in this state.
American Writers' Museum - "My America" Virtual Exhibit An immersive multimedia exhibit website containing the exhibit, a related program series, and in-depth educational experiences that explore the influence of modern immigrant and refugee writing in America.
Annie E. Casey Foundation (children's issues) Website for this organization which focuses on education about and grant-making opportunities for the areas of juvenile justice, education reform, community change, economic opportunity, and child welfare.
arXiv.org Free distribution service and open-access archive for 2,038,172 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.org, which is a community of volunteer authors, readers, moderators, advisory board members, supporting members, donors, and third-party collaborators supported by staff at Cornell University.
Association for Diplomatic Studies & Training Website has large collection of U.S. diplomatic oral histories - some 2,500 currently and more to come. Also features “Moments in Diplomatic History,” capturing key historical events and humorous aspects of diplomatic life. Features podcasts and books by and about foreign diplomats.
Beethoven-Haus Digital Archives Digital archive showcasing inventory of the Beethoven-Haus Collection for research purposes. Beethoven's life and oeuvre can be experienced through linked image, text and audio data, along with colour scan facsimiles of music manuscripts, written documents, music prints, pictures and objects, plus it contains short titles, source descriptions, interesting facts, systematics, content summaries, text transcriptions, related links, plus sound examples, autographs with sound, and audio letters.
Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library Well-known repository of archival manuscripts and rare books, containing approx. 1 million digital images of its materials. This digital content covers all subject areas contained in the collection.
Berkeley Earth (Climate Data) Independent nonprofit organization whose website specializes in timely, verified, climate data science. The three main sections focus on “Global Warming,” “Air Pollution,” and “Data Visualization” information.
Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum (BICLM)
Black Freedom Struggle Proquest website featuring openly accessible primary documents such as historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence, and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. The content is curated around six time periods: 1. Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860) 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877) 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932) 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945) 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975) 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
British Library - Topographical Map Collection of King George III Image collection housed on Flickr holding printed and hand-drawn works (including maps, atlases, architectural drawings, cartoons, and watercolours from the British Library's larger collection, the King's Library. A useful resource for the study of how Britain viewed and interacted with the wider world during the time period between 1500 and 1824.
Bureau of Economic Affairs Source of objective data about the nation's economy with BEA economists producing closely watched statistics, state and local numbers, plus foreign trade and investment stats, and industry data.
Canadiana National Topographic Maps Maps collection currently containing nearly 22,000 Canadian maps digitized from the 1:50,000 scale National Topographic Series dating from 1905 to 2012. Theycover all of the Canadian provinces and territories. These maps depict in detail ground relief (landforms and terrain), drainage (lakes and rivers), forest cover, administrative areas, populated areas, transportation routes and facilities (including roads and railways), and other human-made features such as buildings, power lines and dams. The collection includes both color and grayscale maps. The maps were digitized by McGill University Library and are presented as the result of a partnership between McGill University Library and the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN).
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center Major "site of memory" for many Native peoples as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe. This website represents an effort to aid the research process by bringing together, in digital format, a variety of resources that are physically preserved in various locations around the United States.
Charity Navigator Founded in 2001, website evaluates charities using their own financial documents. Assesses over 9,000 well-known and little-known charities. Rating system examines two areas of a charity's performance; their financial health and their accountability & transparency. The ratings show how well a charity has sustained its programs and services over time, and its level of commitment to good governance, best practices, and openness with information.
Civil Rights Trail Website resulting from a book (Jan. 2021) researched and written by Deborah Douglas. Website curates the sites on the U.S. Civil Rights Trail from its mid-century civil-rights-movement beginnings. Site is interactive, with maps on which to click and resulting stories and photos from and about various cities on the Trail.
Costs of War Project Website created in 2010 by the Watson Institute (housed within Brown University), where some 50 scholars, legal experts, human rights practitioners, and physicians have contributed data to foster democratic discussion and debate about the Iraq & Afghanistan wars (and the related violence in Pakistan and Syria). These data help provide the fullest possible account of the wars' human, economic, and political costs, and to foster better informed public policies.
Dana Foundation (brain-research site) Private philanthropic organization dedicated to advancing understanding about the brain in health and disease, through research grants and public outreach.
David Bowie Archive - V&A Museum
Digital Public Library of America Online library making millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
Discography of American Historical Recordings Database of master recordings made by American record companies during the 78rpm era. Part of the American Discography Project (ADP)—an initiative of the University of California, Santa Barbara, and the Packard Humanities Institute and is edited by researchers based at the UCSB Library. includes information on more than 350,000 master recordings (matrixes) made by Victor, Columbia, OKeh, Berliner, Edison, Zonophone, Leeds & Catlin, Brunswick, and Decca. Staff also partner with the Library of Congress National Jukebox Project and provides most of the cataloging data for the Jukebox, resulting in 11,000 recordings (made by Victor and Columbia between 1900 and 1925) that can be streamed online, with an additional 35,000 masters from Columbia, Okeh, Zonophone, and Edison also available via UCSB's streaming player or embedded YouTube links.
Earth Institute @ Columbia (Univ.) Climate School Focused on gathering and disseminating information and research about the Earth’s ecological and environmental systems, the Institute comprises earth scientists, economists, business and policy experts, specialists in public health and law, researchers, teachers and students, who make up the more than two dozen research centers. Foci of research include: geology, oceans, freshwater systems, climate and the atmosphere.
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Projects Hundreds of online sources about the former First Lady's literary and political works -- great for use by historians and history buffs.
more...less...
Housed within George Washington University's webpages.
Environmental Working Group A non-profit consumer-advocacy think tank dedicated to protecting human health and the environment. Contains a conservation database with records about green energy, organic farms, and wildlife habitats by state, plus current news and pandemic updates.
more...less...
C&RL News noted that the organization is critical of the current (2020) administration; from an information-literacy standpoint, it can be used to discuss bias, partisanship, data, and science.
Europeana (Cultural Heritage information) Website sharing thousands of online resources found in European archives, libraries, museums, and audio-visual collections which allows for education, research, and personal enjoyment, and fosters users' creativity and innovation.
Ford Heritage Vault Website containing 5,000+ curated Ford and Lincoln photographs and product brochures from the first century of the company’s history available to the public as free downloads for personal use. These resources span Ford’s production history from the company’s founding in 1903 to its centennial in 2003.
Franz Kafka Collection This online collection includes a diverse array of literature and art comprised of manuscripts, notebooks, travel journals, personal letters, and drawings that had been safeguarded by The Max Brod Archive for many years before being brought to the National Library of Israel.
Furious Flower Poetry Center - James Madison University Collection of spoken-word and performance videos, an ongoing conference series, scholarly publications, fellowships, and programs to serve creative writers, literary and cultural scholars, and poetry lovers.
Going to the Dogs: The American Kennel Club Library and Archives
Jewish Women's Archive Database focusing on Jewish women's stories and offering program materials, various collections, and educator and multimedia resources.
Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memoriabilia Large, public collection of artifacts spanning the segregation era, from Reconstruction until the civil rights movement, and beyond, housed at Ferris State University. Curator / FSU VP Diversity & Inclusion David Pilgrim says the goal of the collection is to make people think deeply about racism, to teach them about it, and to engage them in dialogue.
Maine Historical Society Historic Dress Collection Digital collection of garments accumulated by the Maine Historical Society since 1822. Initially specializing in donated clothing from the early to mid-19th century, the collection was added to by an extensive acquisition of late-19th to mid-20th-century dress acquired from Westbrook College in 1993, as well as more recent individual donations. As of 2020, the MHS collection consists of approximately 3,000 pieces. Garments and accessories are associated with people who lived in Maine or were in some way connected to the state and are centered on dress worn by the modestly better off, the middling, and upper middle-class population.
Mass Observation Project / Archive Archive specializing in material about everyday life in Britain; contains papers generated by the original Mass Observation social research organization (1937 to early 1950s), and newer material collected continuously since 1981 (Mass Observation Project). Univ. of Sussex is holder of physical materials. Online finding aids for the collections, personal papers, and how to use the archive.
Motion Picture History - Margaret Herrick Library Representing more than 35,000 items, these collections present curated materials from the physical library's extensive holdings on motion-picture history, including correspondence, photographs, sheet music, scrapbooks, lobby cards, movie ephemera, books, film magazines, and industry publications. The collections also provide access to publications of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.
National Alliance on Mental Illness - NAMI National, grassroots, mental-health organization focusing on advocacy, education, support, and public awareness for individuals and their families managing mental illness. statistics are linked to the study or other resource from which the data originated. All statistics on the site are linked to the study or other resource from which the data originated, making NAMI a credible research website.
National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health (NCCIH) Governmental website relaying research and information about complementary health products and practices. Includes health information, research, news, grants & funding, and training opportunities.
National Congress of American Indians Website covering the broad interests of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments and communities. Contains links for initiatives, news, events, resolutions, legal filings, testimonies & speeches, conference archives, native youth programs, etc.
National Eating Disorders Association Website dedicated to supporting individuals and families affected by eating disorders. Serves as a digital warehouse for information on prevention, cures, and access to quality care.
National Jukebox Project (Library of Congress) Part of the Library of Congress website, the Project makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. Includes recordings from collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings. These selections are presented as part of the record of the past. They are historical documents which reflect the language, attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times. The Library of Congress does not endorse the views expressed in these recordings, which may contain content offensive to users.
The Newberry's Postcard Archives Digital Collection Database for physical items in The Newberry's collections, featuring more than 400,000 catalog records and 19,000 images for individual postcards created by publisher Curt Teich. Users can search by keywords, artists, titles, or production numbers of interest, or browse by U.S. state, decade of creation, CTPAC sub-collection or topical category.
News Literacy Project Website created by a nonpartisan, national-education nonprofit. It provides programs and resources for educators and consumers alike, to teach, learn, and share the abilities needed to be smart, active consumers of news and information. It's designed to help people become equal and engaged participants in their democracy.
Open Research Toolkit Toolkit designed for librarians learning open research concepts and skills and teaching them at their institutions. Created by Data Curation Librarian Christopher Eaker (Univ. of Tenn. Knoxville), it is useful for anyone interested in learning more about open research. The ORT YouTube Channel is found here: http://doi.org/10.7290/ORT_Videos The Open Research Toolkit is an Open Educational Resource, and is available under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0). You may re-use and copy information from this toolkit with attribution. In addition, some of the materials referenced in this toolkit (e.g. some materials linked to and created by others) might be copyright protected; that will be indicated as best as possible, but no guarantees are made as to accuracy of that information. The user should check restrictions of any material prior to reusing it. License: CC-By Attribution 4.0 International
Opioid Industry Documents Archive Digital repository of 3,300 publicly disclosed documents from recent judgments, settlements, and ongoing laws. These documents include include emails, memos, presentations, sales reports, budgets, audit reports, Drug Enforcement Administration briefings, meeting agendas and minutes, expert witness reports, and depositions of drug company executives. They come from government litigation against pharmaceutical companies, including opioid manufacturers and distributors.
Our World in Data Database focused on research and data, to help researchers across the globe make progress against the world’s largest problems (Poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality, for example).
Outdoor Recreation Catalogs Collection - Utah State Univ. Libraries Digital collection of outdoor-gear-manufacturers' catalogs and publications. Browse and search records of more than 1,600 issues from nearly 400 companies, including manufacturers like Lowe Alpine and Sierra Designs to retailers like Eastern Mountain Sports and REI. Why such a collection? The outdoor industry has positioned itself over time as a significant part of the commercial, environmental, and social fabric of the country. One way to examine this impact is through these gear catalogs, which represent the culmination of a company’s work, from the design and development of the products to marketing and promotion of the brand, and how this process changes over time. They also tell us a great deal about consumers, including their style preferences and how they experience the outdoors.
Owl Research Institute Online database whose aims include: conducting long-term research to understand species’ needs, vulnerabilities, and population trends; to supply partners (federal and state agencies, private conservation groups, and land owners) the information to promote meaningful habitat management; and to actively engage and educate a global audience through live cams, Q & A’s, lectures, social media, TV, articles, and field tours.
Pacific Northwest Seismic Network Website of the PNSN, dedicated to reducing impacts of earthquakes and volcanic eruptions in the states of Washington and Oregon by providing information about geologic events to scientists, engineers, planners, and the public.
Pandemic Lessons Module Library The modules constitute an online, open-access library of lessons that are publicly accessible through this website and also available in Canvas Commons. They include learning objectives, lectures, readings, videos, suggested assignments (for those interested in classroom use), and additional resources for those who want to learn more about the module’s topic. Each module contains the equivalent of a week’s content for an academic course. The library will grow over time as modules on new topics are added. When using material from the modules in the classroom or other contexts please credit the faculty creator and the Northeastern University Pandemic Teaching Initiative.
Peace Research Institute of Oslo (PRIO) Database about research on the conditions for peaceful relations between states, groups and people.
Plateau Peoples' Web Portal Online gateway to many of the High Plateau peoples' cultural materials held in multiple repositories such as the Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation and Native American Programs at Washington State University. This Portal is a gateway to Plateau peoples' cultural materials held in multiple repositories including Washington State University's Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections, the Northwest Museum of Art and Culture, the National Anthropological Archives, the Library of Congress, the American Philosophical Society, and the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institution. The materials in the Portal have been chosen and curated by tribal representatives. Each item in the collection has one or more records associated with it as well as added traditional knowledge and cultural narratives to enhance and enrich understanding for many audiences.
more...less...
The High Plateau peoples who have contributed materials and knowledge to this Portal include the Spokane Tribe of Indians, the Confederated Tribes Of The Colville Reservation, the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, the Coeur d'Alene Tribe of Indians, the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, the Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, and The Nez Perce Tribe.
Polaris Project Website for data-driven social justice movement to fight sex and labor trafficking. Houses U.S. National Human Trafficking Hotline and largest U.S. dataset on actual trafficking experiences and statistics.
PTSD: National Center for PTSD Website of this research and educational center which focuses on PTSD and traumatic stress. Information for patients, families, and providers. Contains interactive tools, some Spanish-language sections, two research databases, and a data repository.
Public Art Archive Free database designed to document public artworks across the globe and raise awareness about the significance of public art. It showcases the variations of worktype, function, material, and subject matter, and encourages sustained engagement with public art to support physical exploration.
more...less...
Searchable from desktop and mobile devices, and built using standardized vocabularies to describe artworks in a consistent manner. It also has mapping features for virtual or on-foot exploration. Copyright remains with the content-owners, but does allow for educational uses within the classroom.
Shelley-Godwin Archive Online collection of the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this family of writers. It is the result of a partnership between the New York Public Library, the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities, Oxford’s Bodleian Library, the Huntington Library, the British Library, the Houghton Library, and the Victoria and Albert Museum.
SlaveVoyages: TransAtlantic Slave Trade Database Website containing information about slave voyages in the 16th through 19th centuries, featuring datasets, essays, maps, animations, timelines, and images. Created by multidisciplinary team of historians, librarians, curriculum specialists, cartographers, computer programmers, and web designers, in consultation with scholars of the slave trade from universities in Europe, Africa, South America, and North America. Sponsored by National Endowment for the Humanities; website currently hosted at Rice University.
Smithsonian Libraries & Archives - Information Literacy Collections A series of interactive, online collections dedicated to helping users think critically about how they identify, find, evaluate, and use information effectively. Housed on the Smithsonian Learning Lab website, https://learninglab.si.edu/org/librariesarchives
Split This Rock (poetry) Database of poetry works to revitalize the practice of poetry as social commentary and to celebrate poetry in all its forms and voices.
more...less...
Contains more than 300 poems by contemporary, socially engaged poets.
Stanford Digital Projects Website of the digital publishing program from Stanford University Press, to showcase projects from the digital humanities and computational social sciences.
Trinity Library Dublin - Virtual Virtual-collections website of the Library of Trinity College Dublin (Irleland). Features items from nine main categories (including children's literature, Europe's history, Ireland's creative legacy and literary heritage, and Trinity's icons).
Truman (Harry S.) Library & Museum - Online Collections Online collection of materials taken from Truman's presidency, including personal papers of his and his wife's, map-room files, presidential personal files, and research papers about various points in his presidency.
U.S. Climate Resilience Map Publicly available interactive map that identifies climate risks and social vulnerabilities across the country. Created by the Atlantic Council’s Adrienne Arsht-Rockefeller Foundation Resilience Center. Map highlights best practices helping to reduce climate risks in cities nationally. Map employs existing open-source data collected from a variety of public sources and organized into two categories: climate risks and social vulnerabilities.
U.S. Energy Information Administration Government organization which collects, analyzes, and disseminates energy information to promote policymaking, aid the markets, and further public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
United Nations iLibrary Comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Initially launched in 2015, site features interface indexed in all six official UN languages. Offers research and knowledge for a variety of audiences (universities to government administrations to libraries and businesses, in subject areas including agriculture, economics, social sciences, law, trade & finance, natural resources, and public health.
University of Wyoming's Museum of Vertebrates - Digital 360-scans Publicly accessible database of 360-degree, 3D-scans featuring a range of vertebrate species such as the skulls of a golden eagle (Aquila chrysaetos), grizzly bear (Ursus arctos), California condor (Gymnogyps californianus), and pronghorn (Antilocapra americana). The collection also features other bones such as vertebrae, teeth and ribs.
Watercolour World U.K.-based, free online database of documentary watercolours painted before 1900. Brought together to make it easier to explore these visual records via a world map, to search for topics that are important to you, and to compare watercolours from multiple collections in one place. Each image-detail record contains its specific license restrictions; some allow for reuse, some do not.
Wellcome Library (medical curiosities) One of the world's major resources for the study of medical history. Includes a growing collection of material relating to contemporary medicine and biomedical science in society.
World Institute for Development Economics (WIDER) The United Nations University World Institute for Development Economics Research provides economic analysis and policy advice with the aim of promoting sustainable and equitable development around the world. It began operations over 30 years ago in Helsinki, Finland, as the first research centre of the United Nations University. Today, it is a blend of think tank, research institute, and UN agency. Over the period 2019–23, UNU-WIDER's research will focus on the interlinked development challenges of transforming economies, states, and societies.